One Layer Wednesday 113 – Dark Red, Yellow/Gold, Green

Susan is hosting OLW this week over at Simplicity, where there’s a colour theme … anything using dark red, yellow/gold and green.  I’m finding OLCs more challenging at the moment, and it feels as though I’m spending a long long long time figuring out a design.  It’s exercised my brain a bit and I’ve come up with a number of reasons why this may be so …

  1. I’m out of OLC creativity at the moment and it’s just one of those things that’ll pass.
  2. The remains of the cold I’ve had have befuddled the creative connections and they’ll be unfuddled (is that a word?) once the night time hot toddies have worked.
  3. I just don’t have enough stamps to choose from.

Mmm … wonder which one is the most likely attractive … anyway a gentle few hours of web wandering and ordering is almost always likely to spark creativity … isn’t it?  And if that doesn’t work, there’s the anticipation of getting a yummy package to unwrap and explore  … and that’s bound to do it.  Funny how writing things down sometimes makes the solution just jump out at you!

So, my card … I coloured the image with watercolour pens, steamed it, stamped it and used a water brush to draw the ink into the open spaces in the flowers and leaves (it went a bit ‘mingled’ but I rather liked it so I left it that way!).  I dry embossed a double frame round the image and stamped a single word from a sentiment to finish (the whole of the sentiment was just too much for the image).

Supplies:  Cardstock: Crafter’s Companion,  Stamps: Penny Black (Image), Hero Arts (Word), Colours: Marvy Le Plume.

I’m off to link this and have a wander around the other creations already uploaded.  Thanks so much for visiting, and especially so if you’ve had chance to make a comment … I really appreciate them.   Anita 🙂

7 thoughts on “One Layer Wednesday 113 – Dark Red, Yellow/Gold, Green

  1. Geri Greening

    By the looks of this card I would say that the hot toddies kicked in because this is beautiful! The colors are so vibrant, the embossed border is divine, and the one word sentiment is all that is needed – anything more would surely have distracted from the simple elegance of your design. …hmmmm….not enough stamps – we all know the easy (but expensive) solution to that dilemma, don’t we? Hope you are feeling well soon!

    Date: Tue, 13 Nov 2012 22:41:17 +0000 To: ggreener@mymts.net

    Reply
  2. Ardyth

    This is so pretty and springlike – a refreshing change from all the autumn Christmas cards we are seeing these days (not that I don’t like them, but it’s fun to see something different!). Love how perfect your double frame is, as well! Beautiful OLW card!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

