CASology #68 (Black), Simon Says Stamp Wednesday 30/10, Simon Says Stamp Monday 28/10

I’m playing along with the very cool Cue Card at CASology this week … Black … how dramatic!  Also, Simon Says Stamp Monday and Simon Says Stamp Wednesday have Anything Goes as their themes at the moment, so I’m joining in at each of them too …

CASology 68, SSSM 28-10, SSSW 30-10

          Simon Monday Challenge Blog          Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

I can claim no credit whatsoever for this design … because it’s the entire set of Square Prints from PTI.  I tried stamping onto plain card, but the images came out a bit flat, so this is linen textured card … it gave a bit of shadow and dimension.  I took the easy route to get the stamping done … marked up the three rows of squares in pencil on the base panel, lined up each row of stamps on my mat, picked them up with an acrylic block, inked and stamped.   The sentiment is from Simon Says Stamp and the tiny clear gem acts as a spotlight to highlight it.

Sounds as though I was cool, calm and collected doesn’t it ?  Ha … as if.  After the couple-of-forests-in-the-paper-bin experience the other night, the closer I got to finishing this, the more of a wreck I became … you know how it is (at least I hope you do, otherwise that means it’s just me) … the more you get done, the less you want something to splodge, squidge or otherwise ruin a card.  Thankfully, it didn’t (splodge or squidge) and once it was all done, and I’d had a large glass of wine lie down in a darkened room for a while, the old heart beat resumed it’s normal rhythm and now I’m perfectly normal.  Yep, perfectly normal.

I’m off to bed … probably p’raps as well.  Thanks so much for coming by … you should know how much I appreciate your visits and your wonderfully encouraging comments … you’re amazing!  Anita 🙂

20 thoughts on “CASology #68 (Black), Simon Says Stamp Wednesday 30/10, Simon Says Stamp Monday 28/10

  1. Joyce M.

    This is so striking. I am amazed. Couldn’t figure out how you would know exactly where to place things, and then I read that you used the entire set. Fab idea–should be a new challenge–use every stamp in a set on one card!!

    Reply
  2. Geri G

    I’m soooo sure that every stamper out there will be nodding their head in agreement and will likely experience an increased heart rate and sweaty palms just by reading your post! A light headed feeling follows shortly after from holding your breath far too long as the last row of images are stamped! I think the condition is referred to as SISA…self induced stamping anxiety!

    AMAZING card Anita! Love the look of the black ink on the linen card stock! Amazing images! And how very, VERY clever to line the stamps up on the paper, then to the block, then to the paper!

    Yep….I’m calling it again….Winner, Winner for this stunning graphic display of precision stamping!

    Reply
  3. Sandie

    I like the shadow effect Anita. And how you popped the sentiment in one of the squares. I have this set but it rarely gets used as I am never too sure what to do with it! Have a good weekend x

    Reply
  4. Ardyth

    This is so flippin’ clever! What a great way to use those stamps! Thanks so much for playing along with us at CASology this week, Anita!

    Reply
  5. c

    WOW! Everything about this card is brilliant, from your decision to use an entire stamp set, to the precision of your stamps, to the ‘gem-notice’ of the sentiment! Sheer brilliance! And to think you accomplished this graphic work of art with but a small episode of SISA (Geri’s just toooo clever!), and a controlled FWOT (forest worth of trees) paper sent to the recycle. Now I’m inspired to scope out my stamps to see who’s up for a full-stage card creation! Winner, winner – and most marvelous inspiration for all!! Hugs, c

    Reply
  6. baileyrosy

    Well I too am nodding my head with agreement which is why I always have a large glass of something or other close by specifically for these situations. Fabulous graphic card Anita and very clever indeed.

    Marie

    Reply
  7. maria f.

    Yep, SISA. The pulse races as you think “just let me get the last row right”. Or in my case it’s usually the sentiment after everything else is done. Ugh. Your result is so perfect. Great take on the “black” cue word.

    Reply
  8. kimheggins

    Anita…this is one amazing black card! I love all the fabulous images you used, so striking and bold. Love it!

    Reply
  9. LOLI

    Hola Anita great graphic card but i think has been very stresfull to make it but the result is fantastic, godd work!!! Anita.
    A warm hug from Palma

    Reply
  10. Skye

    Wow!!! Just love it! Quite Art Deco-ish. I don’t care that it is a set, you still had to ink it up, line it up and add the sentiment. Any number of things can happen along the way. Terrific card.

    Reply
  11. Bev

    Hey there! Great card…I love this set! I have it but don’t pull it out as often as I should. You’ve used it in such a creative and imaginative way. I can’t even begin to imagine lining all these up as perfectly as you’ve done! And all in black and white where every teensy bit shows! Fait accompli, my friend! Well done. Love this. And btw, ykw means You Know What and I use that acronym for my migraines. Later dudette!

    Reply
  12. Susanne V.

    Love this card and can’t believe how perfectly you stamped them all! I had to chuckle when I read your post on how you did it and am glad that you are back to normal 😉
    This set has been on my wishlist forever… Thanks for showing my a great way to use it!

    Reply
  13. sheila77

    This looks as if it would be thoroughly nerve-wracking to make, and often it is the last little bit that goes wrong. Top stamping marks for this intriguing card!

    Reply
  14. Bahb

    This looks like a Frank Lloyd Wright creation and makes my hands sweat just THINKING about what tension it would be to get 15 stamps all perfectly inked and lined up and stamped. What an enormous challenge. And you did it so perfectly! WINNER card for sure.

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

