Less is More #141 (Witches, Wizards and Little Monsters One Layer Card)

I made a bit-of-a-fun card for Less is More this week, where Jen and Chrissie have chosen the theme Witches, Wizards and Little Monsters.  The choice was easy for me … I only have one stamp that fits …

LIM 141

Actually this hairy monster’s been a bit masked and doodled … in his usual daytime attire, he sports a crown, holds tight to a balloon and hails from Annabelle Stamps.  To make him a bit more … um … scary (yeh, right), I masked off a square on the card, inked him up, wiped the ink off the crown and stamped him on an angle.  I doodled away at his hand and the ‘boo’ sign he’s grasping, making them hang over the edge of the window, and drew in the frame.  Finally I added Stickles ‘wart’ spots to his T shirt and ran him through a dripping yucky stuff embossing folder.  It’s been suggested that the yucky drippy stuff should really be green and slimy with globules in it to make it truly disgusting … ummm … I erred on the side of discreet suggestion, and chose to ignore this no doubt wise design advice!

I’m off to get this linked (the clock’s ticking), then I’m away for a tour of the blogosphere.  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

17 thoughts on “Less is More #141 (Witches, Wizards and Little Monsters One Layer Card)

  1. c

    Hahahaha…I’m laughing only because your little monster is so adorable, and your tale of how he came to be utterly delightful! The boo sign is the perfect special touch, although hard to take too seriously, given that charming one-toothed grin! Sweetly scary indeed! Winner, winner all the way!!
    c

    Reply
  2. Ann T

    I am so impressed by how you ‘altered’ the Lil Monster stamp, Anita! I too have that stamp, and will never look at him the same again lol! A great take on the challenge – always love seeing your work!

    Reply
  3. Geri G

    Yep…I’m with Carol and calling Winner, Winner on this cute…ooopps….spooky wee guy! You deserve top honors not only because your card is adorable, but for the ingenious way you morphed the crowned balloon man into a sweetly spooky ‘monster’. His tooth really steals the show! Love the gooey drippy stuff – looks great left uncolored so as not to steal the limelight from the cute little ogre!

    Reply
  4. Bev

    I’m with Carol and Geri…winner for sure. Looks like plasma slime (in a good way) dripping down around him. He is just a cutie-patootie. Fun card, and I command you to stay indoors and craft all weekend long! Love this card, my friend.

    Reply
  5. lostinpaper

    Love how your little workshop totally changed up this cute Lil Monster… I had a giggle as I was just wondering what he would look like in a Santa hat lol. ps Your card is adorable!

    Reply
  6. Kylie

    This is my kind of scary card, Anita! The little guy is so adorable. Love the simplicity of the card but, boy, does it pack a visual punch. Love this!

    Reply
  7. sheila77

    Loved reading about how you took away his crown and balloon to make him scary, very amusing. Sorry, little monster, you look mega cute. It’s a lovely little card.

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

