One Layer Wednesday #147 (Christmas Sparklers)

I have a card to share for One Layer Wednesday where Susan is the host this week.  She’s set a ‘Christmas Sparklers’ theme … use glitter or shimmer on a one layer Christmas/holiday card.  Nothing like being prepared well in advance of the event!

OLW 147

I have four Christmas themed stamps (one image, two sentiments, one freebie), none of which I could make work here … so I went on the hunt for something suitably festive … or something that could be turned into something suitably festive.  I found these circles on the Avery Elle Blog free digital stamps page … seemed they could very well be Christmas baubles … at least that’s how my eyes saw them.

The stripes are coloured with Promarkers and have holographic glitter layered over the top.  I made the sentiment using an old peel-off negative and a black fine liner, and topped it with glitter, courtesy of my trusty glue pen.  A couple of miniscule gems (coloured to match the baubles) act as the trema over the ‘e’ (French spelling of course!).

The last touch was to round the bottom corners … having them rounded seemed to balance the card better … maybe because it reflects the rounded baubles?  Looking at it now, though I’m still not certain that the balance is right … could the baubles be lower … should the bottom 5cm have been sliced off to make it into a square card … is it just me?  P’raps you could let me know!

Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a delight!  Anita 🙂

20 thoughts on “One Layer Wednesday #147 (Christmas Sparklers)

  1. lollthompson

    Hi Anita. Gorgeous, glittery baubles! Love the colors! … and thanks for the link to the free images. Definitely love the rounded corners … you’re right, they mimic the shape of the baubles and tie it all together. I think the card is perfectly balanced. Loll xx

    Reply
  2. Susan Raihala

    Oh, Anita, this is delightful! Love the sparkle of the ornaments and the added touch of bling over the “e”! Definitely rounded corners, and I wouldn’t make it square. The ornaments need some white space below them!

    Reply
  3. Joyce M.

    This is just fabulous. CAS to the max. I have always loved that particular image, and would use it myself if I could figure out digital crafting. Your coloring and glitter make it especially festive.

    Reply
  4. Shirley-bee

    How resourceful are you?! Not only hunting down digis to turn into baubles, but creating a sentiment from a peel-off negative. And then making a fabulous card from them! Well done you!

    Reply
  5. Sandie

    nope I think it is pretty balanced Anita-we are our worst critics! I love how you hunted out a non Xmas image-great idea and it looks really funky!

    Reply
  6. serendipitydragonfly

    This is lovely Anita – gorgeous colour and glitter. I think it would have looked too busy if you cut the bottom off to make a square card – the white space under the baubles balances it perfectly. Thanks for the link.

    Karen x

    Reply
  7. Ann T

    Lovely card, and so ingeniously resourceful! Thanks for the link. My opinion? I think you are second guessing yourself – it looks perfect!

    Reply
  8. Ardyth

    Wonderful! Love the sparkle and the blingy umlaut (don’t ask why I know what those dots are called in German, which I don’t speak, but not in French, which I studied all through university!) Great OLW card! The balance feels good to me, but I know I would have tried nestling the sentiment closer to the string between the two right-side baubles. Not sure if it would have been better or worse.

    Reply
  9. c

    Sparkly baubles, lovely colour combination, bits of ‘special touch’ bling: what’s not to love, love and love! Stunning card – and your resourcefulness in searching out a freebie, and using your ‘schtuff’ (as Darnell would say) is impressive! Yes, indeed, another pretty+++ to brighten our day! Thank you for your comments on my ‘homework’ that makes me feel and warm and fuzzy (and I owe you a real note!!)
    c

    Reply
  10. Bev

    Sorry I’m so late! I love what you’ve done here. Fun color choices for the bulbs…not the usual reds and greens. Love the out-of-the-box thinking on that. Et ta “noel” est tres jolie…not sure if that translates properly…Really gets me thinking about Christmas. This is just lovely, my friend.

    Reply
  11. LOLI

    Hola Anita, what fantastic desing for your bubbles, i like the unusual colour for christmas and the sparkly touch, great job Anita.
    A warm hug from meltes island

    Reply
  12. Sandie

    Hi Anita
    Just checking in as I don’t seem to have seen any post since this one-are you taking a break or am perhaps something has gone wrong with my subscription. Hope you are o.k-that is the main thing-Sandie xx

    Reply
  13. c

    Joining in with the others to say I’m missing you!! Hope all is well and that you’ll be returning to the crafting community really, really soon!!
    c

    Reply
  14. kimheggins

    Ok, first I am not sure how I missed this card it is amazing, I love those ornaments! Second, where have you been??? I really miss seeing your amazing cards and reading your fabulous stories. I pray all is well and look forward to hearing from you soon.
    Hugs!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

