CAS(E) this Sketch #11, Addicted to CAS #4 (Embossing)

There’s a brilliant graphic sketch by Jackie, as well as inspiring examples, at CAS(E) this Sketch this week … and I’ve combined it with this fortnight’s Addicted to CAS where Karen has chosen the theme of Embossing … lovely … texture!

Way back at the end of September when I started to blog (it is a verb as well as a noun isn’t it?), I made a card for a ‘seven circles’ challenge (here).  This CTS sketch has squares rather than circles in it … but if you’ve checked out the original, you’ll be thinking what I did … could the same principles be used and the original card be CASEd.  Well, I tried it and made this …

CTS11, ATCAS4

     

The circles were die cut, the edges inked and they were then folded to make squares and create a patchwork effect.  Half the base was dry embossed (with a folder made from a plastic base that held a most delicious ice cream ‘buche’ we had at Christmas!) … I wanted raised squares to go with the patchwork and don’t have any folders that aren’t curvy.  Once the sentiment was stamped and heat embossed, I fixed on the patchwork and I was done … card CASEd!

Now for something completely different … I’m delighted that two new friends have joined the  Froggers this week … Kimberley Anne from wienerhoneymooners and Kim from cupcakescardsandkim … welcome ladies!  If you get the chance, do go and have a wander round the Kimberley Anne’s and Kim’s blogs … there’s plenty of inspiration to be had from them both!

I’m about done for the weekend … I’ll be blog travelling tomorrow so will catch up with you then … thanks so much for popping in … Anita 🙂

Supplies:  Cardstock: Docrafts,  DP:  Stash,  Stamp: Kaisercraft,  Ink: Versamark,  Embossing Powder: Crafter’s Companion,  Dry Embossing: Cuttlebug, My Own Buche Folder!

16 thoughts on “CAS(E) this Sketch #11, Addicted to CAS #4 (Embossing)

  1. Karen Bourke

    Wow Anita – this is gorgeous! I love that you actually made your own embossing folder – talk about thinking outside the box. Very clever use of circles to make your squares – love it! Thanks so much for joining us at A2CAS.

    Karen x

    Reply
  2. Ardyth

    LOVE this – love that you embossed the panel to get the half and half, love how you made the 4 elements – so cool! Thanks for joining us at CTS this week!

    Reply
  3. baileyrosy

    Hi Anita, sorry I haven’t been by for a while and I see I have missed so much ! Love your card and the clever design great home made embossing too. Thanks for your continued support at Addicted to CAS and good luck.

    Marie

    Reply
  4. Kim S

    Absolutely perfect use of the sketch! Those circle/squares with the various patterns look wonderful against the clean background! So glad to see you at CAS(E) this Sketch!

    Reply
  5. Anastasia

    Very beautiful card! Love the subtle embossing… I have to try one day to make the circles squares… Great CAS card, thank you for playing along with us at ATCAS!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

