Less is More #122 (Front Door Colour)

It’s a fun theme that Jen and Chrissie have come up with for Less is More this week … ‘the colour of your front door’ … and we’re asked to include a picture of said door (if possible).  So, here it is …

LIM Front Door… it’s a part of the house that we haven’t started renovating yet (can you tell??) … we’ve done repairs to the slipped key stone and have replaced the glazing but nothing other than that.  My simple card picks up on the three panels on each door, and on the colours … the very washed out, very faded light grey (woodwork) and the creamy, honey shades in the stonework (it’ll be much creamier and much honeyer when we get to work on it!) ….

LIM 122

… oh and I was inspired to try this design by Susan at Simplicity, who created this card last month.  Thanks Susan!  The image is from Stampendous, the sentiment is from WPlus9, and they’re stamped in Memento London Fog to keep the look soft.  The flowers are coloured with Promarkers and have Perfect Pearl centres.

I’m off for a wander around all the other front doors, and to see what else has been going on in blogland over the last couple of days.  Thanks so much for popping in, your visits and comments are a joy!  Anita 🙂

We'd love you to display our banner

18 thoughts on “Less is More #122 (Front Door Colour)

  1. Bev

    Yep. That noise you heard from mid-America was just my jaw hitting the floor. Seriously. I am totally and completely in love with this card. Textured base, teeny-tiny squares all popped up, muted colors, and a sentiment that fits and doesn’t overpower the panels. I’m gob-smacked. It’s gorgeous! Really. Gorgeous. *sigh* *double sigh* *endless sighs*

    Reply
  2. Geri G

    Hey there pal! So, now it is my turn to be in absolute awe of your creation!! Fabulous how these sweet wee flowers make such a bold statement with their stunning and elegant simplicity!

    Great call on the lighter ink! Black would have been far to harsh and likely would have compromised the softness of your card!

    …. totally loving your front door! You could have incorporated the trees reflecting in the window panes into your card too 🙂

    Reply
  3. Anita

    This is gorgeous, Anita. I have this Stampendous set but not used it much, I love the way you’ve used individual squares and such delicate colours. Beautiful card 🙂 x

    Reply
  4. Rosemary D

    what a soft, beautiful interpretation of your door, anita! I love how you door looks right now… aged to perfection!

    Reply
  5. Jenny M

    I can tell you have a house full of character because that front door is splendid!!! Beautiful card too Anita, the soft neutrals and timeless design are the perfect blend :0)
    Jenny x

    Reply
  6. Joyce M.

    I think your front door is so cool, as is. Maybe don’t renovate? And, your card is just beautiful. That London Fog ink is really the perfect choice to keep it soft feeling.

    Reply
  7. Jen

    I’m really sorry for my late visit.. just wanted to pop over and say Hi
    Thanks for joining us this week
    Jen
    “Less Is More”

    Reply
  8. c

    Oh my – I’m in love with both your card AND your front door! Are you ‘sure’ you want to renovate it, because it’s just beautiful and full of ‘character’ as it is! Our front door is ‘townhouse standard’ = blech. No windows or panels or cool doorknob. Yours is ever so delightful – quaint, charming…I just want to knock on the door and hope that you’ll let me in, because I know ‘warm, cosy and welcoming’ await inside. Yes indeed, fantastic card to showcase a most fantastic door!!
    c

    Reply
  9. Shirley-bee

    Ooh, I love your front door – so very, very French! And I love your card – you’ve done a fabulous job capturing the essence of your door and surround – textured card, muted colours, glass of Chablis – oh no, that’s me 😉

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

