Happy Birthday, Geri! SSS Monday 21/7 (Mid Summer), SSS Wednesday 23/7 (Emboss It), SSS Work It Wednesday #6 (Anything Goes)

I made a card to celebrate the birthday of a very special and sweet friend … Geri from Manitoba Stamper!  For those of you who don’t know Geri (yet), she’s warm, fun, funny, chock full of boundless enthusiasm and has the most fantastic gift for words … if you’ve seen her comments and poems, you’ll know exactly what I mean!  Not only is she all these amazing things and more, she’s also an awesomely talented graphic card maker … go, see for yourself if you haven’t paid a visit before!  So, my dear friend, Geri, this is for you … Happy, Happy, Happy Birthday … here’s wishing you a day overflowing with love, joy and fun … and a year to come filled with all your dreams come true!

myI came across this quilt on Pinterest and loved it’s graphic shapes, bold vibrant colours and wonderful white space … and thought it’d lend itself pretty well to being translated from fabric to paper.  So that’s what I did.  The lines were dry embossed across and down a white textured panel, I cut the coloured squares by hand (dies would’ve been good!), adhered them to the panel and ran a fine outline of matching colour around each one to give the impression of the sewn edges.  I made a frame on the base card using some stamped stripes (Papertrey), adhered the panel to the base and attached the sentiment (Clearly Besotted) … it was supposed to fit without obscuring the yellow square, but it wouldn’t co-operate!

It so happens that Geri’s card fits these challenges, so I’m playing along with …

SSS Monday – Mid Summer (yummy summery colours)

SSS Wednesday – Emboss It (lines for the quilt!)

SSS Work It Wednesday – Anything Goes (second entry)

Thanks so much for all your encouraging and wonderful comments over recent days.  It’s been a particularly full week for me and I haven’t had much time at all to pop into blogland or my inbox to reciprocate, so I’m playing catch up this afternoon (ha, like that’s new!).  I may even get to a card too … if so, I’ll be back!  Thanks so much for coming by … your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

  Simon Monday Challenge Blog          Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

workitwedbanner

33 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Geri! SSS Monday 21/7 (Mid Summer), SSS Wednesday 23/7 (Emboss It), SSS Work It Wednesday #6 (Anything Goes)

  1. Brenda

    Wow, this looks really cool Anita! I love the embossed lines, the black and white stripes and the color blocks. It looks just like the quilt on Pinterest. I’m off to check out Geri’s blog. Hugs, Brenda

    Reply
  2. Bev

    Oh yeah! Geri is going to adore this quilty, lovely, and perfectly CAS card, Anita. It’s got everything she (and we) love: vibrant colors, subtle lines, nice geometrics, and love included! This is just fantastic. Hope your Sunday is restful and relaxing, spent doing all the things you love. : )

    Reply
  3. serendipitydragonfly

    Hi Anita – Love your quilt card for Geri. It’s so bright and graphic and how good of you to cut out all those squares!!! I don’t think they make dies that small…….but you could use a ScanNCut or similar machine………..😊.

    Reply
  4. Rosemary D

    oh what a cool card, anita!! love the clean, graphic design… a design at which you excel, my friend!!

    Reply
  5. Anita

    Wow, this is so effective and what patience you must have to do this without dies! Fabulous card, I’m sure Geri will appreciate the work you put into this x

    Reply
  6. djkardkreations

    I think you captured the essence of Geri in your bright and fun graphic card, Anita!! She is going to be so surprised and so pleased!! Hugs, Darnell

    Reply
  7. Geri G

    Thank you soooooo much for the awesome card and sweet words dear friend! It’s FABULOUS!!! The bright colors made me smile all over my face! So nice to open my e-mail to find your sweet post amid the 9,000,000,000 junk e-mails! Will be in touch with all you gals later!

    xxx ooo Geri

    Reply
  8. Barbara Roe

    This is a masterpiece. The amount of work you put in to this heartfelt card is to be applauded. Again thanks for your kind comments. You do continue to amaze me.

    Reply
  9. lollthompson

    Hi Anita. Fabulous graphic card … make even more fun by the rainbow of colors. So pretty! Loll xx

    Reply
  10. Michele Ferguson

    Anita this is the most wonderful birthday card a girl could receive… so gorgeous, and I love the quilt that was your inspiration. Almost makes me want to quilt again!! I spent a bit of time looking over all the graphically beautiful quilts on Pinterest… they’ve come a long way from the days of Log Cabin =] Michele

    Reply
  11. Petra

    WOW, Anita, can’t believe you have made such neat squares without dies!!!! And your card is just sooo very striking and beautiful!!! I love the embossed lines and the fine lines on the frame and the sentiment looks great on the small banner!! You have really done a very neat job here!! I love it and surely Geri will, too!!!

    Have a great Tuesday!!!

    Reply
  12. BarbGhig

    What a lovely tribute to Geri…your card is really fabulous, and the colors are so vibrant and fun! I’m sure she is going to love it, too!

    Reply
  13. Shona Chambers

    Go those graphic squares!!! This is awesome, love the colours, love the layout, love everything about it. Your hand must be so much better after the ‘oven’ episode, as your cutting skills are incredible. I shake so much when I cut with scissors, mine would have been triangles! It must have taken a long time to do the ‘sewing marks’ around each square but its so worth it. Geri must love it so much and appreciate all your hard work. Beautiful!

    Reply
  14. Jingle

    This is AWESOME!!! Such a cool design! I love this! Thanks so much for playing along with the Emboss It! Challenge on the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Blog!

    Reply
  15. kimheggins

    Sorry to be so far behind in commenting again…this just gorgeous and I love all the bright and vivid colors. like a rainbow on a card. I am sure Geri will be over the moon happy to see that you are sending her rainbows from France! Enjoy your week!

    Reply
  16. Joyce M.

    What a fabulous rainbow quilt you made. So bright and pretty, and so many ideas that I am going to try to remember to use some time–especially those score lines and all the random squares.

    Reply
  17. c

    Ooh la la..that is one eye-catching quilt that i know our Geri will love immensely, as do I! if that were a real quilt (down-filled – very, very down-filled) I would plump that on my bed immediately! Graphic gorgeous, my friend! When we were in Bend, or more correctly, the small tourist town just outside Bend, called Sisters, I meandered into the quilt/knitting store, as i always do while my husband goes for a bike ride. We typically arrive when the local quilting show takes place, and oh my…the ‘material’ works of art are amazing! I’m ever so tempted to buy patterns/kits…until I remember I can’t sew a stitch! Just a sign of how stunning they are. Now, if I could sew…oh my….Anyway, that’s my babbly quilt story to go with your lovely card…
    Hugs~c

    Reply
  18. poppaeacards

    Love this card – you have put so many extra little details that make it extra special. You have the patience of a saint to cut out all of those little squares! Cx

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

