PTI Make It Monday #167 (DIY Notebooks), A Blog Named Hero #45 (It’s Not In The Cards), SSS Monday 2/6 (Magic), SSS Wednesday 4/6 (Fathers’ Day/Masculine)

Waiting for creative ideas to tumble into my brain has been a little wearing of late … they’ve sauntered, dawdled and ambled their way around for the last month or so.  Last night, though, I watched a PTI video from Erin Lincoln on making cute little notebooks (thanks, Erin!), had a play … and this morning woke up with pings (a perfect description coined by my sweet friend Bev!) battling for attention … and not just for notebooks!  Yay … woo-hoo … how exciting … at last … phew!  So, here’s the first of those pings …

PTI MIM 167, ABNH 45, SSSM 2-6, SSSW 4-6          PTI MIM 167, ABNH 45, SSSM 2-6, SSSW 4-6 - Inside

I made the back cover and wrap around of my 10.5 x 7.5 cm (4.25 x 3 inches) masculine-ish notebook (it’s going in the car … it can’t be just girlie!) using a Hero Arts background, stamped and sponged in grey.  The front is stamped with PTI Sketched Shapes with silver embossing for the sentiment (Reasons To Smile) and for the dot (Dot Spot).  The pages are white as I don’t have coloured paper (coloured card, yes, but it was too heavy for a wee notebook) and in my excitement at getting creative, I adhered them in place before stamping (oops!) .  Fortunately, it was easy to do afterwards using the same colours as the triangles on the front … just had to take care that the ink was dry before turning each page!  I took one page out to show you the two together.

My little notebook’s linking up with the following challenges …

PTI Make It Monday – DIY Notebooks

A Blog Named Hero – It’s Not In The Cards (anything but a card)

SSS Monday – Magic (no matter how many times I do it, heat embossing is always like magic!)

SSS Wednesday – (Fathers Day/Masculine)

I’m delighted to say a warm hello today to two new non-blogging card making friends and followers … Marisela and Lou … you’re very welcome, ladies … thank you for your company 🙂

Off to see if some more pings can move from brain to paper … to coin a phrase … I’ll be back!  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

          Simon Monday Challenge Blog          Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

23 thoughts on “PTI Make It Monday #167 (DIY Notebooks), A Blog Named Hero #45 (It’s Not In The Cards), SSS Monday 2/6 (Magic), SSS Wednesday 4/6 (Fathers’ Day/Masculine)

  1. serendipitydragonfly

    Oh don’t you just love it when you get pings Anita!!! They turn up at the strangest times though….. this notebook is absolutely gorgeous and I love the colours combined with that gorgeous embossed sentiment. Fabulous.

    Hugs.

    Karen x

    Reply
  2. Bev

    You know I ripped off the word “ping” from the film “Monty Python’s The Meaning of Life,” don’t you? In the birth scene, the doctors bring in all the machines, but are especially impressed by the “machine that goes ping.” Just had to ‘fess up! (really funny movie too) Your notebook is just a gem, my dear friend. Love the silver embossing; sooo classy and elegant. Perfect colors, so soft and subtle. Great design. You are a marvel. I don’t know if I could put this in a car… way too pretty! Love this! : )

    Reply
  3. Michele Ferguson

    Bonjour, Anita – oh, I am so happy to hear that I’m not the only one who dreams of card designs!! Love the silver embossing – and loved The Meaning of Life!! It has been years – I may have to revisit that one and many more from the Python era.

    Reply
  4. Bobby

    Another multi-challenge creation. I'[d say your pinger is working fine. The notebook is very masculine and sophisticated. I hope the car is worthy.

    Reply
  5. Rosemary D

    your little notebook is fabulous, anita! i get the same feeling when i watch embossing powder melt… it is magic!

    Reply
  6. susannev2014

    Love your cool, graphic notebook! It will surely make you smile every time you need to write something down!

    Reply
  7. Geri G

    Yep…way to pretty to hide away in a car! The color you chose are PERFECT for the ‘shapes’! Flawless embossing! The notebook is such a cool idea!

    Great to hear that the pings are firing on all cylinders dear friend!

    Reply
  8. Shona Chambers

    These are fantastic and look so professional. Love the simple designs, great for ‘the man’ in someones life. It must be coming up to Fathers Day soon in your part of the world. We don’t celebrate until September which is good at the moment, as it would have been a sad triple whammy for me. I’ve found it all a bit hard over the past two weeks as it came up to the first anniversary of my father’s death and a few days later it would have been his 80th birthday, so lost all my happy. But I can feel it coming back and started playing with some stamps yesterday. Even worked out how to stamp some flowers using a ‘bird’ stamp (strange I know…). Its raining all week here so hopefully I will have a quiet patch to sit and create.

    Reply
  9. c

    Such handsome notebooks (and gorgeous!!), Anita! I wouldn’t want to write in them…just carry them around, or place them in ‘strategic’ spots, purely for gazing and admiring purposes! Awesome ping, indeed!! Hugs~c

    Reply
  10. Brenda

    Love your little notebook Anita!! I watched this video too, and though how fun and cool. So I am hoping to make some of these cute notebooks. Loving your masculine notebook!! Hugs, Brenda

    Reply
  11. stampersuzz

    Cool masculine cards! Love the rough texture from the stamp behind the sentiment! Thanks for playing along with us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

    Reply
  12. Joyce M.

    What a wonderful, masculine design. Love those triangles and the embossed dots. Very clever idea to keep the notebook in the car. I think I’m going to put one of mine in there. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Reply
  13. BarbGhig

    I really love your graphic designs and color choices, Anita! Such a great idea to create notebooks, too…Love them!!!

    Reply
  14. Jill

    These turned out really cute. I was seeing so many of these posted that I had to give them a try myself…It’s a great idea…I really like your design on the cover…must do another one and try your design…thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  15. Petra

    Oh, I’m loving you sweet little notebook, Anita!!! It has just given me the idea to do some for the kids’ teachers as part of the thank you gift at the end of the school year in December. I’ll have to go and watch the video!! I love the front with the silver embossing and such a happy sentiment to put on the pages!! Lovely gift idea – I’ll definitely use this idea in future!!!!

    I enjoyed my visit to your blog as always, Anita!! I’ve still got a lot of blogs to visit before I can go to bed and as always in the passed I have promised myself that I’m not going to fall behind in blogvisits again!!!! LOL!!!

    Have a super week!!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

