OLW #165 (Holiday Cards – No Red/Green), CASology #70 (Triangle), Waltzingmouse Fanatics #5 (Storm Colours), SSSW 6/11 (Keep it CAS), SSSM (Got Ink?)11/11

I’m starting with a big THANK YOU tonight … to Kimberley for choosing this card as the winner at  CASology yesterday … I’m sooo honoured and thrilled … thank you so much!  Thank you also to everyone for all your encouraging words afterwards … I truly appreciate it!  🙂

My card is for a truckload of challenges.  It started off with One Layer Wednesday, where uber talented Ardyth is the host this week and has asked for holiday cards without red or green.  Then I found a new-ish challenge for fans of Waltzingmouse Stamps (separate from Claire’s blog and with her blessing) called Waltzingmouse Fanatics, where there’s a ‘Storm Colours’ theme.  If you’re a WMS fan, and you haven’t been over there yet, do pop in for a visit … and maybe play along … there’s still a little time left.  The new CASology cue card was released today (Triangle) … and as my mega talented and sweet friend Geri from Manitoba Stamper is the GD, I couldn’t possibly miss it (and so soon too … it’s not even Saturday!).  I’m squeezing in my final entry to Simon Says Stamp Wednesday (Keep it CAS) before it closes in a few hours and last but not least, I’m linking up at Simon Says Stamp Monday for the Got Ink? challenge.  Phew!  Here, at last after all that, is my card …

OLW165, WMF 5, CASology 70, SSSW 6-11, SSSM 11-11

         

Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog         Simon Monday Challenge Blog

The images and sentiment are all WMS.  I stamped the (triangular … ish) trees and the garlands over them in silver, masking off where needed.  Then the sweeping stars were stamped using the same garlands stamp and a mask, and all the silver was embossed to give it shine and sparkle.  I added the greeting and finished off with a couple of scored lines to ‘ground’ the trees.  Now I look at it, maybe the sweeping stars on the left should’ve been further down, it would’ve been more balanced.  What d’you think?

Time for bed (doesn’t that come round just too quickly!) … thanks so much for calling by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

22 thoughts on “OLW #165 (Holiday Cards – No Red/Green), CASology #70 (Triangle), Waltzingmouse Fanatics #5 (Storm Colours), SSSW 6/11 (Keep it CAS), SSSM (Got Ink?)11/11

  1. Barbara Roe

    Congrats on your last win the lovely brown snowflake and I guess another congrats on this delightful Christmas tree(s) and shiny stars. Does it sound corny to say, “you rock.”

    Reply
  2. Joyce M.

    I spot another winner here. Congrats on your previous win. This card is just fabulous, and I think that everything is perfectly placed (even the stars on the left).

    Reply
  3. Bev

    This looks magical! The garland reminds me of fairy dust. I love this. Girl you are on a serious beautiful card roll. Love those colors and very cool paper too. : )

    Reply
  4. Kim Heggins

    Oh my…I agree with Joyce! This is one stunning card Anita, you are one amazing stamper. I am sooooooo very happy that I already own this set as well, because I will be making one just like it, this is simply fabulous!

    Reply
  5. Andrea Ockey Parr

    What an amazing card! It evokes that traditional holiday spirit, yet it is completely fresh and modern! I’ve never seen anything quite like it and absolutely love the stars swirling through the trees. Really brilliant and the images pop so beautifully against the simple white textured background. Thank you for inspiring me to look outside the box a little bit more when it comes to Christmas cards. I’m so glad you shared this with us here at the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge blog!

    Reply
  6. Shirley-bee

    Fabulous, Anita! I love the swooshes of stars, and I like how you did two separate score lines for the trees. I’m off to check out Waltzingmouse Fanatics, it’s a new one on me.

    Reply
  7. Geri G

    First of all, thanks for the sweet compliment 🙂

    Next, I think the stars on the left are perfect…they are sweeping down from the heavens above to dress the pretty triangle-ish trees up with sparkle and Christmas cheer! I’m also seeing the results of some super duper masking! Cutting around the stars to create the mask could be a whole challenge in itself! And yes, the two scored lines totally ground the images! Yep, winner, winner….

    Reply
  8. Melissa

    This card has such a magical feeling to it, Anita! I love how you staggered the trees AND the scored lines! Such attention to detail on this! It’s beautiful!
    Thanks so much for joining us at CASology this week! 🙂

    Reply
  9. c

    Before I launch into accolades of how awesome this card is: congrats on your win! (Do I get to say told you so?) Now this one: beautiful! The cascades of stars are dreamy, and the trees (yes, triangular!). are lovely in their shades of blue. The scoreline and sentiment: perfect. Yes, I’ll echo the others: winner, winner! You and cas = magic!!
    c

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

