Happy Birthday, Bev! NBUS 2, SSS Wednesday 11/9 (Make Your Own Background)

Have you ever met someone that you liked immediately … and then the more you got to know them the more you realised what an amazing, caring, thoughtful, talented and delightful person they were?  I’m fortunate to say that I have … that someone is Bev at Happy Dance … and today we’re celebrating her birthday with a surprise party!  It’s usually Bev that throws the most amazing parties for everyone … this time she’s the surprisee!  The celebrations are going on over at Darnell‘s blog, and Ardyth is hosting the Linky party for all Bev’s cards.  If you know Bev already, you’ll want to head over to see her on her special day, and join in the fun at Darnell‘s and Ardyth‘s.  If you don’t know her, you’ll want to … so why not do the same thing … you really don’t want to miss out!   So, sweet Bev, I’m wishing you the Happiest of Birthdays … may your day be as special as you are … and may your year ahead be filled with joy, laughter and blessings galore!  We’re truly blessed to have you in our world, and I’m honoured and proud to call you my friend!    I made you this …

Happy Birthday Bev, NBUS 2, SSSW 11-9… which is currently winging it’s way to you across the miles … oh and there’s a little cake later!

I cut a spare Avery Elle ‘happy’ and used it as a guide to mark up where to slice a white card panel so that each letter would have a narrow stripe running through it.  Once the panel was sliced, the narrow strips were coloured with Promarkers, I covered a piece of copy paper with glue gun sticky and pieced the panel back together again.  I die cut the ‘happy’ out of colours to match the stripes, and out of the panel, stacked them all together with Glossy Accents and added a liberal coat of Wink of Stella.  The edges of a white card base were sponged with navy, the striped panel was adhered flat to the base and the stacked ‘happy’ was slotted into place.  I stamped the WPlus9 sentiment onto white card, cut it into a banner and nestled it under the ‘happy’.  A scattering of sequins with offset gems was the finishing touch.

Bev’s card is going to be joining in at …

Darnell’s NBUS Challenge – my second entry.  Just in case you’ve spent the last few years touring the universe, and don’t know about these things, NBUS stands for Never Before Used Schtuff.  It’s an acromym coined by the delightful Darnell, who is running her second NBUS challenge … this time to celebrate 600+ followers!  Can I also mention that as well as being delightful, Darnell is also amazingly generous … she’s offering ten (yes, 10!) US$25 prizes to randomly drawn winners!  See, told you, delightful and generous!  The die cut and sentiment were my NBUS … they came from the same happy package as yesterday’s NBUS.

SSS Wednesday – Make Your Own Background.   Yep, sliced, coloured, stuck and cut!

It’ll be really fun to come back a little later, see all Bev’s cards together at Ardyth’s and nibble on a little cake (see below) … so looking forward to it!  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

Never-Before-Used-Schtuff (Stamps, Dies, EFs, etc.)          Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

A little Piece of Heaven - This recipe is adapted from Nigella Lawson’s Guinness Chocolate Cake recipe that is in her Feast cookbook.  The cake is so beautiful and moist, and it lasts for ages. It has a fairly strong smell of Guinness, which to a non-Guinness drinking person may be off putting, but take one bite and you'll surely change your mind, well I certainly did.

31 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Bev! NBUS 2, SSS Wednesday 11/9 (Make Your Own Background)

  1. kimheggins

    Anita…your card is simply amazing and so beautiful and I am sure Bev will be over the moon excited. And your cake….now I have a very important question for you, did you make this cake??? I am not a fan of chocolate but this looks so so good.

    Reply
  2. djkardkreations

    Oh, wow, I had a hard time backing away from that cake, lemme tell ya! You French sure know how to make dessert!! And you, Anita, sure know how to design a fabulous card and pay tribute to a sweet and wonderful lady! You put a lot of work and MATH into your card for Bev and the result is sensational!! (Thank you for the shout out to me, too. You’re pretty generous with those!) Hugs, Darnell

    Reply
  3. djkardkreations

    PS. I thanked you for the shout out, but not pacifically for playing in my NBUS Challenge, so I flew back over to do that! Man, are my arms tired, har har! Seriously, THANK YOU!! Hugs, Darnell

    Reply
  4. Shona Chambers

    Very, very cool! You did a fantastic job keeping everything lined up, its perfection! And I really like those colours together, super modern. And as for that cake, I could quite happily plonk myself down in front of the tv with a fork and eat away….yummo!!

    Reply
  5. serendipitydragonfly

    Just love your card for Bev , Anita, but I love the cake even more!!! 😄 It’s such a wonderful card and love that you took so much trouble to actually slice the card and insert the narrow panels of colour rather then sticking them over the top……..meticulous. Bev’s going to love it.

    Hugs.

    Karen xxx

    Reply
  6. born57

    Anita ,this is a beautiful post for Bev! Your card is darling with the matching sequins …love it! I can’t believe those are in inserts and not just on top of the card….wow! That chocolate cake sure looks yummy! Hope you have a wonderful week!

    Reply
  7. Joyce M.

    Wow–that card is something else. Such an amazing background–very cool with the slivers of colors, die cut happy and sequins. And, no slivers of that cake, please–I want a full piece.

    Reply
  8. Bobby

    I’m drooling here, Anita. The card is yummy and so is your card. I hope it was easier to make than it was for me to understand the directions. 😉 Bev will be delighted with both.

    Reply
  9. Geri G

    Dang it all! I had such a nice comment composed and stupid Google ate it! Bugger!
    You have totalled channeled Bev with this card! I love the vibrant royal blue base. Simple, elegant, and a whole lot of precision slicing & dicing to get the strips lined up with the letters. My favorite – the individual matching sequins. Less is more was definitely the call on this CAS beauty! Bev is gonna love it!

    Reply
  10. susannev2014

    Another stunner from you! Love everything about your card and so will Bev! And now, could I have a slice of that scrumptious cake, please?

    Reply
  11. chriss58

    gorgeous card Anita! You must have an engineering background…that card is perfection! I am sure that Bev will love it!
    I have a card for Bev too, but no address. Could you PM it to me or should I contact Ardyth or Darnell?
    When is your birthday…i would love that info too 🙂 et l’addresse svp

    Reply
  12. Brenda

    Wow Anita, this card is so cool looking! I love the bright colors, which gives a festive look along with the sequins. Love, love it. Now I’m off to wish Bev a happy birthday and see if I can get a card made. Hugs, Brenda

    Reply
  13. Bev

    Sweet Anita! Thank you so much for the wonderful birthday post. I was so surprised at all the surprises I’ve seen today…words almost fail me. You have touched me all the way to my heart. This card is stunning. Perfect design, perfect colors, and made by a perfect friend. Thank you so much, and I can’t wait to hold it in my hands. And that cake….Oh. My. Goodness!!! I’m thinking that we’re going to need dozens of them, no…hundreds of them to share with all our party goers! It looks heavenly. Thank you sweet Anita. You’ve enriched my life so much, and I am truly blessed to call you friend. You’re the best. xoxo

    Reply
  14. Kelly Griglione

    Anita, you certainly have me scratching my head over here trying to figure out how you lined up the stripes! I will probably need to come back in the morning when I’m a little more alert : ) The matching sequins are a bonus design element! Lovely.

    Reply
  15. Lorraine A

    Gorgeous card Anita 🙂 I love the colours and CAS design and am sure Bev will love it too ! FABULOUS !!
    oohh,, the cake looks so yummy too 🙂

    thanks for joining us on the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge
    luv
    Lols x x x

    Reply
  16. BarbGhig

    You did a really amazing job on this card, Anita! I love how you lined up the colors and strips and your sentiment is fabulous! Perfect card for Bev!

    Reply
  17. c

    Hello, hello! Too much time has passed since my last visit, however, a gallery walk through your lovely creations is precisely what I need today! Of course, your card for Bev is dynamite! Stunning simplicity executed with precision…pure delight! As for the cake…please pass a fork! I’m ready to dig in! Hugs, dear friend!
    ~c

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

