CASology #66 (Pumpkin), CAS(E) this Sketch #50, Dynamic Duos #75 (Deep Orange and Black with Optional Halloween)

Halloween isn’t a big thing here, and it’s never really been a big thing for me either.  However, given that the Cue Card at Casology is Pumpkin, Dynamic Duos have a deep orange/black colour palette with the option of Halloween (my first time joining in), and at CAS(E) this Sketch there’s a Chrissy Larson circular design to try (pumpkins are round!), it seemed a good idea to combine them and and see what happened.  This did (eventually) …

CASology 66, CTS 50, DD 75

                   

Not a stamp in sight … what??  The only pumpkin image I have is a Cricut one from the Stretch Your Imagination cartridge, so I cut one from deep orange card, coloured it with Promarkers to add some dimension (it was flat, flat, flat) and popped some brighter orange behind to light it (also Promarkered).  There’s a circle of black in the background, the panel’s from the same card as the pumpkin and I doodled the ‘bites’ out of the aperture to go with the toothy grin.  The ‘boo’ is Cricut cut and mounted on a strip of black.  I adhered the black circle flat against the card base, popped the pumpkin up on slender dimensionals and popped the top panel on with chunkier ones.

Simple?  Hahaha … not.  I’ve not used my Cricut for a few months and it’s obviously feeling neglected, so it’s throwing a big tantrum.  After lots of crawling about checking cables and connections, and pressing the not-so-easy-to-find reset button I finally got it working … after a fashion.  It now takes over five minutes warm up after being switched on and goes into sleep mode after only about a second and a half (that’s a slight exaggeration but it wasn’t very long … at all).  The upshot is that while this card should’ve been a quick, simple make, it wasn’t, it took up all the time I was going to use to do some emails and make some more cards.  In addition, whilst it’s ok, I don’t really like it that much!  Phew … OK … rant over!!  Now pondering the idea of getting a pumpkin stamp!

I’m off to get dinner started … I’ll be back later for a meander around the blogosphere.  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are, as ever, a joy!  Anita 🙂

18 thoughts on “CASology #66 (Pumpkin), CAS(E) this Sketch #50, Dynamic Duos #75 (Deep Orange and Black with Optional Halloween)

  1. Sandie

    You made me giggle again! I meant to get some cards done but ended up doing none as I playing with my new ipad-how time flies. So no craft time for me, wifey time only!! And back to your card…..love the different shades of orange and fab boo sentiment x

    Reply
  2. Char

    There are lots of good lessons here — adding depth to a flat image (pumpkin), adding the “teeth” to the circle to go with the grin, varying the size of the pop-ups etc. So much to learn in a cute-as-heck card!

    Reply
  3. Rosemary D

    well you hit it out of the park with this one, anita! you have once, again, flawlessly combined multiple challenges into one amazing card… so glad you were able to play along with CASology this week!

    Reply
  4. Ardyth

    Those eyes make me laugh! They’re so crazy! Great shading on the pumpkin and a fantastic combination of these challenges! Thanks for joining us at CASology this week!

    Reply
  5. Bev

    Excuse me, but this is marvelous!!!!!! I love the sweet little pumpkin. No need for stamps whatsoever. It’s that you like what you’ve made…and judging by the comments ahead of me, it’s a winner!!! So sorry about your Cricut….hate it when stuff like that happens. This card was worth the wait though.

    Reply
  6. c

    Well, I’m with the others who think this is one delightful card! Your pumpkin with its swirly eyes is darling! My apologies but I a couple of giggles snuck out while reading about your Cricut woes! I’m a Cuttlebug user (with a Big Shot waiting to be opened…soon…once I have some space cleared off on the kitchen counter…need a craft room!!) so my ‘technology is pretty basic, however, we have our issues, too….like bent-ish plates! Oh well, when we’re challenged with the challenges, it makes the outcome all the more rewarding…usually! Great card; great post!!
    c

    Reply
  7. Geri G

    ….for a girl who doesn’t do Halloween….you sure rocked it with this card!

    Seriously…those ‘aperture bites’ are hand doodled? WOW – you really do need to start designing stamps! The bites work well to showcase Mr. Pumpkin’s tooth! Fabulous shading, gorgeous textured paper! The thin black stripe balances your design perfectly!

    ….winner, winner !

    Reply
  8. Jenny M

    My Cricut expression sits gathering dust and I’m pretty sure it doesn’t like it either!!! The pumpkin looks great you’ve made him look very 3D :0) Not a halloweenie here either…. never have liked it!!
    Jenny x

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

