Less is More #97 (All in a Row) & One Layer Wednesday #117 (Snow)

LIM97 & OLW117          We'd love you to display our banner

Aaah, one layer cards … at Less is More this week, the theme for the OLC is ‘All in a Row’ and at One Layer Wednesday (hosted by Susan at Simplicity this time round), the theme is ‘Snow’ … well, as Susan puts it, ‘not just stamped snow, use glitter, sparkle pens, Smooch, glimmer mist, flower soft, flock, puff paint, artist’s paste, or any other simulation of snow you can think of!’.  The two challenges fitted well together so I combined them!

Oh, I struggled … I knew I wanted to use snowflakes … die cuts?  Nope, doesn’t work on a OLC. Stamps?  No too, I don’t have any snowflake ones at the moment.  Ha ha, I thought … outlines!  Yes, I know, they’re very very very outmoded, but I found some snowflake ones that could be used as a mask, so that’s where I started.  I have absolutely no idea where the inspiration for coloured tiles came from, but come it did (after heat embossing, spongeing and doodling, which all ended up in the bin!)  … it may just have been desperation … either way, I’m now delirously happy because it worked … funny what makes someone happy isn’t it?!

I cut a tile shape in some spare card, placed it over my card base, added a snowflake and used shimmer chalk to fill in the space … and then just repeated it, using different coloured chalk each time.  When it was done, I took the outline snowflakes off (thankfully they didn’t over-stick) and added some stickles, to supplement the chalk shimmer (that you can’t see, even on the close up below … at least you can see the glitz!).

LIM97 & OLW117 Detail

Recipe:  Cardstock: Crafter’s Companion,  Outlines/Chalks: Dovecraft,  Glitter: Stickles.

That’s it for the weekend from me … hope you’ve had chance to have some creative time!  Thanks so much for your visit, and for any comments you feel like making … Anita 🙂

10 thoughts on “Less is More #97 (All in a Row) & One Layer Wednesday #117 (Snow)

  1. Geri Greening

    I love resourcefulness! You used clever artistic creativeness to produce a card that is stunning! Love the simplicity, love the sparkle, LOVE the colors you used….so well done!

    Date: Sun, 9 Dec 2012 20:34:17 +0000 To: ggreener@mymts.net

    Reply
  2. Kelly Griglione

    Fun to read about your process! The end result is wonderful! Oh, and I hope you do end up trying one of those foldable ornaments. They are just so fun to make!! I put another version on my blog that’s a scalloped circle … also fun to play around with the different shapes : )

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

