Keep It Simple #41 (Bookmarks), A Blog Named Hero #45 (It’s Not In The Cards), Virginia’s View #4 (Tags and Scraplings), SSS Wednesday 4/6 (Fathers’ Day/Masculine)

Who would’ve thought that the challenge stars would come together for a project like this …

KIS 41, ABNH 45, VV 4, SSSW 4-6

… a masculine, scrapling bookmark!  I masked off a section of my bookmark for the sentiment, stamped the Hero Arts background in grey and coloured in the open chevrons with Promarkers.  The sentiment was double stamped, once in Navy and once with Versamark (thank you stampamajig!), and clear embossed.  The yellow circles were Wink of Stella’d and coated with Glossy Accents … IRL life there’s just a hint of blob … not too much or it would wrinkle the book pages it’s going to be marking!  I punched a hole in the top and added a twine tassle … the twine was originally wrapped round some crafty goodies the postie brought.  Voila, a bookmark to fold over the top of a page … that way it can’t slide out … soooo much more secure than a flat one … and soooo much more space to write a message!

I’m joining in with these challenges:

Keep It Simple – Bookmarks

A Blog Named Hero – It’s Not In The Cards (my second ‘anything but a card’ )

Virginia’s View – Tags and Scraplings including a recycled item (the twine)

Simon Says Stamp Wednesday – Fathers’ Day/Masculine

I have a few more cards from my crafty day yesterday … they’ll be posted during the week … for now, there’s some meandering to be done round blogland!  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

           Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

21 thoughts on “Keep It Simple #41 (Bookmarks), A Blog Named Hero #45 (It’s Not In The Cards), Virginia’s View #4 (Tags and Scraplings), SSS Wednesday 4/6 (Fathers’ Day/Masculine)

  1. harrietskelly

    I love your scrappling bookmark Anita! Did you know you can ink your image with Versamark and then into the colored ink pad to do the embossing instead of using the stamp-a-majig? The Versamark doesn’t ruin the ink pad.

    Reply
  2. Bev

    I LOVE that bg stamp! Maybe I love the way you colored it more. No matter what this bookmark is fantastic. How cool to mark a book, then open the bookmark and see the nice note from you! This is just brilliant. LOVE this. xo : )

    Reply
  3. Rosemary D

    given that you have clearly mastered the art of combining challenges flawlessly i am not at all surprised that the stars aligned for you and you created this amazing bookmark! it is fabulous!

    Reply
  4. serendipitydragonfly

    Oh darn it…..Harriet beat me to it!!! Fabulous bookmark Anita – loving that Hero Arts background stamp. Will reiterate Harriet’s comment – when you want to emboss a sentiment and don’t have the right colour e/p ink up with Versamark and then straight into your ink choice and then clear emboss……works every time!

    Hugs.

    Karen xxx

    Reply
  5. Brenda

    What a delightfully masculine bookmark Anita! I am so loving the chevron and I love how you colored parts of it in! Great idea to make it where it wouldn’t slip out and give you a place for a personal message as well. I am loving the sentiment on it as well, a great reminder to us all to be ourselves all the time. I just love it! Hugs, Brenda

    Reply
  6. Bobby

    Add me to the list of those telling you about using VM first and then ink on your stamp. 😉 I love the way you colored in the background on your bookmark. (I bet I know who your postie was from. They tied mine up, too.)

    Reply
  7. Virginia L.

    SUPERB!! I love how sophisticated this manly scrapling is! Your coloring on the background is just perfect, Anita! Thanks so much for joining the fun over Virginia’s View Challenge!

    Reply
  8. Shona Chambers

    I’m loving this pattern, its so modern and fresh and using those colours makes it perfect for a ‘chap’. And I never thought to make a bookmark that goes over the page itself…magnificient! Phoebe has just asked me to make one for her tonight, so get to craft with all my sugary-sweet girly goodies.

    Reply
  9. c

    A stunning scrapling bookmark, Anita! Cool pattern, fresh colours, pops of colour…fabulous! And the “over the page’ style is sheer brilliance! Happy sighing over this little gem of artistry! Hugs~c

    Reply
  10. kimheggins

    What an amazing bookmark! That is the one thing I miss about reading on my iPad, no fun bookmarks but yours would make me pull out a paper book for sure. So sweet and just the perfect sentiment.

    Reply
  11. Geri G

    Okay…so I also did not know that you can ink & Versamark all in one step! Sheesh! Sure does pay to read all the comments!

    Clever, clever, clever over-the-page idea, and awesome stamped/colored image! Love where you placed the sentiment too! This bookmark idea is going to be popping up everywhere in blog land!

    Reply
  12. Petra

    What a lovely sentiment, Anita!!! …and such a lovely and clever bookmark!!! Love how you’ve coloured the chevrons – lovely colours!!! Love the whole graphic feel of it!!!! Great project!!!

    Reply
  13. Michele Ferguson

    Congratulations, my friend! Love your bookmark, colors, patterns and all =] I’m imagining now which of my favorite books it would match? =] Hmmm, even though it is pretty masculine, the sentiment makes me think “A Woman of Substance”

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

