One Layer Wednesday #128 (Feminine Birthday Card), Less is More #108 (Paper Piercing)

The host at One Layer Wednesday this week is Heather at Bits & Pieces, and she’s set a lovely wide ranging challenge … a feminine birthday card … where we’ve to use some of our favorite things (anyone getting the urge to break into song?).  I’m enjoying playing with colours at the moment and I’ve used one of my most favorite layouts.  At Less is More, Chrissie and Jen have set Paper Piercing as the theme, and there are some stunning examples to inspire us.  Here’s my offering …

OLW 128, LIM 108                    We'd love you to display our banner

The image is a freebie that I stamped several times with London Fog Memento ink to create soft outlines.  The flowers and leaves were coloured with watercolour pens and a water brush and after they were all done, the panel was masked off and I ran a broad water brush back and forth over it, trying to get the effect of a gentle, hazy feeling of spring and summer.  I scored lines top and bottom, and then pierced along the scoring to give more definition. The sentiment is from Paper Smooches.

I’m delighted that another new friend has joined the Froggers this week … a very warm welcome to  Jenny from craftinginthecountry 🙂  You should go and check out Jenny’s blog if you don’t know her already … she does amazing work … you’ll be inspired!

Looking forward to a wander around the other entries a little later, but for now I’m off to make dinner.  Thanks so much for coming by, I really appreciate your visits and comments … Anita 🙂

16 thoughts on “One Layer Wednesday #128 (Feminine Birthday Card), Less is More #108 (Paper Piercing)

  1. Ardyth

    I love the pretty colours and the fact that you used grey to stamp them – so soft and fresh! I love the hazy effect you achieived – it’s really cool! Wonderful OLW card!

    Reply
  2. Geri G.

    Oh my – I love the image stamped in grey! What a fabulous idea. It takes the harshness out that comes with using black. Awesome job water coloring! Totally love the sun drenched sky! Beautiful and brilliant creation dear friend!

    Reply
  3. Jenny M

    Wow soo pretty Anita, love the soft wash of colours to give the swaying movement and the pierced border is a clever idea :0)
    Pleasure to join your group of followers :0)
    Jenny x

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

