Happy Birthday, Sandie! CAS-ual Fridays #131 (Three Thirds), Colour Q #241 (Chocolate, Gold, Pool, Turquoise), Stamplorations – May (Stamps and Flowers), Winnie & Walter Join In To Win – May

Today, we’re celebrating the birthday of a super talented, fun, generous and lovely friend … Happy Birthday, Sandie!  Here’s a card I made for you …

Happy Birthday Sandie, CFC 131, CQ 241, Stamplorations May, W&W JITW May

          

As many of you will already know, Sandie makes delicious CAS cards … and is also a veritable expert at mixing clean and simple so beautifully with grunge, to create truly eyecatching designs!  She’s on numerous design teams and always leaves the most encouraging, warm and supportive comments all around blogland.  If you haven’t already, call on over to Sandie’s blog, London Days … and get supplies ready before you go because you’ll be there a while!   Nonni at Korttikarkuri – Runaway Cards has organised a linky party at her blog to celebrate Sandie’s special day … and it’s going on for the next two weeks … so there’s plenty of time for you to come along and join in the fun!  Wishing you a very Happy Birthday, my friend … may your day be chock full of wonderful things … and your year ahead be one of joy and laughter 🙂

Now, you may have noticed it’s been a little quiet around here for a week or so … it’s because my get up and go just got up and went … and took Monsieur Mojo with it.  So I sought inspiration for Sandie’s card from a few challenges … CAS-ual Fridays, where we’ve to use three things on a third of our card, Colour Q‘s palette of chocolate, gold, pool and turquoise, and Stamplorations‘ theme of stamps and flowers.  Sandie, I know you love purple … but as my last card to you was a purple one, I thought you might like a change!

On a white card panel, I clustered the Waltzing Mouse two step flowers together to act as the background to the Winnie & Walter ‘happy’ … embossed in gold and trimmed out so it could be popped up on foam dots.  The ‘birthday’ is from Clearly Besotted, and is also embossed in gold.  I trimmed the panel, added strips of pool card top and bottom, and popped it up on foam dots on the card base.  Wink of Stella was liberally applied to the darker parts of the flowers and I added Glossy Accents to the centres to finish off.

Because of my absent get up and go, I’ve not been around in the blogosphere very much at all this last week, and am seriously late coming to see everyone.  My apologies … I’ll be calling round over the next couple of days to catch up with you all … and am looking forward to enjoying a meander around a ton of inspirational creativity!  In the meantime, thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

        

         w&w_blogblinkie

44 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Sandie! CAS-ual Fridays #131 (Three Thirds), Colour Q #241 (Chocolate, Gold, Pool, Turquoise), Stamplorations – May (Stamps and Flowers), Winnie & Walter Join In To Win – May

  1. Ardyth

    I think you are the queen of challenge combinations – you always manage to combined a number of challenges but without your card looking in any way contrived. This is fresh and pretty and Sandie’s sure to love it!

    Reply
  2. c

    GORGEOUS…every detail in your post is gorgeous, from the sweet words about Sandie, to the special card you created just for her. I think Mr. Mojo has wandered his way back, because this is a beauty! Amazing takes on the challenges, but most important, a card infused with “Sandie” through and through! She will love this immensely, as do I! Hugs, dear friend~c

    Reply
  3. Rosemary D

    i have to agree with ardyth… you are definitely the queen of combining challenges and you make it look so effortless!! this one is stunning!

    Reply
  4. Deepti

    Oh my goodness Anita!! This is so beautiful love those blooms. I have worked with the same colors for Sandie’s card but my card stands no where close to to the beauty of this one 🙂

    Reply
  5. Brenda

    Well your get up and go must have gotten up and came back Anita!! Cause this card is gorgeous!! I love the colors you chose and i love those flowers. The sentiment is so cool done the way you have it, very eye grabbing! I think you too are the queen of CAS cards right along with your friend Sandie!! Now I’m off to see her blog. Hugs

    Reply
  6. serendipitydragonfly

    Gorgeous card for Sandie Anita – she’s going to love it! Reckon your mojo’s come back good and proper, so hope it sticks round!

    Hugs.

    Karen x

    Reply
  7. Bev

    Hey GF, I think my Mr. Mojo & your Monsieur Mojo must have been taking a beachfront, all-expense paid vacation together! Little stinkers! However, I can see that Monsieur has returned all rested, relaxed and ready to go! This is soooo pretty, Anita! Those perfectly and beautifully stamped flowers are just the right background for your “happy birthday.” Sandie will most certainly adore this! Echoing those above me, this is stunning! Later, dudette!

    Reply
  8. Shona Chambers

    Using my favourite turquoise colours again..you know I’m going to LOVE this card!! I really like the two tone flowers, what wonderful stamps those are. And the gold embossing looks awesome. Don’t worry about your mojo, I had a 2 weeks slump recently and didn’t think I would come up with anything but my cards and ideas have come thick and fast. Sometimes its nice to step back, have a break and then enjoy getting back into it again. Look forward to seeing your new projects!!

    Reply
  9. djkardkreations

    This is a really perfect card for Sandie, Anita! As always, you have put a lot of thought into your design and your execution is impeccable! She will treasure this always!! I hope your mojuice starts flowing again soon. Have a great weekend! Hugs, Darnell

    Reply
  10. Claire A

    You’re an expert at combining challenges Anita! I love how you’ve clustered those blooms and placed the sentiment on top. I always seem to cut my WMS funky flowers. Thanks for playing along at Colour Q this week!

    Reply
  11. Barbara Roe

    Another beautiful card Anita. I think a break from card making can be good for the creative juices, at least I hope so because I have been on vacation.

    Reply
  12. Sylvia

    Lovely card, Anita, love your shading of the colors. thanks for sharing your card with us at the colourQ. always enjoy seeing your smiling face when I visit your blog!

    Reply
  13. kimheggins

    Anita…this is just gorgeous! I love those colors and what a fabulous design too. And your fussy cutting is perfection. Wishing you a fabulous weekend!

    Reply
  14. sandie

    Oh my goodness my friend I love it! And thank you for your sweet words. I am so touched you joined my surprise party. I just love the gold ‘happy’ against the blue flowers and that gorgeous linen card. Hugs x

    Reply
  15. Tracey McNeely

    I don’t know where to start Anita, this card is so perfect. Those flowers (one of my fav WM) are so lovely but then topped with the gold embossed sentiment? Gah! I am so in envy of your fussy cutting! Thank you so much for sharing with us at CAS-ual Fridays and at the colourQ!

    Reply
  16. Marisela Delgado

    Hola, Anita! Your card is simply stunning! I absolutely LOVE what you did with the Happy. So beautiful. As for your missing mojo, I understand. I have had a hard year myself. I cut my leg (a varicose vein) shaving and it turned into a year long nightmare that actually put my life at risk. I sometimes don’t have much fight left in me, but I trust that the Lord is in control of my life and that He has a FABULOUS plan and purpose for my life and future. I am on my way up and out from the ashes. He promises to give us beauty for our ashes. I’m ready for it! Keep the faith and you will be okay. Thanks for the great card. I’m going to keep it in my email file because it is HERMOSA. (Spanish for beautiful). Your friend in San Antonio, Texas

    Reply
  17. Kelly Griglione

    So gorgeous, Anita! Love your combination of blues, especially with the flowers. I always go for the pinks and reds for flowers … I should really branch out! Thanks so much for joining the CAS-ual Friday’s Challenge!

    Reply
  18. Petra

    This is beautiful, Anita!!!! I love how you have stamped the flowers and the colours are beautiful!! The gold embossing goes lovely with the blue and the ‘happy’ on foam dots looks stunning!! Sandie is surely going to love this card as much as I do!!!

    Have a super Sunday afternoon and a great week. Glad to see you back with the mojo flowing strongly!!

    Reply
  19. maria f.

    Blue blooms. And then as a mere background for that wonderful sentiment. Great design, Anita. And I get a totally retro feel somehow, which makes me very happy. Lovely card. Thanks for joining us at STAMPlorations!

    Reply
  20. Joyce M.

    This is so gorgeous. I love the non-traditional color of the flowers, and the design is stunning. I can see the fabulous texture in your card stock–and I got to admire it when you sent me my own card on it. Hope your mojo stays with you for a bit. Clearly, he was in residence when you made this card.

    Reply
  21. Geri G

    Sure am missing you dear friend…but I also totally understand the missing Mojo issue! Do you think it has something to do with ‘spring’ and all the extra duties the warm season brings? It’s gonna be my excuse!

    Gorgeous two-step stamping and amazing fussy cutting! A diecut would be hard pressed to get such a uniform border! Stella’s winking & Glossy’s accents sure do know how to glam up a card! The wee peaks of blue at the top & bottom really make the the gorgeous flowers pop!

    Sandie will love this stunning creation…and so will the challenge judges!!!

    Reply
  22. BarbGhig

    Oh, this is totally GORGEOUS, Anita! I love the pop of blue, and how you fussy cut your sentiment to add dimension to this card…so pretty, and perfect for Sandie’s birthday!

    Reply
  23. kimheggins

    Queen Anita…I had to come by and say congratulations on your win, this is one amazing, fabulous, stunning and gorgeous card!

    Reply
  24. Lindsey L

    Beautiful! I’m totally wishing that when Monsieur Mojo left me I’d still be able to create incredible cards like this. And from the comments it looks like this was a winner. Congrats! So deserved.

    Reply
  25. sandie

    I came to congratulate you on your top 3 at Stamplorations and I I see it is also a winner at colour q….I am the proud owner….I feel like a winner too xx

    Reply
  26. djkardkreations

    Another award comes your way, Anita!! Congratulations on the well-deserved Top Pick at Stamplorations! It’s an honor to be in the winner’s circle with you!! Hugs, Darnell

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

