Little Tangles #28 (Saying Hello), Colour Me! #2 (Melon Mambo, Marine Mist, Neutral), One Layer Simplicity #1 (Restocking The Shelves), SSS Monday 6/1 (Blues)

As with the last card, I pushed another boundary here as these colours aren’t my usual mix (although I’m quite liking it now it’s done).

LT 28, CM 2, OLS 1, SSSM 6-1

I was lucky enough to win a Neat & Tangled border set recently (thanks, Danielle), so I’ve inked it up for the first time today, playing at Little TanglesColour Me! has provided the colours, it’s a one layer card so I’m linking up at the ever growing and full of inspiration One Layer Simplicity, and as Simon Says Stamp Monday has a blue theme this week, I’m joining in there too.

Looking at my card, I bet you’d never have guessed that I’ve been following plaid maestro of them all, the amazing Laura Bassen for a few weeks, would you?  I know, it’s a shock … have a lie down for a while if you need it.  Anyway, I found a tutorial Laura did for Ellen Hutson’s Classroom (here) and thought I’d try it (in a limited way given that we’re playing with two colours).

Now, my Memento equivalent of Marine Mist and Melon Mambo are great colours … they’re just not ones that I’ve used much together … so my focus was on the blue shade, with just a highlighting line of the pink, once the base stripes had been oh-so-carefully stamped.  The sentiment’s from Annabelle Stamps … well it’s two really, with a bit of masking to make them one.  I had a hankering to add bling …and tried valiantly.  However, not being able to make it work, I recalled some wise advice of my dear friend and card maker extra-ordinaire, Geri at Manitoba Stamper, to ‘step away from the card’ in cases such as this.  So I did … it’s unadorned.

I’m off to spend some happy time checking out what everyone else has been up to.  Hope you’ve had a wonderful weekend … and for those of you in the depths of the big freeze, take care to keep snug and toasty warm … maybe even in your craft space!  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

                    Simon Monday Challenge Blog

33 thoughts on “Little Tangles #28 (Saying Hello), Colour Me! #2 (Melon Mambo, Marine Mist, Neutral), One Layer Simplicity #1 (Restocking The Shelves), SSS Monday 6/1 (Blues)

  1. Ardyth

    Love this – I feel like it’s an idea that’s been done before, but you’ve made it new by using that thin line and that fab sentiment! No bling required! Thanks for joining us at OLS!

    Reply
  2. Geri G

    The card is absolutely stunning! I’m so glad that you remembered my words! I can totally see how bling just would not work with this masterpiece of flawless stamping!

    I am in awe of the absolute precision in your technique. The lines are PERFECTLY straight! Not an easy task to get the acrylic stamp so perfectly straight on the stamping block! Beautiful colors – love the pink line!

    The paper provides beautiful texture to the images & sentiment! So nice to see that you moved away from the expected straight line sentiment and tucked the “you” within the design with brilliant results!

    Yep….without a doubt a Winner!!!

    Reply
  3. serendipitydragonfly

    Wow Anita – this is fabulous. Loving the stripes and that great sentiment. Not easy stamping onto linen cardstock and getting such a beautifulfinish.

    Karen x

    Reply
  4. Hayley Kew

    LOVE the textured paper, so super cool for a CAS card 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing with us this week at Colour Me…!, we sure hope to see you back again soon!!!

    Reply
  5. danscraftylife

    Great card, I love the simplicity of the design and the fact that it works so well! Thanks for joining us for this week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

    Reply
  6. Joyce M.

    I love everything about this card. It is flawlessly stamped, fabulously designed–love the little bit of plaid and those long lean lines. The tilt and the sentiment, too.

    Reply
  7. Jenny M

    Hi Anita, jumping into your blog at this post and what a gorgeous card!! those colours and stripes remind me of vintage bed linen…your stamping is so neat, definitely no bling needed :0)

    Reply
  8. shirley-bee

    Wow, this is frighteningly precise, Anita! Did you hold your breath while you were stamping the lines? It’s another fabulous male card, such a crisp design, reminds me of the pattern on a man’s hankie.

    Reply
  9. c

    Your perfectly executed plaid (love that thin line of pink) Hello is excellent as is! I’m continually amazed at your stamping skills, especially with those that run the full length of a card. I tried to use my On the Strip N&T stamp and nope…I wound up using a section that cooperated, and another mini card resulted. Hmmm…maybe a bigger acrylic block would help (because my largest is only 3 x 3. You think?). Awesome, plus!!
    c

    Reply
  10. Betty J.

    Really cool CAS card and I love the triangles you create with the stripes. Thanks for playing along with us in the Little Tangels challenge and hope to see you again.

    Reply
  11. Bev

    I LOVE this! Plaids. Adore them, can’t make them. How did you get this so straight????!!!! I’d have used up a whole ream of paper, and it still would have been crooked. Beautiful color palette. Perfectly placed sentiment. Ya know, this whole design, heck this whole card is perfect. Not just a home-run, but a Grand Slam!! (can you tell I really, really love this?!) : )

    Reply
  12. djkardkreations

    Congratulations on yet another winning card, Anita! You have given our friend Ardyth a run for her money in the very clean and graphic way you have designed your striking card! Enjoy the weekend!! Hugs, Darnell

    Reply
  13. Susan Raihala

    Anita, this is AMAZING!!!!! I adore the right angles and perfect spacing here. What a steady hand that takes, and you pulled it off flawlessly! Thanks so much for playing the One-Layer Simplicity challenge.

    Reply
  14. kimheggins

    Now this is what I can stamping perfection Anita…simply perfection. You have a very steady hand too, right. I know I would have messed this up in an instant but this could be printed paper it is just gorgeous…

    Reply
  15. Susanne V.

    Just saw this amazing card at the One-Layer-Challenge! How did you manage to stamp those lines so perfectly? You didn’t mention how many tries it took you! What a cool card! The thin lines within the lines and the greeting partly on one line… Wow!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

