Paper Smooches SPARKS (February Picture Perfect), Little Tangles #30 (Celebrate Love), SSS Work It Wednesday #1 (Something New), SSS Monday 10/2 (We Love Stamps)

Both Jennifer McGuire and Amber Kemp-Gerstel have featured glitter in a big way on their designs recently.  I don’t generally use a lot, p’raps the odd sprinkle here and there, maybe a little Stickles every so often … until today …

PSS 9-2, Little Tangles 30, SSS-WIW 1, SSSM 10-2

I’m playing with Paper Smooches SPARKS Picture Perfect challenge (see the fab heart inspiration below) as well as Neat and Tangled’s Little Tangles Celebrate Love theme (although no N&T goodies make an appearance here … see later). This is my second entry at Simon Says Stamp’s Work It Wednesday, where we’ve to use something new (the glittering technique), and is another submission for We Love Stamps at Simon Says Stamp Monday.

This plain white heart was found lurking at the back of my desk (a nice surprise … thought they’d all been used up).  I covered it in double sided tape, took off every third backing strip and liberally sprinkled and squashed glitter over the sticky surface … first in gold, then bright pink, finally light pink.  Mulling ensued.  The heart looked naked on it’s own on the card, even popped up … so I made a plain chunky frame with a couple of layers of chipboard and one of grey cardstock (that’s the short version … I spent hours a little while experimenting and making a mess.)  The PS sentiment was stamped first, the frame was adhered and then the heart went inside.  I tried very hard to use some N&T sequins … for a looooong time … it didn’t work.  Well, I realised rather late in the day … it wouldn’t would it, all that glitteriness was more than enough … anything more would be overkill!  So, it’s plain … apart from the sparkle, that is.

Now, a touch of tidying before bed, I think … my desk’s under there somewhere!  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a delight!  Anita 🙂

                    Simon Monday Challenge Blog

          workitwedbanner

23 thoughts on “Paper Smooches SPARKS (February Picture Perfect), Little Tangles #30 (Celebrate Love), SSS Work It Wednesday #1 (Something New), SSS Monday 10/2 (We Love Stamps)

  1. Nora

    This is so pretty!! I love how you did the heart in a stripe. I think this technique would take me hours…just to clean up!! I want to try it, though, because I love the look!!
    Nora

    Reply
  2. c

    Your sparkly, striped heart, nestled in its frame (I sooo hear you about the ‘hours’ spent) is just an absolute delight! So pretty! I think you should add it to Just Add Ink, where stripes are the current challenge. Fabulous, sweet and, again, a day-brightening smile-maker! I have a whole bunch of posting to do…so much for “make-pic-post.” Organized? Not *grin*Hugs~c

    Reply
  3. Geri G

    This was sooooooo worth the time spent and mess created cuz it is fabulous….especially the chunky frame, which is an awesome way to showcase the bedazzled heart! A nice tidy little sentiment is the perfect way to finish off this clean & graphic design (which likely can be another entry into the CCC Monochromatic Pink challenge!). Sa-weet card dear friend!

    Reply
  4. michellezerull

    Anita, I personally LOVE glitter. It’s cards like yours that make me giddy. This is gorgeous! Thank you for sharing your card with us for the Simon Says Stamp Monday challenge. ~Michelle

    Reply
  5. Petra

    Love your glittery heart, Anita!!! Your ‘plain’ card turned out beautifully!! The frame is perfect and so is the sentiment – and yes, anything extra would have been an overkill!! LOL!! I know the feeling of sitting with a card (for hours!!) and it just does not want to work (and then having to find your desk afterwards and clean up the mess before you can go to bed!!! -and settling for the ‘plain’ version!!)
    I really enjoy your blog – you’ve got such a lovely, cheerful way to tell the stories of your cards – brings a smile to my face everytime!!
    Have a super Tuesday!!

    Reply
  6. savannahland2

    OHHH! I LOVE LOVE LOVE that glittered heart! What a fun card! THANKS so much for joining in the fun and playing along with us over at the Paper Smooches SPARKS challenge!! Hope you join in the fun again this week (Anything Goes)!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

