Muse #14

It’s been a quiet week on the card making front because it’s been a super-busy week on the renovation front (making the best of the good weather and long evenings), and whilst I’ve tried to keep up with what everyone’s been doing, my own doings have been centred around being on scaffolding, getting creative with stone!

I had some delightful news on my ‘return’ (thanks for being the bearer of good news Shirley!) … my French Connection card was showcased at Less is More yesterday … I’m honoured and proud to add the badge to my sidebar … thank you so much, Chrissie and Jen 🙂

Now, onto my card, the first since last Sunday … and I’m feeling a bit out of practice!  It’s for Muse Card Club, where Virginia Lu is the Guest Designer and has made this card to inspire us …

I was struck by the flowers, vibrant colours and the circular sentiment, and did this …

Muse 14

… which is a bit different from my usual stuff, but I don’t hate it!  I randomly cut different sizes of the same flower shape into a white card panel using Cricut Accent Essentials, backed the panel with some striped DP from Fancy Pants Designs, and added the centres back in.  I did try adding gems and pearls in the centres, but it was just too much for the DP.  The sentiment’s from Paper Smooches, stamped in Versamark and heat embossed.  I used a fineliner to add the dotted border and then popped up the mega pink panel with dimensionals.  Why the mega pink?  Well, the stripe colours are mega pink, pink, orange, yellow, turquoise, green and brown … and I tried the lot … the mega pink seemed to work best!

I’m hoping to play along with some more challenges over the weekend, but for now I’m off to check out how everyone else was inspired by Virginia’s card.  Thanks so much for coming by, I really appreciate your visits and comments!  Anita 🙂

muse

23 thoughts on “Muse #14

  1. Bev

    I love this! I love all the little flowers, the stripey paper and your sentiment font. (that’s a PS, isn’t it?) I think you’ve done the Muse challenge proud. Well done, my friend! Bev

    Reply
  2. Greta H

    Brilliant design, Anita! I love your take on Virginia’s inspiration! Love your dotted border–I’m always afraid to do anything free-hand.

    Reply
  3. Virginia Lu

    This turns out so beautifully! I love the various colors of the diecut flowers with Fancy Pants pattern paper! Wonderfully inspired card, Anita! So glad that you join the fun over MUSE challenge this week!

    Reply
  4. Sharyn Polesel

    Great card, Anita. I love your gorgeous flowers! Thanks so much for the kind comment on my Muse card. I really appreciate it!

    Reply
  5. Sandie

    hi Anita,
    thought you had not been about this week! Life does get in the way doesn’t it!! This is a lovely Muse card, I like how you die cut the flowers and heat embossed the sentiment. Think you went the right way not to put on gems. Have a good weekend x Oh congrats on LIM-fantastic news!

    Reply
  6. Ardyth

    Love this really fun take on this week’s Muse. The groovy flowers and the big pink sentiment circle are perfect! Thanks for playing along!

    Reply
  7. lollthompson

    Hi Anita. Great design. I love negative die-cuts … and you’ve used a great designer paper in behind … such fun colors! Great take on the Muse challenge. Loll xx

    Reply
  8. Joyce M.

    This is a beautiful take on the inspiration photo. Your die cut flowers are brilliant, and I love that they are backed with such colorful paper. White on pink, rather than pink on white–for your sentiment panel–stroke of genius.

    Reply
  9. Rosemary D

    what a brilliant design, anita! love how you cut out the flowers and then backed them with the patterned paper… a fantastic take on the Muse card!

    Reply
  10. Kelly Griglione

    Anita!! Congrats on you LIM feature!! What a big deal that is! YAY! And I love your take on Virginia’s card … it’s different than the others I’ve seen by not using masking for the center. Nice use of the patterned paper!

    Reply
  11. kimheggins

    Fabulous card…I love how you used the dies for your background and that patterned paper is so fun. Makes a very festive birthday card. Just too cute!

    Reply
  12. Geri

    Yep! The mega pink was definitely the way for the circle color! Brave girl dotting away the hours with a fine tipped white pen to create a perfect border!!! Sweet job on the embossed sentiment – it is really tricky keeping the ‘stray specks’ at bay, but you pulled it off without one schmick of powder schrapnel!

    Reply
  13. Jenny M

    You deserved the shout out at LiM last week, loved that card and this is another creative gem too… what a great take on Virginia’s card :0)
    Your restoration work sounds interesting.. yay for nice weather and light evenings!!
    Jenny x

    Reply
  14. Geri G

    Whooo Hoooo girlfriend! Congrats on the HM at MUSE! Another fabulous creation that had the MUSE voters (me included) happily marking our X beside an awesome card created by a dear sweet person 🙂

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

