Happy Birthday, Carol! Virginia’s View #10, SSS Wednesday 10/12, SSS Monday 15/12

Hello!  I’ve not been around in blogland too much recently (apart from Time Out DT posts that is) as I’ve been fighting a virus that’s been a bit of a challenge to shake off.  Today, though, is the birthday of one of our sweet friends and I didn’t want to miss wishing her a wonderful day … so this is for Carol (Just Me:C) … have a Very Happy Birthday, my friend … hope it’s a magical one and that the year ahead will be full of marvellous delights!  Your card is currently winging it’s way across the ocean …

Happy Birthday Carol, VV 10, SSSW 10-12, SSSM 15-12

In homage to Carol‘s fun relationship with Distress Inks, I used them for her card … smooshed some onto my craft mat, sprayed water around and used a panel of watercolour paper to pick up all the colour.  Once the panel was dry, it was Shimmer Spritzed it to give it sparkle (you can’t see it here, but it’s very shimmery IRL), I white heat embossed the Mama Elephant sentiment and then added a scattering of sequins and gems.  The base card was masked off, I sponged the black border and popped up the watercolour panel over it.  Voila!

For those of you who don’t already know Carol (if there is anyone who doesn’t!), you’ll want to … she’s fun, humourous, entertaining and fabulously talented … so do have a meander over to her blog, take your time to absorb all the deliciousness … and enjoy!

I’m linking up Carol’s card to …

Virginia’s View – All Things Distressed

SSS Wednesday – Bling It On

SSS Monday – Anything Goes

Due to my … erm … indisposition, my Feedly list has been rather neglected in recent times … and now it’s very, very, very long.  I’m looking forward to seeing all the wonderful inspiration that’s in there over the next few days … and to catching up with what everyone’s been creating!

Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

          Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog          Simon Monday Challenge Blog

31 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Carol! Virginia’s View #10, SSS Wednesday 10/12, SSS Monday 15/12

  1. c

    OMGorgeous, Anita…and so incredibly thoughtful of you to create this stunning ‘distressed’ beauty for me, especially when you’re feeling under the weather! I’m thrilled, honoured, delighted and all around tickled pink! And your post – I’m blushing at your kind words! You sure know how to add ‘sparkle’ to my day! Heart deeply touched, my dear friend! You are a treasure. Guaranteed you’ll hear the echoes of my joy (cheering, applauding, raucous happy dancing) and see lights in the sky (mega watt smile bursting out) when it arrives. Excited! You enrich my life immensely! Hope you feel better soon; sending positive vibes your way!
    Hugs
    ~c

    Reply
  2. chriss58

    Another beauty Anita! Love all of the distress ink colours and that beautifully embossed ME sentiment joyfully announces Carol’s birthday :). LOVE ❤️
    Hope you feel 100% very soon friend!
    Big hugs

    Reply
  3. Geri G

    Oh my…..these colors are so pretty all smooshed together, especially with just a peak of black playing a dynamic supporting role! Love the popped up panel. Carol is going to love this card! BTW, thank you so much for sharing her birthday news – I had no idea and would have felt terrible if I missed sending her b-day wishes.

    Hope you’re feeling well soon! I’m thinking you likely need another holiday! Right ?

    Reply
  4. quilterlin

    Beautiful, Anita – love the colors you mixed for this gorgeous background! Thanks for playing along with us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

    Reply
  5. Brenda

    Oh my goodness, it’s Carol’s birthday?!!! Well I will have to run right over to wish her a happy birthday! I love your card that you made Anita, it is so sunny and cheerful just like Carol is. Well done! I pray that you can shake this virus soon Anita and can enjoy the holiday’s. Hugs, Brenda

    Reply
  6. lollthompson

    Gorgeous birthday card for Carol … LOVE orange and pink (my favourite colour combo!). Love the large font sentiment .. so perfect in white embossed. Beautiful card Anita! Loll xx

    Reply
  7. kimheggins

    Anita this just beautiful and so fitting for miss c…I had no clue it was her birthday today, I spent an hour with her on the phone yesterday and she did not say a word to me about it. So happy you always seem to be on the ball with regard to bloggers special days. Your card is so amazing and I just love all those wonderful colors, just stunning.

    Reply
  8. susannev2014

    Oh, I didn’t know it was Carol’s birthday today! Thanks for letting us know! What a stunning card you made for her! Love those warm colors! And the sparkle is so perfect for Carol!
    Hope your virus left for good and that you will get your energy back soon!

    Reply
  9. Virginia Lu

    Wow, what’s not to love? I adore the colors and inking, Anita! So glad that you join the fun over Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Bling It On” Challenge! Thanks so much for playing Virginia’s View “All Things Distressed” Challenge, too!

    Reply
  10. Michele F

    Anyone that gets an Anita-made-card for her birthday must be very, very special! Love this gorgeous-ness! Off to give Carol a bit of birthday cheer… she shares this day with my daughter!

    Reply
  11. Barbara Roe

    Anita so sorry to hear you have not felt well. I did miss you but thought you were on vacation. I love this orange birthday card and so will your friend. Merry Christmas, Barb

    Reply
  12. BarbGhig

    This is the perfect card for Carol! Such happy colors and a great big wish for a Happy Birthday! I just know she’s going to treasure it, Anita!

    Reply
  13. Gerrina

    A beautiful background on this beautiful card!
    Know what you mean; our daughter has been ill since last week and it seems to stay the same since… Hope you get well soon, Gerrina

    Reply
  14. Shona Chambers

    You poor thing! This is not a good time of year to get sick and hope your feeling better soon so you can enjoy your Christmas. I think this card is so beautiful and love the way you smooshed those gorgeous colours together. I’m sure Carol is fall in love with it! Look after yourself and hope your feeling a little better each day.

    Reply
  15. djkardkreations

    Sorry, I’m late visiting with you, my little friend. I’ve been locked away making Ccs and I’m very sorry to hear that you have been locked away being sick with a virus! Your card for Carol is sensational and I know she will keep it in her treasured possessions forever! Feel better soon, Anita!! Hugs, Darnell

    Reply
  16. Anna-Karin

    I hope you feel better soon! This card is stunning, that background is really wonderful. Thank you so much for sharing with us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog! Merry Christmas!!

    Reply
  17. studio4490

    Oh no, I am so behind and now I’ve missed Carol’s birthday too. 😦 Your card is AMAZING and I bet she loved it!

    Reply
  18. Petra

    Carol has surely loved her card as much as I do, Anita!!! I love your wonderful DI bg – what great colours!!!! Lovely, happy sentiment looking great embossed in white on the bg and the sequins and bling just adds to the cheerful birthday feeling!!!!

    Reply
  19. Lindsey L

    Anita, this card is stunning! I could stare at it all day. I’m completely amazed by the background you’ve created with distress inks. And I’m really hoping that since you made this a few weeks ago that you’ve finally been able to shake that icky virus.

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

