MFT Summer School #6, Muse #124, CAS(E) This Sketch #132, CAS-ual Fridays #141, SSS Monday 13/6 … and a Request!

Isn’t it fun when the challenge stars align?  That’s what happened today … I was inspired in so many places (and will explain later) … like to see?

MFTSS2 1, Muse 124, CTS 132, CFC 141, SSSM 13-6I took a pierced rectangle from My Favorite Things (Lake House stash), stamped and heat embossed the daisies from Annabelle Stamps (sadly no longer operating), masked the image and used Distress Inks to sponge and blend the grass and sky.  Once the panel was dry, I coloured the daisies and leaves with Promarkers, added lots of Wink of Stella to the flower centres and topped it with a couple of coats of Glossy Accents.  The panel was used as a guide to position the Avery Elle sentiment, which was stamped and heat embossed onto the card base, and the panel was popped up on fun foam above it.

This is where my inspiration came from …

My Favorite Things Summer School Lesson 6 – Gallon (the blue sky), Quart (the green in the grass and leaves, Pint (the yellow daisy centres) … great teach-ins and tons of inspiration from MFT for this second session of Summer School … I’ve never consciously used G/Q/P, so the theory is new for me … maybe it’s because we use litres here (tee hee)!

MuseArdyth is our muse this week (an unexpected treat!) … her fun and whimsical card is below … my interpretation doesn’t take a lot of explaining, apart from saying that it has a little more white space, inspired by the sketch at …

CAS(E) This Sketch – N@Alie has given us a great sketch (below) … I used a little artistic license with the sentiment, but as some of the DT had too, I guessed that was ok!

CAS-ual Fridays – Embossing … there’s a new format for CF challenges … one theme, two styles … Clean and Simple or Utterly Adorable Layers (clever play on the name, huh?).  There are new DT members too (including my super talented friends Claire and Shona), so if you haven’t checked it out yet, you really don’t want to miss it!

SSS Monday – Anything Goes … don’t you just love the freedom of an Anything Goes challenge?

Finally tonight, a Request:  I have a recent follower, non blogger Kerstin from Sweden (Hi, Kerstin … delighted to have you along … you’re very welcome!) who has been on the hunt for the Stampendous Ranunculus Clear Stamp Set for ages, using all channels available, but without any luck.  Seems it may have been retired in favour of the wood block ranunculus bouquet, which is not what she’s after.  My set is fairly recent, so I’m not ready to part with it at the moment … but I’m appealing on behalf of Kerstin … is there anyone out there who has this set in their stash who would be willing to sell it?   If so, please contact Kerstin direct (kerstin at travelsite dot se … spam avoiding address … you know which bits to change!) … she’d be over the moon to hear from you!

Hope your weekend has been wonderful … thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

Print                    

          Simon Monday Challenge Blog

44 thoughts on “MFT Summer School #6, Muse #124, CAS(E) This Sketch #132, CAS-ual Fridays #141, SSS Monday 13/6 … and a Request!

  1. kerstin462kesu

    Thank you sooo much for your call out, Anita! You’re a star. Crowwing my fingers …

    As for the beautiful card, I’m so impressed by your masking. I noted that you masked your butterfly the other day before splashing some subtle colours on the card. I’m louse at masking, but will give it a go (again) now that I’ve been inspired here.

    Reply
  2. stampersuzz

    What a cheerful card! Lovely design and the daisies are wonderful! Thanks for playing along with the Anything Goes Challenge at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

    Reply
  3. lollthompson

    Sweet! Love your summer daisies, Anita. Haven’t heard about gallon/quart/pint before, but get the meaning. Hmmm … will have to think about that one. Thanks for sharing. xx

    Reply
  4. chriss58

    Oh, she is lovely! Gorgeous proportions and colour! Such a cheery image and in awe of blending and sponging skills by you and Ardyth!

    Reply
  5. Bonnie Novak

    I have struggled finding a white cardstock with the nice texture of this card. Could you comment on what paper you use? Thanks. Love the card

    Reply
  6. susannev2014

    So very pretty and it works perfectly for all the challenges!
    Sorry, but I can’t help Kerstin as I don’t own that stamp!
    Hope you had a wonderful weekend! Mine was very social which was fun but didn’t leave time to be creative!

    Reply
  7. TK

    Beautiful card – just as wonderful as Ardyth’s! And I have to admit, I think you rang every bell you could on the challenge boards! Congrats…

    Reply
  8. kimheggins

    Oh my goodness Anita…you are so right with regards to the challenge God’s, this is so fun when you are lucky enough to have so many challenges that your fabulous card fits into. Just love your amazing inking and your sweet flowers with their shiny centers. So sweet! Miss you lots.

    Reply
  9. Angie Tieman

    What a cute, happy card! Love the blue and green background and the detail on your little flower centers! Thanks for playing along with us at CAS-ual Fridays!

    Reply
  10. Margaret Rorie

    What a great take on the Muse card – very CAS. That’s the second time I’ve read about pints, quarts etc in a blog post and now I think I get it! Must have a look at that site.

    Reply
  11. lostinpaper

    Absolutely wonderful Anita! I haven’t had any ‘challenge’ time lately but plans are afoot to correct that real soon (my hubby is going away for a week.. wink)!

    Reply
  12. ardythpr1

    Fantastic! I love those daisies (I have them and am sad to hear that Annabelle isn’t around anymore). So glad you joined us at Muse this week, my friend!

    Reply
  13. Michele

    As just one of the members of the CTS team, I hereby grant to you all the artistic license you’d like, Anita! Oh this is the cutest little crop of daisies since – well, since Ardyth’s!
    Clear Ranunculus stamp, Anita!!! Had never known such a set existed that was just like the one I have in rubber-on-wood. Good luck to Kerstin! Lovely ‘homework’ for the MFT lesson, my friend…
    =]

    Reply
  14. Brenda L.

    Oh Anita, your card is simply gorgeous! I love those daisies, I mean who doesn’t love daisies?!! Your bright sky and grass just make those daisies pop forward, I felt like I could reach out and pick on of them. That is a lot of inspiration and you were inspired beautifully! I wish I could help out with the stamp but I don’t own one. 😦 Hugs, Brenda

    Reply
  15. Geri G

    I see by one of the above comments that the Lakehouse Babes are not the only ones swooning over this decadent paper!

    Speaking of swooning….this card definitely made me lightheaded from gasping when I saw your AMAZING CASE of Ardyth’s card! A beautifully blended, clean & tidy masterpiece that now takes over #1 spot on my Fav Anita Card List!

    Reply
  16. cmayne

    Anita, I want to sit, gazing in wonder and delight, at a field filled with these lovely daisies, and take in the serene, pretty surroundings you’ve created for us! Such a gorgeous card…and those daisies…oh my! Fabulous, my friend! And yes, echoing Geri with ‘WWCD”!
    Hugs~c

    Reply
  17. conil

    Appears that you hit the jackpot with this card, which, by the way, is perfectly lovely. Always a treat when you can kill several bird with one stone, so to speak. I definitely DO NOT condone killing birds with anything. Anyway, this card just makes me smile. Love it!

    Reply
  18. Claire A

    What a fabulous take on all those challenges Anita – the challenge stars really have aligned! Those wonderful daisies are such a clean contrast against the sponged background and I love the glossy centres. Thanks for the sweet shout out and thanks for joining in at CAS-ual Fridays!

    Reply
  19. Petra

    Looking at all the challenges you combine in making one amazing card, Anita, you inspire me to take a look at many more challenges than the two or three I take part in!!! I realise that I will have to spread my wings and get out of my comfort zone if I want to continue growing in card-making!!!! Just such a great pity I am so limited with what I can get over here and it is sooooo costly to order from overseas – the shipping costs is sky high and with the SA Rand that is not very strong it really is so expensive to buy new things!!! And you know what happened to me – hubby was so kind to have me order stuff from MFT in March and it was quite a big order, but it never reached me!!!! Someone at the Post Office must have thought that there was something valuable in the box which had ‘My Favorite Things’ printed on it and what’s more it was also somewhat heavy ’cause it had some cs in, too!!! They just took it and was definitely disappointed with what they found inside and just dumped my ink pads, cs, stamps and dies somewhere!!!! Oh boy, I’m so upset about it – I couldn’t wait for it to arrive, but as the weeks gone by I realised that someone has stolen my parcel!!!! I even used some money I got as Christmas and birthday gifts from my MIL!!!! Oh dear, I still feel like crying about it!!!!!
    But back to your stunning card, Anita!!!! I absolutely adore those fantastic daisies you’ve got there and what a great bg you have created with the green and blue sponging!!! Love the cute little leaves and the gloss you have in the centres of the daisies!!!! The sentiment is so special!!!! As always …just beautiful!!!!
    Hope someone will have the stamp for your friend!!!!
    Have a wonderful day!!!!

    Reply
  20. Shona Chambers

    Such happy flowers!! This card looks taller and thinner than normal (not like myself unfortunately…..), must be the tall, slender flowers stretching the card out. Beautiful background and love that the flowers are popped up on that panel against the white. Thanks so much for the shout-out for CAS-ual Fridays, the challenge has been so popular. And speaking of popular, hasn’t this TO challenge been a big hit??!!! So many gorgeous cards, how will we choose a winner!!! Hope all is good with you. We are fighting ants, mice and no hot water at the moment. Oh, and minus 0 degree frosts every morning so life is interesting. Hopefully I can shower in the morning but its not looking good….and hopefully the ants and mice don’t get to me in the middle of the night……

    Reply
  21. Gerrina

    I love it when so many challenges can come together on a beautiful card! That way you can participate in many and keep some time to do the nescessery things :)!
    Love the bright colours and the crisp design! Hugs, Gerrina

    Reply
  22. Mary H.

    The clear sky & grass make such a fresh & cool background for these very sweet daisies. Love the stitching, and the Glossy Accented centers gleam so nicely. A perfect summer card. TFS & Hugs

    Reply
  23. Joyce M.

    Such a pretty and happy card. Love your ink blending and how you were inspired by so many different challenges. Looks like Ineed to go to summer school with you. I am only on my tablet, not computer, but I think that Ihave that Rannuculus stamp and it is a cling stamp and Igot it not too long ago from Joanns on line. Has your friend checked there?

    Reply
  24. djkardkreations

    I do think it’s amazing how often the challenge stars line up and how many I find AFTER I’ve made my card! You have rocked them all, my friend, as you always do IMHO!! This card is divine! I’m so sorry if I have missed some of your posts while I was away! It was a wonderful holiday with my dishy Mister, but it’s nice to be settled back into visiting my friends again!! Mwah and lots of love, Darnell

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

