CASology Week 14

The cue word this week for CASology is ‘Leaf’ …  it can be used in a literal way to create a card depicting leaves, or can be used as inspiration to create something completely different, depending on how the word ‘leaf’ inspires you.

As I have a lovely stamp called ‘Simplicity’ from Penny Black (leafed branches in a vase) I’ve gone for a literal interpretation.  This stamp is just so versatile for all kinds of different cards, depending on what kind of sentiment/feeling you have in mind … great in greens, just as good using brown/oranges for autumn and even in multicolours for something rather vibrant and jolly!

Anyway, I went for gentle and easy-going, and tried to create that in the style/colours I used.  I half embossed the base card with swiss dots to give a bit of dimension (bit tricky as my embossing folder isn’t big enough to do it all in one fell swoop!), used grey ink for stamping to keep the outlines soft, coloured the image using three different greens for the leaves, matted it and used foam dots to mount it, after adding the paper banner for the sentiment.

I used:  Cardstock: Docrafts/Crafters Companion, Paper:  Nitwits, Stamps:  Penny Black (Image), Kaisercraft (Sentiment), Ink:  Memento, Colouring:  Promarkers, Tools:  Cuttlebug, Swiss Dots Embossing Folder, Adhesive:  Scotch ATG, Docrafts.

I had a look last night at some of the submissions for this week and there are some awesome creations … couldn’t wait to comment on the ones that caught my eye, even though mine wasn’t even done yet … what a joy to find so much talent around the world!

Enjoy your weekend … thanks for visiting … Anita

7 thoughts on “CASology Week 14

  1. Claire A

    Very pretty and soft Anita – love that stamp. Isn’t it annoying that so many embossing folders aren’t big enough for the entire card…?!

    Reply
  2. Karen M

    Hi Anita, thanks for visiting my blog and for your lovely comment. I love this card that you have done so beautifully…very sweet and gentle. I know what you mean about the embossing folders. I had the same problem with mine, trying to line up the tiny dots to go over again the bit that was missed. Do you think maybe it’s because they are American based and their card sizes are different to ours? Anyway, I love your card! Kx

    Reply
  3. Ardyth

    Love the different shades of green you’ve used for your leaves! Thanks so much for playing along with CASology this week!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

