One Layer Wednesday Week 114 (A Christmas Thank You)

Cheryl is hosting One Layer Wednesday this week, where the theme is ‘Christmas Thank You’ … that’s definitely getting ahead of the game … I’ve only just started on my Christmas cards!  I was struggling with this as a OLC (not embarked on my big stamp acquisition yet!), when what should arrive in the boite aux lettres but a magazine with a freebie … this tree stamp.

The definition on the stamp isn’t that wonderful (it’s a freebie after all!) but it was a case of Hobson’s Choice, so I played with it for a while and used up a ton or so of scrap paper!  I coloured the trees in stripes before stamping and then went over the colour with a waterbrush (it’s watercolour card so it took it well enough).  My aim was to do something a bit ‘messy’, ‘washy’ and ill-defined … I’m pretty certain I took that look a bit far, but hey, if you don’t try, you don’t know!  The greeting is computer generated (French Script) and I added just a smidge of bling with the tiny stars on the top of the trees.

This is what I used:  Cardstock: Crafter’s Companion,  Stamp: Freebie,  Ink: Marvy le Plume Watercolour Pens,  Gems: Papermania,  Sentiment: Computer Generated

Here’s just a little bit of trivia to finish the weekend … apparently, the higher the consumption of chocolate in a country, the more Nobel Prize winners there are (with the exception of Sweden).  So, next time you feel the inclined to nibble on a bar of chocolate, don’t resist … you’re working your way towards a Nobel Prize!

Have a great week … thanks so much for visiting, and especially so if you’ve had chance to make a comment, reading them makes my day!  Anita 🙂

6 thoughts on “One Layer Wednesday Week 114 (A Christmas Thank You)

  1. Geri Greening

    Not at all overdone! I absolutely love the water colour effect! Combined with these fabulous colors, these festive beauties truly rock the Christmas tree scene! I love the sentiment font.

    So, based on my chocolate consumption of late, I figure I should have at least six or seven Nobel Prizes arriving in the mail any day now!

    Date: Sun, 18 Nov 2012 21:51:23 +0000 To: ggreener@mymts.net

    Reply
  2. Skye

    A lovely card. I like ther effect you achieved with the watercolour. You didn’t go too far, it was just enough. Nice font, I will be logging that font away for future use.
    To think I have been trying to cut down on chocolate.

    Reply
  3. shirley-bee

    Wow, you have had a busy weekend! Love the smudgy trees, it’s a great one layer card. I feel I haven’t contributed enough towards my Nobel Prize, so I’m off to make amends now 😉

    Reply
  4. baileyrosy

    Hi Anita thank your so much for passing by and your lovely comments they are so appreciated especially as I have been unable to reciprocate. Such a beautiful card, love the watercolour effect on the trees and the gorgeous colours.

    Marie

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

