Make The Day Special #3 (Sketch), Catered Crop 8/6 (Manly Men), SSS Monday 9/6 (Paint), Moxie Fab World 3/7 (Wonderful Words)

When I made my first panel-on-an-angle card last week,  with all the embossed lines and watercolouring, there was a piece of the panel left over, that I carefully cocooned so I could use it in future!  Well, the future arrived a bit quicker than I expected … here …

MTDS 3, Catered Crop 8-6, SSSM 9-6

Those who saw the earlier card will know that the stripes are an Annabelle Stamps border, stamped a few times, heat embossed in white and watercoloured.  I adhered black strips to the angled part and mounted the panel on the card base.  The hello is from Avery Elle, cut four times in white and once in black, stacked and clear embossed.  What look like trendy enamel dots are brads with their legs cut off!  This is not a colour combo I’m that comfortable with … and card puts me in mind of mens’ striped shirts … but it’s a Good Thing every so often to get a bit uncomfortable … you never know where it will lead!

I’m playing along with …

Make The Day Special – Sketch (I flipped it)

Catered Crop – Manly Man (for the first time)

Simon Says Stamp Monday – Paint (watercoloured stripes)

ETA:  Moxie Fab World – Wonderful Words Challenge (word dies)

I was also planning on joining in with The Card Concept (colours) … oops, got the timing on that one soooo wrong!

Thanks so much to everyone who took the trouble to tell me about using Versamark ink (for embossing) with dye ink, after my last post.  Being able to double ink instead of having to double stamp with a stampamajig is going to be so much easier!

As some of you will know, Feedly is offline at the moment due to a Denial Of Service Attack … I have all my follows and updates delivered by Feedly so I’m a bit lost this evening without you all.  I’m guessing some of you won’t be reading this because of it!  I’ll be round to visit as soon as I can (roughly translated as when Feedly is back up again) … in the meantime, I’ll just do some wandering … and may see you there!  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

           Catered Crop          Simon Monday Challenge Blog

Moxie Fab World

26 thoughts on “Make The Day Special #3 (Sketch), Catered Crop 8/6 (Manly Men), SSS Monday 9/6 (Paint), Moxie Fab World 3/7 (Wonderful Words)

  1. Bev

    While this color combo might be out of your comfort zone, it looks fantastic! Love those stripes. And there’s nothing quite like torturing a few brads in order to use what you have, and make a card look this good! Really, really like this one my friend! Great die too… : )

    Reply
  2. Brenda

    Wow, for this being out of your comfort zone it sure did come out great Anita!! I love the colors and those stripes, they are just so cool looking. I am really loving all these angled cards I’ve been seeing, they are just so eye catching. Yours is very eye catching Anita and I just love it!! Love that hello stacked up like you did and made glossy. Looks amazing! hugs, Brenda

    Reply
  3. Cornelia (fun stamping)

    Very cool card – I love those stripes – had to check out Annabelle stamps immediately – may need those… – ha – I am always so “needy” when it comes to stamps….I like your color choices – grey and yellow is so elegant and that glossy HELLO…..swoon……

    Reply
  4. serendipitydragonfly

    Fabulous last week, fabulous this week Anita! Love how the “o” of hello is hanging off the edge – perfectly matches the quirky nature of the card.

    Hugs.

    Karen x

    Reply
  5. Tracey McNeely

    Cool card Anita, the ‘future’ is fabulous and right here on your card. So glad you hung on to the scrap and so glad I am not the only one who dos things like that!

    Reply
  6. Loll Thompson

    Love this design Anita. The color combo is perfect for a “manly” card 🙂 I still haven’t done an angled panel yet … I’m working myself up to it (I’m very straight line kinda’ gal). Love the big hello and your dots accents. Loll xx

    Reply
  7. Shona Chambers

    So cool, crisp and modern! I love cards that are graphic with angles etc, gives it a bit of life. I think the colours are perfect for a ‘manly card’. I wasn’t good with yellow and black until I did a colour challenge a while ago and found that each card after that was that same combo, so its good to get out of the comfort zone. I’m still scared of orange and purple though…..

    Reply
  8. Bobby

    How great that you could use your leftover piece so soon. I put mine away and forget about them. I love the color combo and so sorry that the Card Concepts challenge was over. I’m loving that striped stamp.

    Reply
  9. kimheggins

    Anita…wow! I love your card and all your fabulous techniques. You are so clever to find another use for those brads, thank you so much for sharing and your hello…well, “HELLO” that is the star and I can’t wait to CASe you! Enjoy your weekend.

    Reply
  10. Geri G

    You sure know how to handle ‘uncomfortable’. This is awesome! At first I thought ‘ah, the perfect guy card’…..but the longer I gazed at it, I realized this can be an ‘anybody’ card! The ‘hello’ looks great – well worth the time to cut, layer and emboss!

    Bev will be so proud of you for resurrecting the stamped panel from the recycle bin!

    Reply
  11. smouwen

    What a striking card! The Hello is so beautiful and so are the watercolour stripes! Thank you so much for joining us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. Hugs, Sandra

    Reply
  12. Alanna

    I love that hello die you used and that gorgeous paper. And how clever to take the legs off the brads and turn them into enamel dots.

    Reply
  13. Joyce M.

    This is just fabulous. I think I am getting to it late because of Feedly. I am totally lost without it, which is really not a good thing. Anyway, I love that you were able to re-use a bit from your earlier card, and it is the perfect backdrop for that glossy hello.

    Reply
  14. craftiliciousyorkshire

    A really elegant striped card – works so well with our sketch.
    Thanks for joining us at Make the Day Special Stamp Store!
    Tara

    Reply
  15. Petra

    WOW, your stripes look awesome, Anita!!!! This is a lovely masculine card!! (can’t wait to see the other card you’ve used your stripes on!!) I love that the ‘hello’ does not fit perfectly onto the white panel, but goes onto the stripes – looks great!! The 3 brads are placed perfectly!!! Lovely card!!!

    Reply
  16. Jenny M

    Those fabulous stripes again… I love them and they work so well for the sketch :0)
    Apologies for my tardy visit this month, thanks for playing along with our June challenge at MtDS x

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

