One Layer Wednesday #156 (Paintchip)

Ardyth is the host at One Layer Wednesday this week and she’s set us a ‘Paintchip’ challenge … use one colour in as many shades as you can on your card.  Bliss … I simply had to play along, couldn’t help myself … who wouldn’t want to play with a theme like that … it’s just heavenly!  Doesn’t mean to say I knew what I was going to do … just that I HAD to do it.  So I’ve been cogitating for days … and then I got a germ of an idea … it grew … it developed … it matured … and it turned into this …

OLW 156

Blue hues … sigh!  The image is from The Alley Way Stamps … it’s one of overlapping blocks and I stamped it three times to create a panel.  It’s coloured with Promarkers with the overlaps left white.  The design called out for a sentiment with a really simple font and this Annabelle Stamps one seemed to fit the bill … I split it by masking so it would sort of fit into the panel.  The ‘happy’ found itself a great place to sit … the ‘birthday’ isn’t quite so comfortable … if I’d have included the sentiment in my overall plan, before stamping the panel, it would’ve had it’s own little home.  Next time it will have … and there’ll be a next time ’cause it’s a masculine style I can come back to, with different colours to match different moods (and men!).

I’m delighted to have three new friends to welcome tonight … two non blogging ones … Linda, a new stamper, and Paula, a seasoned card maker … and Shery from One Layer Cards (guess what sort of cards Shery makes … if you get the chance do go for a meander around … there’s lots to see and links to explore).  Welcome ladies, and thank you 🙂

That’s it from me for tonight … thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

17 thoughts on “One Layer Wednesday #156 (Paintchip)

  1. lollthompson

    Anita. This is FANTASTIC!!! I love the image and the colors you’ve used. The sentiment is perfect … love the way you’ve split of the words to fit into the puzzle. Loll xx

    Reply
  2. Ardyth

    This is stunning! I love the ‘modern art’ feel of it and the way you’ve nestled the sentiment right in there! Thanks so much for playing along!

    Reply
  3. Bev

    I can see that Mr. Mojo is hanging around you today! This is absolutely brilliant! Totally love this. And how perfect is this for a ‘manly’ card??!!! You so rock. Woohoo!!!!

    Reply
  4. Geri G

    Yes, Mr. Mojo has definitely returned…and he brought a cool ‘man’ card! idea to share with you!

    Fabulous “retro-ish” feel to your card. I’m sure my Aunty had a room divider in her house back in the 70’s that looked like this! I think the sentiments look perfect where you have placed them! Yep….Winner, Winner…..!!!

    Reply
  5. Joyce M.

    This is so clever. It caught my eye on my phone, and I had to go home and see it on my bigger computer screen. I love how you colored those squares and left some blank. It’s got such a mod 70s feel to it.

    Reply
  6. sheryruss

    Hi, Anita! I am so loving your card! The overlapping squares are super cool — gives your card a retro yet modern feel. Very, very artsy! Will have to try it. Thank you for the inspiration! Can’t wait to see more of your cards. Thanks for the mention in your blog post. I feel so special 🙂

    ~Shery

    Reply
  7. c

    My goodness, but I’m slow in commenting on your GORGEOUS card! How clever to use the TAWS set as your did, and the blue hues…yes, definitely sighhhhh!1 Lovely+++ So glad to see you back!
    c

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

