CASology #27 (Blue)

The delicious Design Team at CASology have come up with some terrific inspiration for this week’s challenge, which is a colour one … actually my most favorite ever colour … Blue.  The first thing that came to mind was sky … yep, I know loads of us don’t have blue skies at the moment, they’re more dull white-ish grey, but isn’t it nice to think of big blue sunny skies at a time like this?  Doing a sky card to me means sponging and having had the experience I had with sponging for OLW this week, I felt that perhaps another attempt wasn’t quite due yet … so I came up with something else that is a little sky related …

CASology27                        

I dragged some promarker colour around the edges of the white base to give contrast and then paper pieced the kite, adding some zig zag doodling to the joins.  Blue and white twine made the tail (left long over the edge to flutter in the breeze!), along with hand cut paper bows, fixed down just in the middles.  I added dimension by popping up the kite with foam dots and folding up the bows.  I thought about adding a small sentiment, and even tried a few on paper … but with OLW still ringing in my ears, I decided to stick to my new year resolution and stop!  Still not certain though …

I’m looking forward to having a meander around all the other CASologists’ entries tomorrow, but for now, it’s time for bed!  Thanks so much for coming by … Anita 🙂

Supplies:  Cardstock: Crafter’s Companion,  Designer Papers: Various Stash Scraps,  Colours: Promarkers,  Twine: Stash

11 thoughts on “CASology #27 (Blue)

  1. Ardyth

    This needs no words – depending on the occasion it could be ‘free’, ‘fun’, ‘calm’ – I often leave them blank until I need them, then I know what to do. I love the long tail with all the little fluttery bows – tons of texture but still so CAS! I also love the way you used the marker for the border – if I perfect that technique it could save me a mint in black cardstock, which I use as a narrow frame quite often! Thanks so much for playing along with us at CASology this week, Anita!

    Reply
  2. Sherry Eckblad

    This is absoslutely fantastic! Love the kite. Here in Minnesota if the sky is blue that means it is very cold. So I look forward to grey skies and warm temps. Next week will be blue skies as we dip to -13 F and don’t make it out of the negative numbers.

    Reply
  3. Geri Greening

    Another fabulously creative approach to a sketch! You must lie awake at nights coming up with these great ideas! I really do get excited when I see your post because I know that something so out of the ordinary will grace my computer screen…..like this pretty kite, that looks like it really is flying high! Love how you the tail flutters in the wind (another perfectly clever idea). I’m sure that I can actually hear Mary Poppins singing…”Let’s go fly a kite, up to the highest height, lets’s go fly a kite and send it soaring! Up to the atmosphere, up where the air is clear, oh let’s go fly a kite” 🙂

    Date: Fri, 18 Jan 2013 22:14:53 +0000 To: ggreener@mymts.net

    Reply
  4. Rosemary D

    absolutely love your card, anita!! perfect example of CAS! thanks so much for being such a loyal CASology player!!!

    Reply
  5. Judy1223

    Anita, I am so glad to see you playng along with CASology again this week, your cards are always such wonderful examples of CAS done well! I really LOVE this kite, such pretty patterns…and the string and bows are perfect! Thanks for playing along at CASology this week!

    Reply
  6. Maureen Merritt

    What a sweet kite! I love the mix of patterned papers you used. The doodling adds the perfect finishing touch! Thanks for playing along at CASology!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

