Muse #17, The Alley Way Stamps Be Inspired #28

Today I have a card to share for two challenges (yes, MM and MI are up to co-operating again after their efforts yesterday).  The amazing Therese Calvird has created a cute and fun inspiration card for us this week at Muse … and for the first time, I’m playing along at The Alley Way Stamps (although I have been enjoying looking for a few weeks).  This is my combined offering …

Muse 17, TAWS 28

… and here’s the inspiration …

               

I love Therese’s stacked elephants and paper piecing, and the striped vanilla, pink and light tan bedding just blew me away … wouldn’t a bedroom in those ice-cream colours be so deliciously restful and calm?  Sigh.

I started with three different DPs and made the background panel using strips to (roughly) match the bedding.  Then I printed out the cute little bird image from TAWS (a freebie as I don’t have any of their real stamps … yet), one on each DP, and trimmed them out.  Their stick legs had to go in the trimming (have you ever tried cutting out stick legs?), so I drew them back in once they were attached to their panel.  The sentiment was done on the computer (Skinny Latte font) and the triple row of twine serves a couple of purposes … it’s something for the stack of birds to stand on, and more importantly, it hides the join in the panel where I made a big boo-boo and had to cut off the original sentiment.  Finally, both panels were popped up on dimensionals.

I’m off to link (Muse finishes very shortly!) … looking forward to seeing what everyone else has created a little later.  Thanks so much for popping in, your visits and comments warm my heart!  Anita 🙂

muse

19 thoughts on “Muse #17, The Alley Way Stamps Be Inspired #28

  1. Ardyth

    You squeaked in my friend! So glad! I love the birds and your paper strips look like ribbons. Thanks for playing along!

    Reply
  2. cmaynec

    What an adorable card, Anita – perfect for both MUSE and TAWS! I, too,started playing with TAWS challenges through the freebies – and now, I’m the proud owner of several sets! They are, in a word, FANTASTIC! Your birds are delightful (I’ve already scrolled up about 10 times while writing this note, to admire and swoon!), and your paper selections: outstanding. Winner – all the way! Thank you for commenting on my stack o’hippos, not only because you brightened my day immensely, but because I wandered here to discover your charming site. I will definitely be back!
    c

    Reply
  3. Rosemary D

    what a fun, fun card, anita! I started smiling the moment I saw that first little bird! fantastic take on all the challenges!

    Reply
  4. Geri G

    Winner, winner, chicken (or bird) dinner. But not these guys, cuz they are just too cute! Absolutely amazing job with both these challenges! Love their cute little stick legs. The twine does make the perfect perch for the wee winged critters to roost on (and hide a bit of a crafting mishap!)

    I love the DP that you used. Are they all from one collection?

    Reply
  5. Jenny M

    Well what a great combination of challenges and all this talk of ice-cream is making my mouthwater!!! I love the birdie stack and yes I’ve tried and failed at cutting out stick legs :0(
    Great save with the twine… A true crafter !!!
    Jenny x

    Reply
  6. kimheggins

    Anita, so sorry to be so behind in comments, but your card is fabulous!!! I am guessing I am not the only one who thought that. Congrats on your win, again. You are so talented and as always, I love seeing your incredible creations!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

