Case This Sketch #14

After that last rather long post, this is a quick one for Case This Sketch … another of the very talented Jackie’s sketches.  There was something not quite right about my finished card and I couldn’t put my finger on it till I read one of Kim’s latest posts at joyfulcreationswithkim about the rule of thirds.  It was just like a light bulb went on … that was it …I’ve placed the image about 1cm too far to the left … it makes a difference, really, check out Kim’s post to find out more!  Anyway, as CTS closes in about an hour or so and I have plasterboard still to finish, I’ve not changed it …

CTS 14           

I’ve been a bit liberal with my interpretation of the sketch … I turned it sideways, the flower stems are the strip, the flower heads make up the circle and the button with thread I’ve counted as the heart!  I used die cuts from Cricut Lyrical Letters Cartridge, coloured with Promarkers and dotted with Perfect Pearls, and the sentiment is from Woodware.

I’ll be back later to meander around all the other entries.  Thanks so much for coming by, I do appreciate it!  Anita 🙂

8 thoughts on “Case This Sketch #14

  1. Ardyth

    I love the cool Art Deco feel of the shapes and colours – I really like this one. And I’m sure I have Lyrical Letters – I’m going to check right now! Thanks so much for playing along with CAS(E) This Sketch this week!

    Reply
  2. Geri G

    Ardyth definitely knows her styles – Art Deco is bang on! I fell in love with the white space and the cool, subtle colors of the die cuts! Honestly, I think it looks just fine placed where it is but I can definitely relate to your desire/need to move it just that teeny wee schmick!!!

    I’m thinking that you did great with taking a liberal approach to the sketch. It is all about gleaning inspiration from either a photo or a sketch and then running with it! And in my humble opinion, you definitely ran in the right direction with this card!!!

    Reply
  3. Sue

    Beautiful colours, Anita and the pearls are the perfect touch. Very delicate and pretty card. Thank you for the link about the rule of thirds, it’s very useful. Sue x

    Reply
  4. Bev

    Shut the front door!!! Lyrical Letters???!!! I have that one, how come I’ve never seen this???? I must be a knob. Your card is gorgeous. Totally love it. Lots of yummy white space, perfect colors, Art Deco look, and the flowers…well, they rock. Your whole card rocks. Really. Bev

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

