Online Card Class CAS 3 (Faux Effects), SSS Work It Wednesday #2 (Use SSS Goodies), SSS Wednesday 19-3 (Glitter It), Winnie & Walter Join In To Win (March)

Here’s the last of the three cards I made following Days 1 and 2 of the Online Card Class CAS 3 (yes, I’m soooooo way behind!) … it shows the faux letterpress technique, demonstrated by Shari …

OCC CAS3 Day 1-3, SSS WIW 2, SSSW 19-3, W&WJITW March

I cut some strips of coloured card, adhered them to a sheet of copy paper to make a striped panel and cut a circle out of it.  The retro stars are from Winnie & Walter, first stamped in Versamark and then overstamped, slightly to the side of the Versamark, with Brilliance White to create the shadow effect.  On the base card, I sponged Tumbling Glass and Salty Ocean Distress Inks, cut an off-the-edge circle to match the striped one, and white embossed the W&W stars and Simon Says Stamp sentiment.  A lining paper was adhered to the inside of the card, I slotted the ‘planet’ into place, making sure it was well stuck down, and trimmed off the excess.  Finally, Wink of Stella was applied liberally to the stars … you can’t see it in the main picture, but here’s a close up where it’s just about visible … and I’ve just noticed, some of those stars do look as though they’re floating … cool effect, thanks Shari!

OCC CAS3 Day 1-3, SSS WIW 2, SSSW 19-3, W&WJITW March - Close Up

As well as linking this card up to the Online Card Class gallery, I’m also playing at Simon Says Stamp Work It Wednesday (use SSS Goodies), at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday‘s Glitter It week and at Winnie & Walter‘s March Join In To Win party.

I’ve done lots of lovely catching up, but there’s still plenty to do, so if I haven’t got to you yet, I will.  Hope also to be back with some more OCC homework over the weekend … first I’m going to see Days 3 to 10 to see what it is I’ve to try out!  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

 https://i1.wp.com/www.onlinecardclasses.com/CS3/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/CS3_paticipant.png          Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog          w&w_blogblinkie

workitwedbanner

25 thoughts on “Online Card Class CAS 3 (Faux Effects), SSS Work It Wednesday #2 (Use SSS Goodies), SSS Wednesday 19-3 (Glitter It), Winnie & Walter Join In To Win (March)

  1. Ardyth

    OH, WOW! So creative and beuatiful! Love how the stars are ‘floating’ thanks to their shadows and the cool colours a just wonderful!

    Reply
  2. Meg McGarry

    Wow – this is just wonderful. The stars really do look like they are floating! I have this set in my basket at WInnie and Walter, can’t wait to checkout and get it!

    Reply
  3. Shona Chambers

    You nailed the technique perfectly!! The stars look so good and love the colours you chose for the card, very dreamy. The stars look like they are going to float away to dreamland…..

    Reply
  4. Geri G

    Love the colors, love the stripes, love the cut out circle and LOVE the floating stars! This really is an incredible technique! I never cease to be amazed at the techniques that crafters come up with! You have so totally nailed another A+ on your homework assignment. Heck, if I was the teacher, I’d be adding a red ribbo or ten to this project!

    BTW, I’m calling Winner, Winner with this pretty darling!

    Reply
  5. c

    Those stars ARE floating, Anita! How uber-cool is this technique! Awesome! I’ll second what the others have shared:colors, stripes, cut out circle and floating stars are swoon-inducing! If I were the teacher (hahahha…with my skills, fat chance of that happening, but IF I were), you’d receive A++++ on your homework for your fabulous card. Simply gorgeous. I’ll echo Geri: winner winner…Hugs~c

    Reply
  6. Joyce M.

    This is just beautiful. I love your colors. That technique is so striking. I’d really better get back to the books and make some more homework. You are inspiring me to try some of the lessons I missed.

    Reply
  7. pinnednpenned

    I am commenting on all 4 of your most recent posts here!! I love everything you have been posting– rainbow hearts are awesome as are these diamond stars. And your masking on the other 2 recent cards lovely!! Bonne Nuit!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

