CAS(E) this Sketch #47, Runway Inspired Challenge #45, Simon Says Stamp Monday 30/9 (Say it with Stamps), Insider Online Card Class Day 2

I haven’t played along at CAS(E) this Sketch for a while so I’m really pleased to be squeaking in at the last minute today using Chrissy Larsson’s fun sketch (turned landscape).  The Runway Inspired Challenge is one I’ve followed for some time, although until now hadn’t joined in with … but as this week’s catwalk photograph gave me one of those oh-my-goodness-not-if-but-when card making moments … I used it as my inspiration.  The ‘Say it with Stamps’ challenge at Simon Says Stamp Monday fits in happily alongside the other two, and I’m also adding my card to the Insider Online Card Class Day 2 Gallery … taking the outside of your card to the inside …

CTS 47, RIC 45, SSSM 30-9, OCCI 2

          Simon Monday Challenge Blog

This is a new technique for me … it’s one Laura Bassen showed us in the Insider Online Card Class, and uses a clear panel to allow the inside of a card to feature as much as the outside.  I made the inside first, using markers and a ruler (!) to draw the coloured stripes (to match those on the dress), and then added the PTI ‘thank you’.    For the card front, I stamped the black stripes onto a white card panel, cut a clear panel to size and adhered one to the other.  The front and back of the card were then adhered together along the top, just behind the fold line.  My finishing touch was to add a curved panel of pearlised silver card to pick up the style of that oh so cool purse/handbag in the photo.

I’m delighted to say hello to new follower, Nicky …. a white-space-loving CAS card maker and stamper, who’s been pulled away from her blog for a while by other commitments.  She’ll be joining us in blogland again before too long and when that happens, I’ll add a link so you can go for a visit and explore.  Welcome Nicky, and thank you!

Busy day ahead … I’ve been fending it off to get this post done … can’t keep it at bay any longer!  Thanks so much for coming by, as ever, your visits and comments are a joy!  Anita 🙂

25 thoughts on “CAS(E) this Sketch #47, Runway Inspired Challenge #45, Simon Says Stamp Monday 30/9 (Say it with Stamps), Insider Online Card Class Day 2

  1. Sandie

    Hi Anita,
    I am now home and wanted to pop by and thank you for visiting my blog while I was away. I just love this card. This is such a cool technique and inspired me to give it a try x

    Reply
  2. tracy745

    Lovely CAS card, the stripes are very eye catching. Love the mix of colours. Thanks so much for joining in the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. Tracy x

    Reply
  3. Bev

    Well, after seeing your card, everyone else is playing for second place! This is utterly amazing and I totally LOVE this. For the class, you get an A++ for this card. Wow. I’m blown away. Everything is perfect. Wow again. Perfect. Bev

    Reply
  4. Kate

    I also love the Runway Inspired Challenge and will join in too at some point (!!!). I just love the colours of this inspiration photo and it suits your style very well. You also did such a lovely, precise job with your pen and ruler. Well done you!

    Reply
  5. c

    GORGEOUS, Anita – absolutely! You’ve worked magic not only with the fabulous colours and stripes, but the clear panel: perfect special touch!! Can I ask what kind of clear ‘paper’ you used? When I made my card, I went with a transparency sheet…gahhhhh! Not easy to work with! Back to your card: LOVE it!!
    c

    Reply
  6. wienerhoneymooners

    I utterly agree, after seeing this card, move on over folks!!!! LOL
    Love this stamping, and the peekaboo tranparency! So awesome, Great Job, way to go! Love it. Laura Bassen is the BOMB!

    Thanks your awesome comments my card, happy mail is always good! Have a great day Anita!

    Reply
  7. Geri G

    Okay…another beauty that just about slipped by me! Wow! Right off the hop, I’m calling winner, winner again dear friend!!! You have been NAILING these challenges!

    I must have scrolled back up to the top of your post at least a dozen times!!! Then when I finally figured out what you did, I darn near fell off my chair! This is brilliant as brilliant can get! Your hand drawn lines are flawless, as is the perfectly stamped sentiment!

    Yep – winner, winner, chicken dinner!

    Reply
  8. Nina Yang

    Love the colorful hand drawn strips, Anita! But my favorite part on this card is your finish touch: the curved silver panel is so clever! Thank you for joining us on the Runway!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

