Less is More Week 93 – Houses & Play Date Café 157

   We'd love you to display our banner  

Since I joined blogworld, I’ve been making individual cards for individual challenges … just to get my little grey cells going (I prefer to think of them as not grey at all when I’m creating, but rather every hue and tone and colour there could possibly be pinging all over the place … what a thought!).  This week though, I’ve tried a combined card … LIM, where the OLC theme is ‘Houses’ and The Play Date Café (which is new to me), where the colours are plum, fuchsia and wisteria.

So, my houses are bird cages in the PDC colours, along with musical notes … and the birds are singing because their cages match their plumage!  I played a bit with the ‘chains’ because on the stamps, they’re all the same size and I wanted to add some variety … I had three attempts before getting it right so the bin’s had plenty to eat tonight.  I must also admit to having to do a bit of a repair on the birds on this version too … I tried stamping them in Memento London Fog … twice over (yes, very tricky) … but it just didn’t do it, so rather than start all over again, I got pens out and went over them.  I didn’t care for it at first but I left it a while (always a good idea after a disaster) and when I got back to it, it looked fine … so here it is.

Here’s what I used:  Cardstock: Crafter’s Companion,  Stamps: Craftwork Cards (Images), Woodware (Sentiment),  Colours: Marvy le Plume Watercolour Markers.

Disasters were a bit on the menu today (it happens some days!) … I did another card earlier, it was on the theme of houses again.  If you’ve seen my last post for CAS-ual Fridays, you’ll know I did a gingerbread man … well, he had to have somewhere to live (naturally!) so I made him a gingerbread house, suitably garnished with plenty of sugar (Stickles), gum drops (Glaze Pen Blobs) and candy canes … looked good enough to eat!  It was only intended as a bit of fun and I thought it might give you a smile (it did me) … but disaster struck and it ended up liquified (I spilt coffee over it), so it became yet another (rather soggy) meal for the bin.  I’m planning a non disaster day tomorrow!

Well, I’m done for the weekend … have a great week and thanks so much for coming by … Anita 🙂

13 thoughts on “Less is More Week 93 – Houses & Play Date Café 157

  1. Brenda B

    Ah…what a great card. I thought about doing bird houses as well. I love the cage idea better. Love the addition of the musical notes on your card.

    Reply
  2. Julie Ranae

    We are so happy you found us at The Play Date Cafe and I LOVE this entry! Great use of our color story and the design is beautiful. Great to have you in The Cafe and we look forward to seeing you again!

    Reply
  3. Darnell J Knauss

    Very cute and clever for both challenges, Anita.

    Thank you for your sweet good wishes! I’m home and feeling better. Yesterday I was a Rubber Woman, but today I’m feeling like I might venture out to the Playhouse for some much-needed card-making therapy!!

    Hope your week is going well! Darnell

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

