My Favorite Things Summer School #2, #3, #4, #5, Wow! – June, SSS Wednesday 24/6

Marginal moment crafting can be very satisfying … particularly when life is crazy and there’s not a lot of real creative time available!  That’s what I’ve been doing of late … and tonight I have four cards to share … all made over a few days in those small moments of time between a whole heap of other rush rush, busy busy, must get done things!   Here’s where I started …

MFT SS 2, WOW June, SSSW 24-6… with a pretty little MFT speech bubble (cut at the Lake House) and some randomly stamped and white heat embossed Neat & Tangled blooms.  I did some watercolouring with Distress Inks, added some Wink of Stella (of course!), doodled in those trio clusters of little dots with a white gel pen and layered the whole thing onto a slip of matching-the-background vellum.  I heat embossed the Neat & Tangled sentiment, popped the speech bubble up on foam tape on the card base, and added a scattering of tiny seed beads, coloured with Promarkers to match the flowers.  This card is destined for …

My Favorite Things Summer School – Focal Point – instead of the speech bubble holding the sentiment, I used it as my focal point … if pretty mail could talk, this is what it would say!

Wow! – Summer – what says it better than a drift of sweet summer blooms!

SSS Wednesday – Anything Goes – my second entry

Next up, a kaleidoscope of butterflies …

MFT SS 3, SSSW 24-6 Here, I popped up MFT pierced rectangles (Lake House stash again!) onto the card base, to act as stepping points for those well drilled and choreographed fluttery vellum butterflies (PTI, thanks to my sweet friend, Chriss).  They were adhered just in the middle so that the wings could be folded upward to add to the sense of movement, and were dressed with a single gem each.  The placement of the Clearly Besotted sentiment running up the side of the popped up rectangles draws the eye along that sweet papillon swoosh!  They’re flying off to …

My Favorite Things Summer School – Movement/Flow – the stepping points going up the card, the swoosh of butterflies, their fluttery wings, the verticle sentiment.

SSS Wednesday – Anything Goes – my third entry.

A rather soft and subtle little number is next …

MFT SS 4, SSSW 24-6I cut an MFT Stax circle into a white card panel, sliced up some striped DP and adhered it down the two thirds line.  The leaf sprigs are from Poppy Stamps … I cut a couple of them, coloured one grey with a Promarker and arranged them in the circle, adhering the stems on the back and the leaves round the edge.  A larger MFT Stax circle was cut in black and adhered to the card base, and I popped the panel up on foam dots over it.  You’ll notice there’s no sentiment … the one I was going to use was a smidge too big for the space when I came to stamp it … hadn’t taken account of the leaves round the edge of the circle!  So rather than make do, I’ll add a sentiment to the inside … a ‘just because’, ‘thinking of you’ or ‘sending prayers’, I think.  Linking this card up to …

My Favorite Things Summer School – Line – my DP, drawing the eye to the focal point.

SSS Wednesday – Anything Goes – my fourth entry.

My final card, in contrast, is bold and graphic …

MFT SS 5, SSSW 25-6I sponged and blended Peacock Feathers, Salty Ocean and Chipped Sapphire Distress Inks onto an MFT on-the-line sentiment panel (once more, a Lake House find!), and popped the panel up onto the card base, positioned so that a narrow white strip was visible along the bottom.  To create the look of celebratory ‘champagne bubbles’, I mixed up some perfect pearls and splattered them gingerly (it’s splatter after all!) over the card.  The splatter looks a little grey in the photo … IRL it’s pearly and shiny and shimmery!  I’m playing along with …

My Favorite Things Summer School – Quiet Space/White Space – the bold sentiment panel pops against all that glorious white!

SSS Wednesday – Anything Goes – my final entry.

I’d like to thank my fellow Babes (Ardyth, Bev, Darnell, Geri, Kim), whose stashes I shamelessly raided at the Lake House, as well as my friend Chriss who sent me those wonderful butterflies … without all of whom, these marginal moment cards could never have been made!  Thanks so much, ladies!  Thanks so much to you too for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

Print

Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog          Click here to enter our current challenge and win some Wow! Embossing Powders!!

31 thoughts on “My Favorite Things Summer School #2, #3, #4, #5, Wow! – June, SSS Wednesday 24/6

  1. djkardkreations

    Oh, but thank you, too, Anita for all you shared at the Lake House! You spoiled us today by giving us these four spectacular cards in one post instead of one post dedicated to each! They are all worthy of their own individual posts, but we will take them however you show them and be grateful for the incredible inspiration!! MWAH! Hugs, Darnell

    Reply
  2. chriss58

    Oh my Anita! What lovely cards you have created in your “small moments”. I am blown away. Blown away! You have put these MFT lessons to exemplary use! I did see these awesome lessons, but could never come up with these awesome specimens.
    ps let me know if you would like any more butterflies. For a gal that doesn’t often use them, you sure do make butterflies fly!
    Hugs and Bisous XOX

    Reply
  3. lollthompson

    Gorgeous cards Anita. Each one is so unique and creative. It’s amazing what you have made with your “marginal” moments. And sharing with friends is part of the wonderful experience with being a part of this on-line crafting world … awesome!! xx

    Reply
  4. ardythpr1

    You’ve used your Lakehouse stash very well here! Love the stacked rectangles and butterflies as well as the grey leaves, the very Pretty Mail and the sponged celebrate! You’re doing very well in Summer School – A+, in my opinion!

    Reply
  5. BarbGhig

    Oh my, Anita ~ I think your Marginal moments are really “Magical Moments”! Every one of your cards are just beautiful! It’s hard to choose a favorite, but I must say the kaleidoscope of butterflies are so pretty trailing along the pierced rectangles and I love how you blended your inks on the last card! Amazing work and perfect for the MFT Summer School challenges…Good luck to you 🙂

    Reply
  6. Michele

    Soft and subtle wins the prize from me, Anita… on second thought… Chriss’ butterflies… oh I LOve them all and something from each strums my heart-strings! Thanks for all this beauty, my friend!
    =]

    Reply
  7. jennshurkus

    really beautiful cards! i love them all 🙂 thank you for playing a long with us at simon says stamp wednesday challenge!

    Reply
  8. Brenda L.

    Wow, wow, wow! I love all 4 cards Anita! The first one, so CAS and so cute. I love that background you made and cut your speech bubble out of-love the sentiment “pretty mail” and this is indeed pretty mail! Card 2, well this card is just amazing! I love those butterflies and the sweep they are making, the colors are beautiful and I love those butterflies on those panels. Card 3, well you just can’t get any more elegant than this! I love the DP cut and placed on the last 1/3 of the card, your “hole” is perfect for the leaf branches to sit in. Just stunning. And lastly card 4, a very festive card! I love the inking you have done, and I love the “splatters”, I bet they do look even more beautiful IRL. Sigh, you make the most beautiful cards Anita! Hugs, Brenda

    Reply
  9. Bev

    Just echoing all the lovely things said above me…and adding that each of these is gorgeous. Wish my cards were so “marginal,” lol! Seriously, in snippets of time you’ve created some really lovely cards. LOVE them all, and a little extra love for the third one with those branches. Thanks for the smiles that even the words “Lake House” brings. So many wonderful memories. And so many awesome cards here my friend. Missing you. Bisous, bisous

    Reply
  10. Sandie

    Fabulous set of cards, wish I could be as creative in such short bursts. Adore the flow of the butterflies and the sentiment layer of the last card is a winner!

    Reply
  11. serendipitydragonfly

    Four stunning cards Anita – can you please teach me about these “small moments” please!!! Never seem to get them………can’t decide on a favourite as they are all gorgeous.

    Hugs.

    Karen xxx

    Reply
  12. scrapawayg3

    Gorgeous cards, Anita! Love the partial die cutting and the spatter on your celebrate card.Thanks for playing along Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge 🙂

    Reply
  13. Virginia L.

    Delightful cards, Anita! Love the panel with the fluttering butterflies! Just lovely! Thanks so much for playing Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Anything Goes” Challenge! And congrats on your HM over Virginia’s View Ombre/Monochromatic Challenge!

    Reply
  14. Geri G

    Wow! If this is what MMC (marginal moment crafting) is guaranteed to produce, then sign me up! My MMC usually results in a bin full of scrap! Need to learn your method!

    Amazing creations! Gonna start with the butterflies, gently alighting on some pretty piano keys (first thing I though of) and filling the air with some nice soft music! The speech bubble card is beyond fun – love the whimsical feel you have captured. The ‘soft little number’ is exactly that – soft, subtle and elegant! The lines rock! Celebrate – mission accomplished with this card! Before I even read your post I thought that the ‘bubbles’ could have been confetti! Love how you think dear friend!

    Okay…now I’m off to actually do some work and earn my pay cheque!

    Reply
  15. kimheggins

    How fun to relive all those wonderful memories of the Lake House…so fun. And so many gorgeous cards too and why did I never see any of those dies at the Lake House…hmmmm, need to pay more attention next time!

    Reply
  16. Nora

    Oh WOW!! These cards are stunning!!! Sounds like you had a wonderful time at your lake house. I cannot pick just one card for my favorite in this bunch!!

    Reply
  17. cmayne

    Marginal moments marvelous, Anita! WOW! Of course, you know I’m swooning over the kaleidoscope of butterflies…so pretty! The speech bubble – brilliant and beautiful. Your ‘soft’ number – delicate and sophisticated. The bold and vibrant – definitely striking and eye-catching!
    Each one, monumentally amazing! Can you send Mr. Mojo my way for a bit of play? Again, in wonder and awe at your creativity…
    Hugs~c

    Reply
  18. Cornelia (fun stamping)

    Really pretty, indeed! Just wonderful how you made the speech bubble come alive! – Your string of butterflies fluttering over those perfectly spaced rectangles – amazing! On to your next card – one of those wonderful CAS creation only you can come up with – so little with so much impact! and your last card – reminds me about the ocean – such pretty color blending and those fun splatters – perfection!

    Reply
  19. TK

    Anita, these are so awesome and I can hardly believe it was marginal moments! Man, it would take me a week to come up with that swooshing butterfly movement! Love all of them but I guess the butterflies and the bold/graphic grabbed at me the most. So wonderful!

    Reply
  20. Petra

    What a feast for the eye, Anita!!! And you really made these in spare moments …unbelievable …I would sit for hours and not be able to come up with such fantastic creations!!!! You have such an incredible talent for doing CAS cards!!!! Right from the first one with the clever use of the speech bubble, the second with the stunning fluttery butterflies, the one with the clever use of the leaves die, the circle and the grey strip to the last one with the happy champagne bubbles …they are all done perfectly, Anita!!!! Wow, wow WOW!!!!!! Love them all!!!!

    Reply
  21. Shona Chambers

    What a busy girl you’ve been even though you haven’t actually had much time!! I so fell in love with your speech bubble card. The pretty coloured flowers with the pale blue background is heavenly. And those sweet butterflies are a vision in their synchronized flying. Your third card is extremely stylish and love how you coloured the leaves grey, such a subtle touch and I hadn’t realised there was no sentiment, thats how good that card is!! And that blending for your fourth card is so yummy and love the speckled glints across the card. Your card making skills are just exploding these days….do you see the difference?? As they say in the movies ‘you’ve come a long way baby’ and I’m excited to see where you end up!!

    Reply
  22. Joyce M.

    I don’t even know where to begin….so much color and lovliness in this post. You really managed to get so much done in the little bits of time. I know what you mean because that is often how I can crank out so many cards over the course of a week. Love the bold and rich coloring of the little flowers on the first card, your twirling tower of mini butterflies in your second, your wonderful window on the third and your amazing blended panel on your last card.

    Reply
  23. Bobby

    You really learned a lot in summer school, Anita, and did your homework well. I don’t know why but the first thing I thought of when I saw the butterfly card was piano keys, like those lovely creatures were playing a tune.

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

