Make It Monday #172 (Rainbow Medallions), A Blog Named Hero #48 (Sheet Cake), Addicted to CAS #43 (Celebrate), Hero Arts #Summer (One Layer Card), SSS Wednesday 16/7 (Spots and Dots)

The renovation’s taken up most waking hours this week (and some that should’ve been sleeping hours!), and this afternoon was the first time for a while I’ve had chance to get near my craft desk.  So I had a happy play for a while and came up with a few cards … this is the first …

MIM172, ABNH 48, ATCAS 43, HA Summer 2014, SSSW 16-7I made a top fold base card and die cut a circle out of it.  Using one end of Papertrey’s Sketched Shapes banner, I stamped the rainbow colours around the circle, having already marked up in pencil 16 ‘spokes’ and a larger circle (thanks for the tip, Bobby!), so that the medallion would end up evenly spaced.  A circle of card was covered with adhesive and fixed to the inside of the card, and I slotted the circular sentiment panel into the space on the front.  All the pencil was rubbed out, the edges of the card were sponged with black ink (I masked it first!) and the Hero Arts sentiment  was stamped below the medallion.  As this card could work for a guy or girl, it’s left without bling for now … it may or may not be added later.  I rather like it as is … and there seems to be a touch of dimension even though it’s a flat one layer card!

I’m playing along with these challenges …

Make It Monday – Rainbow Medallions (great video from Dawn)

A Blog Named Hero – Sheet Cake (a one layer card)

Addicted to CAS  – Celebrate (Congratulations to Kylie and the team, celebrating 600+ followers!)

Hero Arts – One Layer Challenge (yep!)

SSS Wednesday – Spots and Dots (big spot sentiment panel and little dots around the edge!)

I’ll be back in a short while with the next card … there are a few challenges closing their doors shortly that I’d like to join in with, so need to get a move on!  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

                  Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

olc-banner

37 thoughts on “Make It Monday #172 (Rainbow Medallions), A Blog Named Hero #48 (Sheet Cake), Addicted to CAS #43 (Celebrate), Hero Arts #Summer (One Layer Card), SSS Wednesday 16/7 (Spots and Dots)

  1. Brenda

    Sounds like you have a lot going on Anita! I am loving this card, that medallion looks amazing! I also love how you cut the circle out and the sentiments are just perfect.Lovely card for either a girl or a guy!! Hugs, Brenda

    Reply
  2. Sarah Gray

    This is fab. Anita – your stamping is perfect and I love the rainbow medallion you created! You are so clever at entering multiple challenges with one design 🙂

    Reply
  3. Bev

    With DH recovering nicely just a few feet from my craft room, I’ve had a bit of time in here today…Your card is amazing! There is soooo much dimension to this. Very cool design, very cool one layer…dang girl! Another stunner, another winner for sure!! Glad the renos are going, and that you had time to post! hugs. : )

    Reply
  4. serendipitydragonfly

    Absolutely stunning Anita – immaculate placing and gorgeous array of colors. Thanks for joining us at ATCAS.

    Hugs.

    Karen xxx

    Reply
  5. kimheggins

    Oh my goodness Anita…this is amazing! I love your rainbow effect with that stamp, it looks so perfect and what a fun way to say Happy Birthday!!!!

    Reply
  6. Bobby

    I was drooling over the perfect stamping and then saw you used my circle trick. It sure helps doesn’t it? You got so much dimension on a one layer card it’s shocking. It’s a winner.

    Reply
  7. BarbGhig

    I love how you created your medallion, Anita…so fun! And, the rainbow of colors is fabulous! You knocked it out of the park with this card!!!

    Reply
  8. c

    Precision to the nth degree, Anita – and with such an exquisite result! A work of ‘architectural prowess’ indeed! I can only imagine how gorgeous your renovations are! Yes, lots of work (as are some cards!), but the end result will be gloriously rewarding (as are allllll your cards!).
    Hugs~c

    Reply
  9. Sandie

    So pleased you got time to craft. And what a creative card, the way you have used this banner is inspired my friend. Thanks for joining us ATCAS

    Reply
  10. Petra

    WOW, so clever to stamp your medallion like that, Anita and you’ve done it so perfectly!!! Lovely colours and I like the dots and the ‘happy birthday’ in the circle. The sentiment at the bottom looks great!!! This is a stunning one layer card with a lot of dimension!!

    So glad that you’re back in craft room – have fun!!!

    Reply
  11. Michele F

    I know I’m going to check into Bobby’s post now that I’ve seen this beauty… gorgeous!! I would love to have a craft session with you!! Are you taking photos of your renovations to share? =]

    Reply
  12. Shona Chambers

    This looks incredible!! I saw Dawn’s tutorial as well but each time I try it, it turns out uneven and a mess. Yours looks so perfect and love the stamp you used. And love the idea of masking and sponging around the edge. I’ve never thought of that!! Sometimes you do just need that pop of colour around the edge but its hard when its one layer…your idea is genius! This is definitely a winner in my book. Off to look at your other two creations now.

    Reply
  13. caryndavies

    What a clever card – I LOVE the rainbow effect!
    Thanks for joining us at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge.
    Caryn xxx

    Reply
  14. baileyrosy

    AMAZING ! I adore this Anita you are so clever such a stunning card and I bet it took ages to make. I wish you did video tutorials as i would love to see how you made this and all of your other gems. Thanks so much for your continued support at ATCAS its always such a pleasure to see you here.

    Marie

    Reply
  15. djkardkreations

    I had to stop here, too, Anita. I haven’t read the comments to see if you won all of these challenges. I’ll be shocked if you don’t! This is stupendous!! Wow. Hugs, Darnell

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

