CASology #101 (Wood), Less Is More #178 (Recycled Item), Simply Create Too #64 (Sentiment As Highlight), SSS Monday 23/6 (Use This More), SSS Wednesday 25/6 (Anything Goes), Moxie Fab World 3/7 (Wonderful Words)

This is my first card of the weekend …

CASology 101, LIM 178, SCT 64, SSSM 23-6, SSSW 25-6This and the next card took me a long time to make … Friday night I rather recklessly tried taking a hot tray out of the oven with an ungloved hand … silly really as the other hand was gloved.  Anyhow, because skin and hot metal don’t play well together, there was a bit of an ouch or two as the thankfully short battle raged.  Fortunately, hours of iced water helped a lot and the impact is less serious than it seemed it was going to be … but I am a bit one handed at the moment … hence two days to make two cards!

The panel on this one started life as a mushroom basket (well, it’s original start was as a tree, but that was before I knew it) … it’s a little thicker than chipboard and the grain is really nice, so I saved it, just in case (we all do that, don’t we?).  I tried die cutting the Mama Elephant Hello, but the wood was just too thick, although it embossed it beautifully.  The embossing was coloured with Promarkers and ‘varnished’ with Glossy Accents … I wanted to create a kind of marquetry feel.  The panel was mounted on the card base over some Promarker coloured plasterboard tape and I added a scattering of Neat & Tangled sequins.

Playing along with these challenges …

CASology – Wood

Less Is More – Use A Recycled Item (the mushroom basket!)

Simply Create Too – Your Sentiment Is The Highlight (my first time joining in)

SSS Monday – I Ought To Use This More (this fabulous wood … it was a big basket!)

SSS Wednesday – Anything Goes

ETA:  Moxie Fab World – Wonderful Words Challenge (word dies)

I’ll be back in a little while with my second card … it takes a long time to type one handed … well without too many mistakes that is!  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

          We'd love you to display our banner          Grab Our Badge!

Simon Monday Challenge Blog          Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

Moxie Fab World

36 thoughts on “CASology #101 (Wood), Less Is More #178 (Recycled Item), Simply Create Too #64 (Sentiment As Highlight), SSS Monday 23/6 (Use This More), SSS Wednesday 25/6 (Anything Goes), Moxie Fab World 3/7 (Wonderful Words)

  1. chrissieann

    It’s surprising what bits and pieces we crafters have sequestered away isn’t it Anita.
    Super card and I hope your hand gets better soon!
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

    Reply
  2. Monika Reeck

    Hello Bonjour Anita..hope you are not sleep at this moment..its 22:33 in Germany…I love the simplicity of your card and wooow its a real WOOD…wooow you are so clever to use that element and can stamped it so good great choose of material and love all white space on your card…I think the DT member will love your card Anita..your card is cleverly done..love this…

    If you wanna see my “Wood” card on my blog… my card is #59 on the CASology Gallery…I would be so happy if you could leave me some love too..big hugs, Monika

    Reply
  3. michellezerull

    Ouch! That burn sounds nasty.
    Such a beautiful card. I love that wood too. I can see why it was hard to use as I tend to hoard my favorites too. I’m so glad that you did use it because it looks fabulous with the gold. Very elegant! Thank you for sharing your card with us for the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. It’s always a pleasure to see your work. ~Michelle
    P.S. Hope your burn heals soon!

    Reply
  4. Anita

    Oh, this is great Anita! Really simple layout but really striking with lots of texture. I know what its like to get burnt like that, a few years ago I did the same. Took a pan out of the oven with a glove, served up dinner and then grabbed the handle with the other hand to take it to the sink…ouch!!! You don’t realise how much you use your ‘other hand’ until you can’t! I hope it heals soon xx

    Reply
  5. quilterlin

    Ouch, Anita! Sorry to hear about your burned hand! Love the marquetry idea that you got on your card here, so clever and unique! Thanks for sharing it with us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

    Reply
  6. Sarah Gray

    Goodness – that sounds painful! I hope you are back to 2 handed crafting soon 🙂 Your card is fab…what a creative recycled item. Love the look of the inlaid hello.

    Reply
  7. Barbara Roe

    Hi, hope your burn is better, but it did not stop your creativeness. A wood mushroom box sounds exotic but it certainly adds to your exciting card. Have a great week.

    Reply
  8. BarbGhig

    Oh my goodness…with one hand, you created the most AMAZING card, Anita!!! I’m so impressed, but so sorry for your mishap…as I know burns can be VERY painful! Thank heaven you iced it! I love all the details on this card…embossing the sentiment die cut turned out really fab with your coloring and your CAS design really makes it pop!
    Hope you’re feeling better quickly!

    Reply
  9. Rosemary D

    oh ouch!! i’m so glad that you didn’t burn yourself too badly, anita!! your card is pretty darn fabulous… love the embossed recycled bit! too cool!

    Reply
  10. Ardyth

    I love marquetry – my great-grandpa used to do it – what a great way to ‘go with it’ – it turned out beautifully! So glad you joined us at CASology – hope your hand is healing well (and quickly!)

    Reply
  11. Michele F

    Hope by the morning that you are well healed and ready to play as you like! Love the mushroom basket… yes, I/we all do that =] Every time I look closely at your cards, I so admire the cardstock you use; it’s so lovely =] Michele

    Reply
  12. kimheggins

    Oh my goodness sweetie! So sorry to hear about your hand, I hope that you are feeling better and back to normal read soon. Your card is amazing I have to say…I love your wood, so stunning and makes for such a sweet card to say hello!

    Reply
  13. Bobby

    The recycled wood on your card is beautiful, Anita. It really does look like inlaid wood and it goes so well with the drywall tape. I’m sorry you had to do it one handed. Heal quickly.

    Reply
  14. Geri G

    The plasterboard tape and the re-purposed mushroom basket are a match made in card making heaven! Great save with the die that didn’t cut cuz the colored letters look great! Love the smattering of randomly placed bling! Creativity defined!

    Reply
  15. Shona Chambers

    Even one-handed you manage to dazzle us with your card making skills!! Hope the burn isn’t too bad and it heals quickly. Must be the weekend of burns as my 7yr Max burnt his fingers (stuck them in a hot pie) and Phoebe touched an electric fence that we didn’t know was turned on. Was very unpleasant but not long lasting thank goodness. Anyway…this card is incredible. I wondered what the mesh was behind the wood. The embossing looks fantastic too. How funny that we crafters can see an artistic element in things that others would throw away. Fabulous card. I’m off to see your second card now!!

    Reply
  16. serendipitydragonfly

    Oh Anita I was “ouching” for you when I read your post………..why do we do these silly things eh? Probably too much on our minds/plates!!! So glad it wasn’t quite so bad after the iced water. Love your card and your recycled mushroom box has got fantastic textures and colours. Fab.

    Hugs.

    Karen xxx

    Reply
  17. Anne Ray

    Ouch! Hope your hand is healing well!
    What a clever idea to use the mushroom box
    Thank you very much for your entry into this week’s Less is More Challenge
    Anne
    LIM Designer

    Reply
  18. c

    Burns: ouch x ouch! I remember, years ago, on a trip to the Cook Islands, getting off on the muffler side of a moped type bike. Burned my calf…crazy pain!! Many of the locals had similar injuries, and referred to mine, as they did their’s, as their ‘Cook Island tattoo’. Sheesh! Hope your hand is healing quickly! Now this card, especially given that it was created with one hand, is fabulously impressive! The mushroom box: brilliant; the embossed hello: eye-catching; the plaster board tape: special-touch amazing! In awe once again…. Hugs~c

    Reply
  19. Deepti

    Ouch ! I am sure u were thinking about card ideas while picking the tray from oven with the hand without the glove 😉 Hope ur hand heals soon. But I must say, u r amazing… ur card turned out awesome even with one hand 🙂

    Reply
  20. Judy1223

    Anita, I have done the very same thing (not sure why, but reached in the oven to get a tray without my potholder on and OUCH!)…glad the ice helped. You amaze me, making a beautiful card one-handed! This is quite lovely…a perfect card for the CASology cue this week! Thanks for playing along!

    Reply
  21. Loll Thompson

    Cool design! Love the wood panel from your basket – great recycling! Creative improvise when the die wouldn’t cut through … coloring the impression is perfect! You are so clever! Loll xx

    Reply
  22. Jen W.

    Oh no! Nightmare about your hand, Anita! I hope it’s healing up quickly for you. 😦 As for your card – gorgeous! I love the woodgrain hello and the plasterboard tape behind it. Great textures! Thanks for playing along with CASology this week!

    Reply
  23. Chriss Blagrave

    oh, so sorry to hear about your hand injury, darn!
    I do love your card! Love the wood mushroom basket used for your sentiment panel, the builder tape texture and the sentiment technique…clever!

    Reply
  24. Brenda

    Loving this one Anita! I love that you recycled something and used it on your card. I love the wood grain and love how you embossed it into the wood and then colored and made it shiny. I’m so sorry to hear that you burned yourself!! Burns are not fun, but I’m glad that you cooled it down right away because burns keeping burning and if you hadn’t have done that, you could have ended up with a much worse burn. So take care of that hand and I hope it heals quickly for you. Hugs, Brenda

    Reply
  25. Petra

    Oh dear, Anita – burning your hand!!! – that’s not fun!!!! Hope that by this time it’s much better already!!! And you made a stunning card with just one hand!!! I love the texture on this and the clever way you did the sentiment in the end. …and as for the dry wall tape – I love working with that and have never thought of trying to colour it as you did here – looks lovely!!! You have really done a great job with this card!!! Love it!!

    Reply
  26. Marja

    Sorry for being late in commenting, but thanks so much for sharing your lovely CAS card with us at Simply Create Too!

    Hugs, Marja
    Simply Create Too DT

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

