One Layer Wednesday #146 (Splats and Splatters), Simon Says Stamp 26/6 (Anything Goes)

Life has been a bit crazy round here for the last week, so whilst I’ve kept up with events in the blogosphere, card making has taken a bit of a back seat.  Tonight, however, it decided it was fed up with playing second fiddle and moved into the front seat next to me … so I’m taking advantage of it’s proximity and playing along at One Layer Wednesday, where Karen‘s the host and has set us a ‘Splats and Splatters’ challenge, and at Simon Says Stamp, where the theme is ‘Anything Goes’.  This is what I came up with …

OLW 146, SSS 26-6

Simon Says Stamp Challenge Blog

I guess just about now you’re thinking to yourself … ‘now where are the splats and splatters then?’  Well … they’re there, they’re just really, really tiny (you can just about see them if you click on the photo) … and there’s an explanation.  I don’t have any splat stamps.

At first, I tried sploshing some colour from a water brush onto some card, thinking I may be able to get a similar look to a stamp.  Nope … soggy mess.  Next I tried a PS splodgy bug stamp with a smiley face … wasn’t going for a similar look at all this time, but I thought it might do.  Nope … too silly (even for me).  Then it hit me … wonder if watercolour pens would splatter?  Well, they didn’t at first, but by flicking the tip of the pen against the inside edge of the cap whilst pointing said cap where I wanted the splatter to go, I got a result … yay!

So, eighteen colours, one TAWS sentiment (which seemed appropriate) and three AnnaBelle Stamps ‘icicles’ later, this was the outcome … splatter in miniature … and I’m happy!

I’m also very happy that I have two new friends to welcome tonight … Kelly from Kelly’s Papercrafting (who I think you’ll know for her deliciously CAS style … if you don’t have a meander over there and enjoy) and Charlotte, who doesn’t have a blog or gallery to visit … welcome ladies, and thank you 🙂

I’m off for a quick tour around blogland to see who’s been inspired to do what today.  Thanks so much, as ever, for coming by … your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

13 thoughts on “One Layer Wednesday #146 (Splats and Splatters), Simon Says Stamp 26/6 (Anything Goes)

  1. Cathy R

    Hi Anita, I love the tiny splatters and he soft rainbow of colours and what a great sentiment 🙂 Cathy x

    Reply
  2. Joyce M.

    This card is just stunning. I thought it was blended ink! You are super brave to do all that splattering–but it was totally worth it. And, I think your choice of sentiment is just brilliant.

    Reply
  3. kimheggins

    Wow…this is just so amazing!!! I love that look that you created and with so few colors too, LOL! This is amazing and it is so nice to see you back in the front seat with making cards, I have missed seeing them. Welcome back!

    Reply
  4. Ardyth

    Love this – it’s almost an airbrushed feel! Love the blending (really? eighteen?? WOW!) and I know how you feel – I’ve had the kids home for the last few days and I’m ready for some peaceful crafting time! next Monday is when that will happen – not that I’m counting! lol!

    Reply
  5. hannelie

    I love the effect Anita… I had a set of “blowing” pens a (long) while ago… actually it was the kids’ when they where still small and crafting with me… the pens are dry now… ( and the kids big 😉 But they worked really well. I wonder if you still get to buy them?

    Reply
  6. Shirley-bee

    Those are the smallest, finest splatters I’ve seen, and they look fab! I admire your patience, but it was well worth it – and the sentiment is perfect!

    Reply
  7. c

    Welcome back!! I’ve missed your cards and posts – and this one is such a lovely ‘return.’! I’m impressed with your splatters, your colours, and your perseverance in figuring out how to make all of this work so beautifully! Me + splatters – not even going there! I’m all for getting some stamps…on the wish list, for sure!! Have a great Wednesday! (I owe you a note…hopefully in the next couple of days!!)
    c

    Reply
  8. Bev

    Another home run. You’ve really hit this one dead on. Love that they’re little tiny splatters, and done in a perfectly graduated manner too. Sideways card?! Fantastic idea! Girl, you’re the bomb!

    Reply
  9. Jenny M

    That’s a brilliant effect, the colours blend so well because they are soft and of course the sentiment is such a perfect match too :0)
    jenny x

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

