Make It Monday #146 (Angled Backgrounds), Color Throwdown #273 (Turquoise, Slate, White, Grey), SSS Wednesday 1/1(Something New)

I might as well admit it now … I’m waaaaaaayyyyy out of my comfort zone.  I’ve used DP again (yes, I know … do something challenging every day) … there’s more on this one card than I probably used in the whole of 2013.  You have no idea how much admiration I have for those of you who regularly do this to wonderful effect … bowing … very low.  Anyway, my card …

MIM 146, CT 273, SSSW 1-1

Why did I put myself through this?  It’s for a challenge (really?) … specifically Papertrey Ink’s Make It Monday … well that’s what challenges are for isn’t it … stretching us?  The colour palette’s from Color Throwdown … it’s my first time playing along (although I’ve been Feedly following for a while), and because it’s a new thing for me, I can also join in at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday again for their Something New week.

I mostly followed Ashley’s video at Make It Monday to put my card together … except I allowed my neat freak tendancies to make an appearance and cut the DP precisely, so each piece could be underlined with fine black liner as it was adhered, to define the edges.  I was inspired to do the edging after seeing my super talented friend Kim’s card for the same challenge a few days ago … she edged each piece of DP with the same polka dot paper and it looked fantastic … thanks Kim for the inspiration!  Once the DP panel was done, I trimmed it, cut a flag to fit inside one of the slices, stamped it with a Papertrey Ink sentiment (Sketched Shapes) and popped it up on foam dots.  The panel was adhered to the card base and I edged it with black fine liner.   Oh, and just so as you know, the photo shows the turquoise as a bit blue … I’d fix it if I knew how …

I’d like to say a very warm welcome to a couple of new followers … Therese from Lost in Paper and Carina from Carina’s Crafts.  You know Therese (unless you’ve been wandering round a different universe) … she’s awesome … videos, tutorials, expertise galore … if you haven’t been for a visit … GO!  Carina’s blog is completely chock-a-block full of inspiration … cards, tasty treats, gorgeous stitched goodies … have a wander, you’ll see what I mean … mouthwatering!  Welcome, ladies, I’m delighted you’re here 🙂

That’s it from me for the weekend … I do hope your’s was a wonderful one.  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

                    Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

23 thoughts on “Make It Monday #146 (Angled Backgrounds), Color Throwdown #273 (Turquoise, Slate, White, Grey), SSS Wednesday 1/1(Something New)

  1. Geri G

    Wow – some mighty fine stepping into new territory dear friend! This looks awesome!

    I love the edging that you did – your lines are so perfectly drawn! And yes, I agree, Kim’s card is fabulous with the polka dots. Nice touch flipping the direction of the blue zig-zaggy paper. Great choice of sentiment…perfectly stamped and looking great popped up on your card!

    Reply
  2. lostinpaper

    Anita, You totally rocked this style! See I thought that patterned paper was just to look at and admire, am I meant to actually use it? (wink)
    ps I love stopping by to see what fun you’ve been up to and I just want to say thanks so much for the lovely shout out,

    Reply
  3. serendipitydragonfly

    Wow Anita – you are way braver than I am. The effect you’ve achieved is amazing and I’m loving those cool blues and greys…..fabulous.

    Karen x

    Reply
  4. Bev

    From what I’m seeing here, Anita, you need to use dp more often! This is fantastic! Your neat-freak-perfection-seeking tendencies are met fully and completely in this card. Totally and fully in love with this one!!!! Absolutely wonderful. Yeah!!!!

    Reply
  5. Rosemary D

    love your precise take on the challenge, anita! love the muted blues and greys!! i must admit that the neat freak in me wanted to be very precise, too, lol!!

    Reply
  6. Lori

    So pretty! You did a great job mixing all of those different patterns! Thanks for joining us at the Color Throwdown! Hope we’ll see you again soon.

    Reply
  7. c

    Wow! Moving beyond your comfort zone is something you’ve accomplished with flair and pizzazz here! Papers, combinations, angles (I could soooo not do this layout whatsoever!) are simply fabulous! Love this – and love the adventure of creating it that you shared! Another visit and another day brightened! Thank you, my friend! Hugs~c

    Reply
  8. Mau xx

    Hi Anita, Found you via Sylvia’s Blog…I came for a nosey around :o) Have decided to stay xxx
    Gorgeous cards, I love the one with the feathers on it…oh! yes I had a good look down at your posts…lol
    This is Beautiful btw and I can see how much work went into it.
    Hugs Mau xx

    Reply
  9. Sav O'G

    I love that you stepped out of your comfort zone! These papers are fab– and I LOVE the triangle/diag design! FUN! LOVE LOVE LOVE 🙂

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and leaving some love ❤ You made my day! Hugs ❤

    Reply
  10. kimheggins

    Anita…you are so funny! Congrats for pulling out the patterned paper and you did amazing things with it too. I am guessing you will pull this stuff out more often because you totally rocked this challenge!

    Reply
  11. Stephanie Wincott

    Hi Anita, Love your card, such a great design! Thank you very much for your lovely comment on my blog – you have won my little giveaway so please send me an email to claim it when you have a spare moment 🙂 Thanks! Stephanie x

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

