Muse #43 (Therese Calvird), Simon Says Stamp Monday 11/11 (Got Ink?)

I’m playing along at Muse tonight, where the lovely Therese has given us our inspiration this week … a fabulous cascade of tumbling snowflakes in an array of lilac, lavender and purple … just delicious … see below.  I don’t often use these colours, so it was a great opportunity to tinker about with them … that’s what challenges are for, right?  I’m also playing along with Simon Says Stamp Monday, where we need to use ink in some way … I used it stamping.

Muse 43, SSSM 11-11

                   Simon Monday Challenge Blog

The snowflakes and sentiment are from Uniko Studio … more of my happy package following the October Blog Hop.  I really, really wanted to use one of the the snowflake dies … but as I don’t have a C plate for my Cuttlebug (never used it for cutting), there was nothing for it but to get inventive.  One very slim chopping board and two layers of chipboard later (that’s the abridged version … there were tons of some other less successful experiments), I managed to cut two snowflakes … oh joy!

I used one of those precious snowflakes, embossed in holographic EP on top of silver EP and popped up on deep foam dots.  The other two snowflakes were stamped and twinkled with a Wink of Stella,  one direct to the card and one trimmed out and popped up on shallow foam dots.   All three have a colour matched centre bling.  The sentiment’s double stamped … once to match the darker snowflake, once in Versamark to get it holographically embossed and sparkly.

My learning point from this evening’s card making?  I need to get a C plate!   Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments make my day!  Anita 🙂

20 thoughts on “Muse #43 (Therese Calvird), Simon Says Stamp Monday 11/11 (Got Ink?)

  1. Geri G

    Are you kidding me? You ‘trimmed out’ a snowflake? WOW!!! Impressive snipping skills!

    Beautiful colors! The holographic EP seems to pick up the purple from the card base! Love the simplicity of your design and LOVE the sentiment!!!

    ….yep, winner, winner…..

    Reply
  2. Benzi

    Oh, you really did get inventive to cut out those snowflakes. That’s great you could do that. Your card is soooooo pretty and I love the CAS design.

    Reply
    1. c

      Gorgeous card, Anita, and made all the more impressive that you accomplished this sans a C plate! WOW! I agree though: get that C plate! Without my cuttlebug, I would be lost. LOST! Once you have that plate, oh, my…the ‘must have dies’ desire will click in and, well…I’ve given up exercising restraint! I’m sure you’ll be more pragmatic than I am (but dies are so much fun!). LOVE your card; stunning flakes, pretty colours, and the oh-so-darling sentiment. BTW, I won a gift certificate from Uniko: any suggestions on a ‘must have’ based on your winnings? Excited for your reviews! Hugs!
      c

      Reply
  3. sandie

    wow Anita, that is a very inventive way to make up for not having a C plate and it gave me a giggle! I think purple is fab for Xmas and your card is a stunner!

    Reply
  4. tracy745

    Lovely cards, the snowflakes are very eye catching and I love the CAS design and fresh colour palette. Thanks so much for joining in the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. Tracy x

    Reply
  5. shirley-bee

    Very resourceful, Anita! Is that as a result of all the DIY and renovation work (which always requires resourcefulness in my limited experience!)? Love the holographic sparkle too.

    Reply
  6. Ardyth

    That arrangement of 3 snowflakes is exactly what I was trying to come up with earlier this week – this is wonderful! Thanks for playing along with us at Muse this week!

    Reply
  7. kimheggins

    This is beautiful Anita…love the purple and silver snowflakes, love it when non-traditional colors are used for holiday cards and yours is fabulous!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

