CASology #80 (Purple), Keep it Simple #32 (Square), Annabelle Stamps #175 (Sketch)

This is my first post for a fortnight … life just took on a … um, well … life of it’s own … and meant that card making and blogging needed to take a back seat.  I’ve been doing my very best to keep up with goings on in the blogosphere, but haven’t been as frequent a visitor and commenter as usual.  Sorry.  Looking forward to resuming normal service (me … normal … hahahahaha!)  with this …

CASology 80, KIS 32, AS 175

So, can you guess it’s for CASology‘s Purple Cue Card??  I was also inspired by Keep It Simple‘s Square challenge and by the sketch at Annabelle Stamps this month.  Just so as you know upfront, I’m not a great purple person … I appreciate what others do with it, but it’s not really a colour I reach for much … hence the challenge of it all.

Here, there’s a bit of experimentation going on … a colour washed background panel and the Annabelle flower silhouettes stamped numerous times in three different colours to see what that would do for perspective.   The panel’s popped up on a square of purple vellum (why that’s in my stash I don’t know) that’s adhered to the card base and the Annabelle sentiment’s stamped with Memento’s Grape Jelly.  It was going to be ‘dressed’ … however, after exhaustive test runs with gems, twine, pearls, sequins and every other small embellishment imaginable, that idea was abandoned … the sihouette panel was left to take the limelight … and I passed a loooooong time putting everything away again.

Thanks so much to everyone who visited and left me a comment on my last card … it warmed my heart!  D’you know that after discussing the matter quite extensively, those little birds still couldn’t agree on a sentiment … so I simply wrote my message on the inside and sent them merrily on their way.  I know they’ve arrived safely and are happily installed in their new home across the Atlantic.  I’m hoping they’re behaving themselves … naturally.

I’m off to be inspired by what everyone else has been creating.  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

        

19 thoughts on “CASology #80 (Purple), Keep it Simple #32 (Square), Annabelle Stamps #175 (Sketch)

  1. Sandie

    Hello my friend, so glad to have you back and the fact it is with a purple card, warms my heart!! Purple vellum, never seen it but love it and this little gem of a card didn’t need dressing! The multiple stamping of the flower really gives dimension x

    Reply
  2. baileyrosy

    As for as I’m concerned your purple explosion is absolutely fabulous and no bling required at all. Its stands proud in all its purple glory. Glad your birdies have arrived safely

    Take care

    Marie

    Reply
  3. Ardyth

    Love how you’ve used the different shades of purple here – so rich and full of depth! Thanks for joining us at CASology this week!

    Reply
  4. Joyce M.

    This is absolutely beautiful. I love the panel you created with all those beautiful shades of purple. Yay for overcoming your purple fear to play along with CASology.

    Reply
  5. shirley-bee

    Love how you’ve layered the images and used different shades to create depth. Purple seems to be a love or hate colour, but you’ve done a great job considering it’s not one of your fave colours!

    Reply
  6. Bev

    You’ve conquered the purple challenge, and have come away victorious! Gorgeous and amazing. Adore those tulips, and totally love that sentiment too! As Geri would say, “winner, winner….” : )

    Reply
  7. wienerhoneymooners

    I Love this shaded gradation of purple with blooms! LOVE IT, lovely and perfect exactly the way it is!!! Rich and lovely! Thanks for joining us at CASology Anita!!!

    Reply
  8. kimheggins

    Wow…for your card taking on a life of it’s own, it is one amazing life if you ask me. This is one stunning card and another sure winner in my book. I love it and hope to see you a bit more often too…I do understand how life can get in the way of fun, so it is nice to see you back.

    Reply
  9. Geri G

    You sure do know how to do purple up in a fine, FINE way! It is definitely a tough color to work with, but you made it come to life in this stunning card! The stamped flowers look amazing against the beautiful color washed ‘sunset’ sky! Love that sentiment stamp… it really does look great stamped in purple!!!

    Yep….I’m in total agreement with Bev….winner, winner….

    ..now seriously…purple velum?

    Reply
  10. c

    Your gradient (is that the word? or ombre? or light-to-dark shades) purple garden is GORGEOUS! You’ve worked magic with this colour, those stamps, that layout. Va va voom!!
    c

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

