Time Out #3 (Happy Birthday), Cure For The Monday Blues #14 (Neutral’s Nook), A Blog Named Hero #42 (Layer Cake), Hero Arts Spring Sketch Challenge, Make The Day Special #1 (Anything Goes)

Finally, I tied Monsieur Mojo down for a short while so he could help me with this …

Time Out 3, CFTMB 14, ABNH 42, HA Spring Sketch, MTDS 1

… and I’m hoping he’ll be less flighty in future!  I was also inspired by a number of challenges that just happened to slot together well.  At Time Out, it’s theme week and we’re using Happy Birthday with an optional twist of masculine.  Taheerah’s Cure For The Monday Blues inspiration picture is, as usual, stunning (check it out at the bottom) … I was struck by the striped mug, the triangle patterned napkin (?) and the doughnuts … and I also picked out the black frames.  We’re using layers or dimension at A Blog Named Hero‘s Layer Cake and my layout comes from Hero Arts’ Spring Sketch … I used Sketch 3.  Finally, I’m joining in with the first challenge at Make The Day Special, where Anything Goes, using at least one product from the store.

I stamped Hero Art’s Zig Zag background in black onto white card, sliced off a 3cm strip to use as the border panel and added a thin black border to the right side of it.  The strip was popped up on foam dots onto a white panel and the Avery Elle sentiment (Handwritten Notes, from MTDS) was stamped in black.  I added the wooden star embellishment to the side of the sentiment … it’s about the same colour as those yummy looking doughnuts … and popped a pewter-ish coloured brad (legs cut off) into the middle of it.  The white panel was mounted onto a slightly larger black panel and the whole thing was adhered to the base card.

I’m delighted to say a warm hello (albeit rather late as I’ve not been posting) to a few new friends and followers …non blogging card makers Sally and Denise, and bloggers, Deborah from Deborah’s Gems, Brenda from Friends Craftin With Friends and Christine from Poppaea Cards.  If you haven’t explored these fun, fabulous and inspiring blogs already, do pop over for a meander … and take a drink along … you may be a while!  You may also want to check out  Waltzingmouse Fanatics … Deborah is co-owner of this new-ish fortnightly challenge dedicated to Waltzingmouse Stamps (I know, you guessed that from the name, didn’t you?).  You’re all very welcome, ladies, and thank you 🙂

You may recall I’m Guest Designing with the awesome team at Addicted to CAS this month … so here’s a little reminder if you’re thinking of playing along with the latest challenge.  The Code Word is Far Away (so many possibilities), there’s lots of amazing inspiration from the DT and in the gallery … and more importantly, there are still days to go before Mr Linky closes the door!

Assuming Monsieur Mojo decides to be less capricious over the coming days, I should be back later in the week with a little something … it’s been waaaayyy too long … and I’ve missed you!  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

Grab Our Badge!                   

sketch_challenge_500

29 thoughts on “Time Out #3 (Happy Birthday), Cure For The Monday Blues #14 (Neutral’s Nook), A Blog Named Hero #42 (Layer Cake), Hero Arts Spring Sketch Challenge, Make The Day Special #1 (Anything Goes)

  1. hannelie

    Ah! So glad to see you friend!
    A glorious CAS beauty. Love the black & white (always) The neutral embellishment give it a real masculine and earthy feel!

    Reply
  2. Barbara Roe

    I now know why your cards are so special the amount of work you but into a design not to mention the number of challenges you use to suit a card.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply
  3. Karen Bourke

    Yah Anita, that silly Mr Mojo has returned with a bang! What a fabulous card you’ve made, the chevron design is so well set off with the black and the embellishment is perfect.

    Karen x

    Reply
  4. kimheggins

    Stunning card Anita…I love the chevron in black, really makes for a striking “guy” card. I can tell from your amazing card that Mr. Mojo is for sure back and I am looking forward to seeing more of your fabulous creations. Enjoy your week!

    Reply
  5. Bev

    Howdy neighbor (over at TO challenge!)! This is a very handsome card; perfect for a fella! You’ve got some awesome stamping going on here! Love that AE HB! And the little bit of wood veneer is perfect on this card. You so rock! I hope to play along with ATCAS, but we’ll see if Mr. Mojo is willing or if I have to threaten him again! lol. Have a great week!!!!

    Reply
  6. Brenda

    Oh my I am so loving this card Anita! The chevron on the side is perfect and I like the wooden “star” that you have. It all makes for a striking masculine card! Love black and white cards anyway. And I would say that your mojo has reappeared as if it was never gone! Hugs

    Reply
  7. Rosemary D

    wow… you totally rocked all the challenges, anita!! based on this card i can’t believe you are having problems with your mojo!

    Reply
  8. Joyce M.

    This is so simple and stunning. I love the black, and that embellie–just yummy looking. Again, you have bowled me over with how well you have combined so many challenges and remained with a CAS beautiful card. Hope your mojo sticks around for you some more.

    Reply
  9. craftiliciousyorkshire

    I love your monochrome card – perfectly CAS. Thanks for joining in our first challenge at Make the Day Special Stamp Store.
    Tara
    (Hope we see you at Waltzingmouse Fanatics this week too – I run that with Deborah 😉 )

    Reply
  10. Geri G

    Yay! A post from Anita!

    Wow! That is one fine example of flawless stamping dear friend..both the chevrons AND the sentiment – PERFECT!!! Love the design and LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the veneer embellie – so perfectly ‘guy’ and so perfectly ‘a winner’!

    BTW… I just have to tell you that I completely missed the stripes on the cup until I read your post – good eye!

    Reply
  11. Jenny M

    It’s good to see you joining in with our first challenge Anita, love the chevron pattern…so stylish in black and white especially with the bejewelled accent too :0)
    Jenny x

    Reply
  12. cmaynec

    Oh my, this is one handsome, striking card! Perfectly stamped, perfect for the challenges; perfect for the guys in our circles! The wooden star with its pewter centre…swooning! Classy in every way!! Hugs~c

    Reply
  13. taheerah

    You picked out so many great elements from the inspiration! Love the wooden star embellishment especially – a perfect finishing detail!! Thanks so much for playing to find a Cure For The Monday Blues!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

