CASology #31 (Red), CAS-ual Fridays #90 (Black & White Plus 1)

Here’s my second card for the day … this time I’m playing along with CASology, where the cue card is ‘Red’, and with CAS-ual Fridays, where the theme is ‘Black & White Plus 1’ … my ‘Plus 1’ is red … CASology 31, CFC 90

         

The stamp is from Penny Black, one of the first I bought … and just for the doing of it, I tried something with it I’d not done before … stamped with Versamark ink and used black embossing powder so the image would really stand out.  Black EP is not the best for making sure there’s no trace before heating, but that’s no reason (I explained to myself) for leaving it languishing in a corner.  So I grasped the proverbial nettle, padded liberally with the anti-static bag and went for it.  It isn’t perfect, but I quite like the odd tiny blob here and there … don’t know why, maybe it adds softness or movement … or maybe that’s just an excuse!  It’s coloured with watercolour pens, and the frame is popped up and wrapped with twine.

Looking forward later to visiting all the other lovely submissions … off to make (and eat) dinner first.  Thanks so much for coming by and for letting me know what you think … I really appreciate it.  Anita 🙂

24 thoughts on “CASology #31 (Red), CAS-ual Fridays #90 (Black & White Plus 1)

  1. Geri G

    Beautiful! I absolute love the tied twine at the bottom – plays well with the whimsical flowers!

    Embossing powder – yikes! Can quite often make a card look like the 101 Dalmatians!

    Not meaning to sound like I know it all but just wanting to help out…
    I use a magnifying glass and the teeniest, weeniest paint brush to flick off the flecks before heating. If you have a speck in a small space that you can’t get at, slightly moisten the brush and the pesky fleck should stick to it. Then holding the card flat, heat gently from the underside of the card to somewhat set the powder, then heat from the top. This helps to keep the powder from doing the dandelion thing when the air hits it! Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t 🙂

    Reply
  2. Rosemary D

    stunning card, anita!! the flowers are so perfectly colored and really pop against the white background! i always enjoy seeing your CASology entry… thanks so much for playing along every week!!!

    Reply
  3. Ardyth

    Your embossing looks lovely and clean from here! And I love the frame! (if you want an easier way to get ‘black’ embossing, stamp it in Versafine Onyx and quickly emboss in clear – any stray powder will be invisilble. Thanks so much for playing along with CASology this week, Anita!

    Reply
  4. Carol L

    Your card works perfectly for both challenges, and I love all the vivid red color, especially on your flowers! I love the pop of embossing too, but I always use clear detail with versafine onyx black ink. It turns out just as if you’d used black ep only without all the specks and flaws!

    Reply
  5. Shannon J

    What a gorgeous card – beautifully done! Your colouring is just perfect and the card works for any occasion – I just love it. And thank you so much for visiting me on my blog and leaving sweet comments! xx

    Reply
  6. Meghan

    I’m not a fan of white embossing powder so black probably isn’t my thing either! Good for you for going for it! I didn’t see a single extraneous speck of black anywhere! Love the way you framed the image too! Glad you joined us at CASology this week!

    Reply
  7. Bev

    Oh yeah! This is another wonderful creation, Anita. Those flowers are just full of whimsy and I love how the twine just completes your card. Sweet! Bev

    Reply
  8. Judy1223

    Anita, I think your embossing is fabulous, I don’t see any issue with it! As a matter of fact, your card is just gorgeous…thise red flowers just pop! So glad you joined in the fun again at CASology!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

