Time Out DT #41, MFT Wednesday Sketch #248, Uniko #25, SSS Monday 28/9, SSS Wednesday 30/9, SSS Work It Wednesday – September

Hello!  Not a great deal of card making going on here recently … my creativity’s been even more active than usual on the renovation, so there’s not been a lot of space for anything else (as you may have noticed from not having me visit!).  However, I have made a card to share with you for our wonderful new challenge at Time Out which starts today … this fortnight we’re ‘Inspired By Words’ … from American poet William Callum Bryant … ‘Autumn, the year’s last, loveliest smile’.  Here’s what I came up with  …

Time Out DT 41Time OutI stamped and heat embossed Hero Arts‘ Simple Leaves background onto a white card panel and sponged it diagonally with a range of blended, ombré, autumnal colours.  The panel was trimmed to size and split to allow me to add the Paper Smooches stacked and offset sentiment over the gap.  I popped the sponged panel pieces up on the card base, adhered the die cut ‘thanks’ and scattered a few sequins to finish off.  This colour palette is a bit of a departure for me as I rarely use autumnal shades … and the finished card seems to me for all the world to be just like a vintage suitcase … complete with gold locks!

So, how might our quote get your imagination going?  You can use all or any of the words to spark your creativity … and we’d love for you to link up and play along with us!  There’s heaps of inspiration over on the Time Out blog … from our talented Guest Designer, Glenda from My Paper Cat … and from our fabulous DT … look forward to seeing you in the gallery!

I’m joining in the fun at …

MFT Wednesday Sketch – see below

Uniko – Autumn/Fall with a twist of ‘Thanks’

SSS Work It Wednesday – Use a Stamp

SSS Monday – Ombré

SSS Wednesday – Anything Goes

Hope to be meandering through blogland on and off over the next few days … looking forward to seeing you … and being inspired!  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

            Right Click to Save!

Simon Monday Challenge Blog            Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

workitwedbanner

40 thoughts on “Time Out DT #41, MFT Wednesday Sketch #248, Uniko #25, SSS Monday 28/9, SSS Wednesday 30/9, SSS Work It Wednesday – September

  1. sandie

    Love the ombre look and the stacked die in gold just perfect for an Autumn card. Missing you in blogland but great the house is going well. Don’t get too tired!

    Reply
  2. serendipitydragonfly

    Gorgeous card Anita, the colours are wonderfully autumnal. Love your raised sentiment.

    Hugs.

    Karen xxx

    Reply
  3. caryndavies

    This is so stylish Anita – I love the soft fall colours.
    Thanks for joining in with us at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge this week!
    Hugs,
    Caryn xxx

    Reply
  4. Michele

    You ‘wear’ those colors well, Anita – it nearly replicates my world at the moment as our Sassafras are surely wearing their last loveliest smile! I love the design, and the Hero Arts b.g. stamp is new to me – gorgeous!
    =]

    Reply
  5. Barbara Roe

    It is beautiful Anita. I thought you used a stencil and the ombre looks great. You may not be attracted to autumn colors but your card speaks otherwise. Thanks for visiting me you are a dear. How much longer before your remodel is completed? I am guessing a long time. 🙂 Barb

    Reply
  6. jmhave44

    Wonderful use of this abstract leaf stamp with the ombre colors as you’ve shaded here. I am also loving the split design with the awesome dimension of the sentiment. The sentiment has a nice metallic look to it, and of course the great placing of the sequins (which I can never decide how they look right!). TFS & Hugs

    Reply
  7. BarbGhig

    Gorgeous card,Anita! I love how you blended the fall colors on a diagonal for the background, and your design is so modern and pretty! Love the font on your sentiment, too! I’m so happy to see that you’re creating again 🙂

    Reply
  8. conil

    This really is stunning. That ombre background knocks me out. Hope you survive your reno without tearing out your hair. When we did ours, I didn’t think we’d live through it.

    Reply
  9. susannev2014

    Your autumnal sponging on the white embossed background looks superbe with the shiny golden die cut! Your take on any challenge always makes me swoon!
    Hope your renovations go smoothly!

    Reply
  10. Geri G

    …missing you….but it was sure nice to see you pop up in my mailbox today XX OO

    First off…the embossed/offset sentiment is amazing! I was sure that it was a real metal, purchased element! Incredible inked background and perfectly placed blings!

    Sounds like you are working hard! Don’t overdo it pal! Sure wish I could have said (again) that we will see the results of your hard work soon… 😦

    Reply
  11. Dana

    Beautiful card Anita! The sponged panel is amazing and I love that you split it to ground the sentiment. Stunning!

    Reply
  12. born57

    Hi ! Happy to hear you are getting creative on your renovation. You are still creative In card making ,this is amazing and I love the split sentiment ! The colors are gorgeous for fall!

    Reply
  13. Sarah

    Eye-poppingly stunning, clever and full of glorious autumn shades!
    Simply beautiful and thanks so much for linking up and playing along at Uniko
    Sarah x

    Reply
  14. chriss58

    Lovely ombré on this beautifully heat embossed background! Some of my favourite Fall colours and yes, it does have a vintage feel. Love your sentiment…you always place your elements so perfectly!
    Bon weekend!
    Bisous! Enjoy your Fall weather 🙂

    Reply
  15. Deborah Frings

    Love the ombre autumnal colours on that lovely background – looks stunning. And the diecut thanks is just super. Thanks so much for playing along with our autumn theme at Uniko!

    Reply
  16. djkardkreations

    It’s obvious that you saved a huge chunk of creativity for this card, Anita! It is one of your best! I love everything about it and have no doubt it will be another challenge(s) winner!! Do you have reno photos to share by any chance????? Enjoy your weekend! I miss you!! Hugs and Mwahs!! Darnell

    Reply
  17. Nonni

    This is so stylish! What a cool stamp and I love these colors. You know what Anita, I received a birthday card from you this week! Who knows where it had been travelling… But I have it now and it’s stunning! Thank you so much! xxx

    Reply
  18. Jill V

    Seriously stunning Anita – the design is so eye catching and you really made it pop with those Autumn colours! Ooooh I so love that golden die cut – the perfect shiny finishing touch! Jill

    Reply
  19. Andrea Ockey Parr

    WOW! If this is the kind of thing you create when your creativity is low, then I want your low kind of creativity!! The pattern is so striking and the ombre effect is lovely. I also really liked how you left that break in the pattern for your sentiment and how you added metallic touches. Thank you so much for sharing your talents with us for this week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

    Reply
  20. Shona Chambers

    Hope the renovating is going well and you find the energy to get back into card making soon!! This one is so gorgeous and just love that background stamp you used. Beautiful Autumn colour blending too, I never think of green being an Autumn colour but it totally makes sense to me now. Looks amazing!!

    Reply
  21. Joyce M.

    This is so gorgeous and absolutely perfectly done. Amazing job of embossing, and I love how you have used so many pretty fall colors. I did not notice your blogland absence–probably because I have been absent myself–running around etc. etc.

    Reply
  22. Beverley

    I love the BG you’ve used, it resembles the pattern of our bedroom wallpaper! Love the colours too. Thanks so much for joining in on the Uniko Challenge. Hugs Bev x

    Reply
  23. Petra

    I couldn’t help but smile at your comment about the vintage suitcase, Anita!!! I’ve got one that I got from my late FIL and hubby and the boys think it awful, but I love it!!! And for sure I love your card as well!!! Your stamped panel is beautiful and what a great idea to do the sponging on the diagonal – the autumn colours are wonderful!!!! The split in your bg panel with the gold sentiment mounted on top of it is brilliant and looks fab!!!! This is such a beauty, Anita!!!

    Reply
  24. Bobby

    So here I am, two weeks behind again in commenting. I had to read every word of your post to see how you did this gorgeous card. You may not do autumn often but they are some of my favorite colors and with the embossed leaves they are beautiful. I got a chuckle with the luggage image but that stacked ‘thanks’ really brings the whole card together.

    Reply
  25. cmayne

    Vintage suitcase? I wish I had a valise as pretty as this card, my friend! You’ve elevated Simple Leaves to stunning and the autumn palette truly is swoon-inducing! Amazing your eloquent ‘creative expression’ despite the time invested in renovations! In awe…
    Hugs~c

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

