One Layer Wednesday #161 (Fall Colours), Simon Says Stamp Wednesday 9/10 (Use a Stamp)

Tonight I gave myself a choice … make a card for One Layer Wednesday (deadline looming) or get some beauty sleep … doesn’t take much to guess which I chose … after all, I can sleep when I’m really, really, really old!  Cheryl‘s the host this week and she’s asked us to use any theme to show our fall colours.  As I used a stamp, I’m also popping this into Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge (deadline also looming).

OLW 161, SSSW 9-10

Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

The image is from The Alley Way Stamps and it was inked in plenty of different autumn colours before being stamped on watercolour card.  The coloured sections were done with the same Memento inks and a watercolour brush.  I used a Woodware sentiment (well, two really, the ‘a big’ is from one, the ‘thank you’ is from another) … and as soon as I’d done it, I realised it should’ve been stamped with Espresso Truffle and not Tuxedo Black … to my eye, the black’s a touch too bold against the border.   It isn’t so bold that I need to redo it, though!

I’d like to say hello tonight to a new following non blogging friend, Debbie, who’s a scrapbooker as well as a card maker … welcome Debbie and thank you 🙂

I’m off for a tour of blogland before beauty sleep decides it’s had enough of waiting around and starts getting pushy.  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a delight!  Anita 🙂

14 thoughts on “One Layer Wednesday #161 (Fall Colours), Simon Says Stamp Wednesday 9/10 (Use a Stamp)

  1. Ardyth

    Black is always right, in my book – I think it looks great. But I love how stamping onto the watercolour paper actually makes it look like you watercoloured it – well done – a very, very pretty effect! Wonderful OLW card!

    Reply
  2. Bev

    Just stop. This is simply amazing! Perfect stamping in fall ombre colors. Totally love this. And you might need sleep, but the beauty part will never fade. You, and your card, are gorgeous. Sleep well my friend. Bev

    Reply
  3. Geri G

    Awesome stamping dear friend! Not even a wee wobble in any of the images – very, very impressive! Beautiful selection of fall colors, so beautifully water colored…again without any wobbles!

    I think the black sentiment looks just fine – the sequins seem to soften it 🙂

    Reply
  4. Joyce M.

    This is wonderful and so creative. I love the look you achieved with the watercolor, and that repeating image in fall colors is so pretty. The sentiment is perfect, stamped over the image, and I am super impressed with how well you lined everything up.

    Reply
  5. c

    You need beauty sleep? Nope – already absolutely beautiful! Just go with ‘sleep’ – after card-making, of course! So glad you opted for the latter, as this card is ever so pretty! Love the colours, the images, the big sentiment!! FABULOUS!!
    c

    Reply
  6. Kelly Griglione

    I’m so with you, Anita, the whole sleep thing is definitely overrated! Love your sentiment overlapping your design, and think that it looks great (modern) in black. Really fun design!

    Reply
  7. djkardkreations

    What a sweet OLC of thanks, Anita, perfect for this time of the year! I actually think the black is fine because the boldness will make the recipient REALLY feel like he or she has been appreciated!! Hugs, Darnell

    Reply
  8. kimheggins

    First off, I have to say I love your way of thinking! Make cards now and sleep when you are old, this should really be on a stamp, don’t you think? Well, this is one fabulous card and your colors are perfect.

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

