Muse #37 (Cindy Brumbaugh), Simon Says Stamp Wednesday 2/10 (We’re Going Dotty)

I’ve a card to share for Muse today … the talented Cindy Brumbaugh is the Guest Designer this week and she’s created an elegant, floral card to inspire us, with lots of texture and dimension.  It just so happens that my take on it includes dotty embossing, so I’m also submitting to Simon Says Stamp Wedesday where ‘We’re Going Dotty’ (as though I’m not already there …) …

Muse 37, SSSW 2-10

                              Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

I studied Cindy’s card for a while (almost a week!) … and after a good deal of reflection about what to pick out to focus on, in the end I went for the beautiful bloom, the matting and layering, and the dry embossing.  My card’s a little busier than my usual style, but there’s still plenty of my beloved white space on show.

The base panel is embossed with Cuttlebug Charles EF and is matted onto dark pink (to co-ordinate with the flowers).  The image is from Penny Black … I used a stickeroo from my stash because every single one of my elegant flower stamps is still on my wishlist … and not in my hot little hands … yet.  So, stickeroo it was, adhered to white card and trimmed out.  I cut a banner, stamped the (Annabelle Stamps) sentiment, embossed it to match the base panel embossing, flattened the bobbley bits a little (they were just too bobbley) and mounted it on dark pink card.  The flower was tucked behind the sentiment strip, and both were popped up on foam dots.  Voila.

There’s a big THANK YOU I’d like to finish with this evening … to all my fellow Muse players, for voting my take on Karen M’s card into a Featured Member spot last week … it so made my day 🙂

I’m off to check out who’s been doing what in the blogosphere today.  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a delight!  Anita  🙂

35 thoughts on “Muse #37 (Cindy Brumbaugh), Simon Says Stamp Wednesday 2/10 (We’re Going Dotty)

  1. hannelie

    Ooh, my fav embossing folder!
    This is beautiful Anita, so fresh and lovely and clean and I can go on!
    Have a great week!

    Reply
  2. c

    Pretty, pretty, pretty! Beautiful bloom and the background dots…swoon! Need to add that folder to the wish book! Hmmm…since your dots are also arranged a la chevron style, and with the addition of perhaps (only if you want) a wee sequin, you could post this lovely iinto CAS-ual Fridays “chevrons and sequins’ challenge…(nudge, nudge..). Day brightened: thank you!
    c

    Reply
  3. Kelly Griglione

    I think I’ve already arrived at “dotty” … it’s a good thing my head is attached : ) Love your version of dotty in the background. Just what you lovely flower needs to really shine! Happy belated WCMD, Anita!

    Reply
  4. Bev

    We’re all a bit dotty these days…lol! This turned out just beautifully. Love those flowers. Beautiful colors, everything crisp and clean…another fantastic creation! My mojo is MIA again… I’ve got some ideas, just waiting for mojo to reappear. Nothing as pretty as this though…. Love this. Will em soon. Bev

    Reply
  5. kimheggins

    This is so sweet and lovely Anita! The colors of your flowers are simply gorgeous! I would have never knows you use stickeroo’s, still one fabulous card and a winner in my book.

    Reply
  6. cindyleebee

    Oh, Anita, this is just lovely. I love how the bordering pink color matches your Stickeroo perfectly. Oh that Stickeroo is fantastic- I would have never have guessed it was a Stickeroo- must look into those! Your cards are always so beautiful;)

    Reply
  7. Kate

    So fresh and lovely! This stamp has been on my wish-list for ages too. Like you, I often find embossing folders too ‘bobbly’ and end up flattening them down a bit. Have a look at the PTI impression plates, they give a lovely pattern without being too deeply embossed.

    Reply
  8. Geri G

    Soft, subtle and so very pretty! The blooms are fabulous. Love the spotty background too. The sentiment banner looks great (especially creeping over the edge) with the bobbly bits smooshed down just a tad!

    Happy, happy, happy congrats on your MUSE shout-out for another beautiful card Anita 🙂

    Reply
  9. Ardyth

    Love this – the chevron dots are the perfect amount of delicacy to back up that vibrant but slim and still delicate blossom! Thanks for playing with this week’s Muse!

    Reply
  10. Jenny M

    This is such a pretty card Anita, I love the dainty flower and busy white space is always fine…. The embossed texture is a great backdrop :0)
    Jenny x

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

