CAS(E) this Sketch Week 2

             

This week’s CTS challenge is based on a sketch by Lisa Arana, one of the hugely talented Design Team.  Lisa also has a video on her blog (http://dahlhouse-designs.com/) on how she uses sketches to spark creativity … I just had a look … it’s definitely worth dropping by.

Doing the challenge for CASology earlier today sparked my creativity into action for the weekend and I found the sketch really helpful in focusing my thoughts.  After playing with various ideas, I settled on using a poppy stamp I’ve not used before … it came as a freebie with a magazine.  We’ve loads of poppies in the garden (also subject to renovation!) throughout the summer, in all kinds of different colours, ranging from the brightest red to the most delicate cream, so I was inspired to take my colour scheme from nature!

There are two reasons why I did the sentiment as a banner … the first because I had one of those oops moments when I stamped directly on the card, so with a shadow on the last couple of letters, it was either start over again or do something with it … the second reason is because I rather like the overall look of the banner outline colour drawing the image and sentiment together.  Even with this blip, I think it still remains CAS 🙂

Here’s what I used:  Cardstock:  Crafters Companion, Nitwits. Stamps:  Freebie (Image), Hero Arts (Sentiment), Ink:  Stazon, Colours:  Marvy Le Plume Watercolour Pens with a Waterbrush, Tools:  Corner Rounder.

Looking forward now to having a browse round the CTS blog to see what everyone else has done!

More crafting tomorrow … thanks for visiting … Anita

8 thoughts on “CAS(E) this Sketch Week 2

  1. Karin

    Hoi Anita, thanks for dropping by! I know what you mean talking about the oops moments! You also make lovely cards, CAS style, and I just love those cards very much!!
    Karin

    Reply
  2. Julie Day

    Gorgeous colours in those flowers and I love how the design makes the eye travel from image to sentiment 🙂 Thanks for playing this week at CAS(E) this Sketch!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

