Time Out DT #41 Mid Challenge Reminder, Simply Create Too #95, SSS Work It Wednesday – September, SSS Monday – 5/10, SSS – WCMD

Hello!  Popping in with a quick post for our in between week at Time Out, which still has almost a week to run … this fortnight we’re ‘Inspired By Words’ from American poet William Callum Bryant … ‘Autumn, the year’s last, loveliest smile’.  This is my graphic, watercolour-y take …

Time Out DT 41RTime OutA watercolour card panel was stamped and heat embossed with the Uniko ‘thanks’ and I coloured the letters in an ombré fashion in autumn colours.  It looked a bit stark as it was, so I spritzed it with water (lots of it!) … the panel curved itself into a rolling pin shape and the colours ran gently around it.  By the time they’d done all that running, there wasn’t a lot of colour left in the letters, so I redid them .. and because the card was still damp, each letter developed a little halo of colour around it.  It’s much prettier IRL than it looks here … especially after I’d added Glossy Accents and a sprinkling of sequins … and popped it up onto a masked/sponged (to create the border) base card.  It did need to sit under an enormous dictionery overnight to flatten though!

What goes through your mind when you read our quote?  Whichever direction your imagination takes you, we’d love it if you’d make a card inspired by any or all of our words … and play along with us!  There are ideas galore over on the Time Out blog … from our talented Guest Designer, Glenda from My Paper Cat … and from our wonderful DT … hope to see you in the gallery!

I’m linking up with …

Simply Create Too – Autumn Splendour

SSS Monday – Autumn is in the Air

SSS Work It Wednesday – Use a Stamp

SSS – World Card  Making Day

Still not around so much in blogland (or emailonia) at the moment … although I will be back later today with a little something … it’s a secret for now!  Looking forward to catching up over the next few days with what everyone’s been doing this week … what a lovely helping of inspiration that’ll be!  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

Our Blog Badge          Simon Monday Challenge Blog

workitwedbanner         SSS_worldcardmakingday

35 thoughts on “Time Out DT #41 Mid Challenge Reminder, Simply Create Too #95, SSS Work It Wednesday – September, SSS Monday – 5/10, SSS – WCMD

  1. Sandie

    wonderful watercolouring and I think it looks fabulous here. I like the way you have put extra colour on the sentiments…will be back to see what this secret is!

    Reply
  2. ardythpr1

    This is such an amazing card – I bet you were panicking as it rolled up (I certainly would have been) but it turned out beautifully. Watercolour is an act of faith! lol!

    Reply
  3. susannev2014

    Love the soft look of the running watercolors and enjoyed reading about the process! You picked the perfect colored sequins to finish off this beautiful card!

    Reply
  4. Michele

    I’ve done a bit of ‘paper pressing’ myself recently, Anita … your results are much prettier than mine!! This is gorgeous – thank YOU!
    =]

    Reply
  5. Barbara Roe

    Cooool, as my husband would say. Isn’t it interesting the direction our creations turn. Had you tried to get this amazing look it probably would not have happened. It is a watercolor reflection. Cal says “cool,” and I say “lovely.” 🙂 Barb

    Reply
  6. TK

    Your card is wonderful, I wish I had the guts to keep trying when I think I’ve done blundered it! I’m still working on that watercolor thingy…

    Reply
  7. conil

    Your creatiivity just knocks me out…this is really extraordinarily beautiful. And it fulfills the “word” challenge perfectly. Those colors just scream Autumn to me.

    Reply
  8. Sarah Gray

    Love the soft effect of the watercolours….mine only ever seem to run together to make sludge! Great Autumn colours with that fab, bold Uniko greeting 🙂

    Reply
  9. born57

    Beautiful graphic watercolor, Anita! The embossing with watercolor is beautiful so is your background . Hugs!

    Reply
  10. shirley-bee

    Ooh, I love your spritzed card, Anita! I like how you redid the letters to deepen their colours. I often find cards under heavy boxes – days or weeks after I’d put them there!

    Reply
  11. cheiron

    So pretty. Love the look of this technique. Thank you so much for playing along with us over at the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog this week 🙂

    Reply
  12. kimheggins

    Amazing card Anita…what a fun and sweet way to say thanks! I love the colors and your incredible inking! Miss you lots.

    Reply
  13. Jill V

    So pretty Anita – I just love how you let the paper curl to create that gorgeous flow of watercolour – so perfectly dreamy! Jill

    Reply
  14. Petra

    WOW, your watercoloured panel really turned out beautifully, Anita!!!! The soft colours with the lovely, darker coloured sentiment really looks great and the ombre effect is lovely!!! So clever to cut the one sequin in half and have a piece at the top and bottom of the sentiment!!!!
    A lovely card, my friend!!!

    Reply
  15. cmayne

    Water-colouring…officially on my “nope” list, which means that seeing your lovely card here has all the more impact for me! I’m not inspired to give this a try (saving the forests, trust me!), but I am smitten with and crushing over the creativity YOU have shared with us! Beautiful!
    Hugs~c

    Reply
  16. Bobby

    I love the way the colors run up and down the panel, Anita. Watercoloring is so unpredictable but sometimes the results happily surprise us.

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

