A Happy Birthday to Kim, Colour Me #12 (Subtle), Fusion #6

One of the sweetest souls in the blogging world is celebrating a birthday today … so this is for you, Kim … ultra talented card maker, soup supremo extraordinaire, chef de gateaux formidable, and all round delightful friend.  If you don’t know Kim already, either you’re a newbie in blogland, or you’ve been living in an alternative universe … go visit … and soak up all the gorgeousness that is Cupcakes, Cards and Kim!

Happy Birthday Kim, CMCC 12, Fusion 6I colour washed a watercolour card panel with three colours of Memento inks and put it aside to dry.  The Clearly Besotted stems were stamped onto vellum and embossed in white.  I made a slit at each end of the colour washing, inserted the vellum and adhered it on the inside.  A touch of bling to match the watercolouring, along with the Clearly Besotted sentiment finished off the panel, which was popped up  with foam tape onto the card base.

As I was inspired by the colours at Colour Me (Pear Pizazz, Soft Sky, Coastal Cabana), and by the sketch at Fusion  (turned on it’s side), where it’s my first time playing along, I’m joining in with both.

Happy, Happy Birthday once again, Kim … hope you have a day as special as you are!

Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

         

31 thoughts on “A Happy Birthday to Kim, Colour Me #12 (Subtle), Fusion #6

  1. Susanne V.

    Oh my, Anita, my jaw literally dropped to the floor when I saw this card! Not only do I love the watercolored background and the delicate flowers on the vellum but the way you “attached” the vellum is simply brilliant! I love vellum but the question is always how do you attach it so that no glue is showing! This card is a total winner in my book! I could go on and on but I am going to stop now…

    Reply
  2. wienerhoneymooners

    OH MY Goodddd NESS! So lovely! A DREAM…I love this so much….I saw KIm, and my heart skipped a beat, I knew all along it was for Kim’s and Cupcakes, but I can dream
    LOL!!!!!
    Love this Anita!

    Reply
  3. Joyce M.

    This is just gorgeous. I love your technique, and that soft and dreamy look you have achieved. I’m pinning this one for sure. And, I must say that I agree with everything nice you said about Kim.

    Reply
  4. Geri G

    OMG…this is gorgeous Anita!!! The effect of the embossed flowers on velum creates such a beautiful dreamy look! Great placement of the sentiment too! Gorgeous water colored background (love how it extends above and below the velum panel) and BEYOND CLEVER technique for attaching the velum! Brains, beauty & talent…you got it all girl friend!

    Reply
  5. djkardkreations

    I think my brain froze. This is now my favorite card you’ve made, Anita, and the fact that you made it for my sweet friend Kim makes it even more special!! She will be over the moon!! She is everything you said, and more!! Love, love, love and so pinning!! Hugs, Darnell

    Reply
  6. Loll

    Wow … fabulous card. So creative and unique. Love the colors of your wash and your beautiful white embossed blooms on the vellum. Everything about this is amazing. Loll xx

    Reply
  7. Katie Melhus

    Herrmmm.. someone is up far too late commenting (that’s me!) I should say that I’m glad you’re playing along at Colour Me…! since you really rocked these colors out, Anita! 🙂

    Reply
  8. Cathy R

    HI Anita, love the background wash of colour and the way you adhered the vellum is genius, beautiful card, Cathy x

    Reply
  9. serendipitydragonfly

    Oh Anita, this is beautiful. I love the subtle colourwash and the white embossing on the vellum. Stunning and another one to CAS(e)!

    Hugs.

    Karen xxx

    Reply
  10. Rosemary D

    soft, dreamy and oh so yummy, anita!! gorgeous take on the colour me! comb, my friend!! so happy to see you playing along with us this week!

    Reply
  11. kimheggins

    Anita…you are just the best! First, thank you so much for all you sweet and kinds words, you are the BEST! and second…your card is simply stunning…I love it and your sweet flowers are just gorgeous! Thank you so much again, now if I only had a photo of me reading your blog I could use that for this week’s cue card over at CASology “Blush”. Thank you again my sweet friend!

    Reply
  12. Shona Chambers

    Wow, wow, wow!! This is so beautiful and I bet Kim would love it!! Making the slits at the sides was a such a brilliant idea, I wondered how the vellum was sitting there. I follow Kim’s blog and she leaves me such fantastic and funny comments. Have never seen the ‘Colour Me’ challenge before and love those colours (especially the way you have put them on your card). And I bet your loving all your birthday cards too! You are certainly well loved in this crafting community.

    Reply
  13. smilynstef

    Love the pretty stamped vellum over your water-color-washed background … so very glad you joined us at Fusion Card Challenge.

    Reply
  14. Bev

    Not sure how I missed this card, and Kim’s birthday…MY BAD! Anita, this is pure bliss. I could stare at this for hours. Soft, sweet, and just plain gorgeous. I totally love this. And slots for the vellum???!!!! Dang, girl, you’ve reinforced the fact that you are brilliant!! I think you may have started a new trend…. : )

    Reply
  15. c

    Oh my goodness, Anita – everything you’ve written about Kim and the card you’ve created have me tearing up at the sheer beauty of what you’ve shared! Like you, Kim is a gift to all of us! And your card: wow, wow and wow! Soft, dreamy, gorgeous….and your way of adhering the vellum is nothing short of brilliant! I know Kim loves this, as do I! Hugs~c

    Reply
  16. baileyrosy

    oops I nearly missed this card and that would have been a shame. Do you think you could slow down a bit with your postings as i can’t keep up don’t you ever sleep woman ! What a stunner I love the delicacy of this and the way in which you attached the vellum very clever indeed.

    Marie

    Reply
  17. Julia Aston

    This is SO pretty Anita! love the white embossed overlay with the watercolors showing subtly through! Thanks for joining us at Fusion this week and sharing this beauty!

    Reply
  18. Michelle Lupton

    Beautiful card – I love your way of attaching the vellum! Thanks for playing along with us at FUSION 🙂

    Reply
  19. Petra

    WOW, so soft and feminine, Anita!! Love your watercolour bg and the vellum looks stunning!! So clever to cut the slits for the vellum. The sentiment fits so nicely below the corner of the vellum. This is beautiful!!! Love it!!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

