Time Out DT #42, Virginia’s View #19, SSS Monday 12/10, SSS Wednesday 14/10

Hello!  Today sees the start of another fabulous challenge at Time Out … this fortnight our theme is Home Sweet Home … with a wonderful inspiration photo (see a little further down) … here’s my take …

Time Out DT 42Time Out… and here’s the cool, spooky and halloweeny inspiration …

Spray paint dollar store glass candle sticks black and add pumpkins for Halloween decoration

I went with the colours, patterns and shapes of these amazing decorated pumpkins, using SSS One With Nature trees, stamped in black Versafine, watercoloured with Distress Inks and gently spritzed with water to give the effect of texture.  The stamped panel was trimmed down, I added a slender strip of DP top and bottom and popped the whole thing up on foam tape onto the base.  The sentiment (from the same set) finished it off.  No shine, no bling … just QACAS!

Where does your imagination take you when you look at this picture … there’s so much to see … shapes, patterns, colours, shine, pumpkins, bird … just let your mind wander!  We’d love it if you played along with us … there’s plenty of inspiration over at the Time Out blog, from our talented Guest Designer TaeEun (Rainbow In November) and from our wonderful DT.  Hope to see you in the gallery!

I’m joining in the fun at …

Virginia’s View – All Things Coloured … second entry

SSS Monday – Wonderful Watercolour … the trees

SSS Wednesday – Inspiration Board (below) … the photo of that amazing tree lined road

Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

          Simon Monday Challenge Blog

Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog          fall-halloween-inspiration

30 thoughts on “Time Out DT #42, Virginia’s View #19, SSS Monday 12/10, SSS Wednesday 14/10

  1. lostinpaper

    You have reminded me that I have this stamp set and I’ve hardly had a chance to use it, your card is fabulous and such an inspiration. I really need to find some extra hours in the day lol.

    Reply
  2. ardythpr1

    Beautiful! Modern Autumn – love the graphic trees and the selective colouring. And as always, I admire the way you’ve combined so many challenges so effortlessly (it looks that way anway!)

    Reply
  3. Michele

    OH so darling!! Thank you, Anita, for giving me one more way to use this fabulous set from SSS! I see you’ve taken your cue from your courtyard, aussi? Just gorgeous with those tiny striped trimmings! I always love that sentiment … though ’round here? Nature seems to be wearing Nikes these days! XX
    =]

    Reply
  4. Geri G

    LOVE YOUR CARD!!! A clean & graphic delight – especially with the peek of DP! Who’da thunk that a wee spirtz of water could add so much texture to an image! Really liking the ombre look of the inks too 🙂

    …so now that I see your gorgeously clean and graphic card, I’m REALLY kicking myself for not ordering this tree stamp from SSS last week! Dang it – now I’ll have to pay another round of postage!

    Reply
  5. susannev2014

    I adore your partially colored trees (you have given me another reason why I want this set) with the b/w strips! Such a modern and graphic look – swoon!

    Reply
  6. Bev

    Oh my darling friend. This is one amazing QACAS card. I love this. From those amazing trees, which by the way, I’ve been fighting NOT buying as we have some contractors to pay soon…, to that bit of striped dp on the top and bottom of the panel, everything is perfect. So cool. Your design is delectable! I see Geri’s been fighting not buying this set too. And Susanne. Girl, with this fabby card, you will probably have made SSS sell out of this set, lol!!! Love it!! Miss you and bisous, bisous. xo

    Reply
  7. Joyce M.

    Love how you have used those SSS trees. So clean and striking. the bit of pattern paper between your sentiment and focal panel just adds that extra something to your fantastic design.

    Reply
  8. chriss58

    Love this elegant, graphic scene. The colour variations achieved in each tree are amazing and the slender strips add just the right grounding! Every time that I see this set in use, I remind myself that I must add to my list! Beautiful, mon amie!

    Reply
  9. BarbGhig

    I love how you played with the shapes and colors from the inspiration photo, Anita! Your trees are so fun, and the diagonal striped borders are fabulous! Awesome font on the sentiment, too!

    Reply
  10. pinnednpenned

    Just came over from Time Out. I was rereading my “getting to know you post” from last year, incredulous that it’s been a year since, and i was thinking how this first 1/2, really nearly 3/4, of 2015 has not provided me time to keep up with everyone and craft/post with frequency. So the past few weeks i’ve been trying to revisit and catch up with my online crafty friends who are on my mind if not the receiving end of my keyboard!! You are one of them! LOVE this card so much. Inspired to join this new-to-me challenge & hope I can soon play along. Hope, too, that you are well!!

    Reply
  11. Lisa Kind

    I love this image! Your card is so pretty! That black and white diagonal stripe border is perfect as well! Great take on the photo!

    Reply
  12. Petra

    Oh, I love the thin black and white strips you’ve got at the top and bottom of your tree panel, Anita – it is just so effective and turns this card into a stunner!!!! The little trees and how you have coloured it, is very striking and I love the sentiment – the typewriter font is so lovely and perfect here!!! This is really beautiful and I LOVE it!!!!
    Have a wonderful day!!!

    Reply
  13. Jill V

    This is absolutely stunning Anita! The way that you’ve coloured the trees is absolutely brilliant – I love the combination of orange and white with the black outline! I actually purchased this stamp set a while back but I have yet to ink it up – you’ve inspired me to do do now! Jill

    Reply
  14. conil

    You’ve done it again. Wowed me down to the ground. Hope you’re happy. I would love to have and infintesimal mote of your talent just for a short time. Anyway, I do get to look at your creations which really are blessings.

    Reply
  15. Dana

    Gorgeous card Anita! I love how you interpreted the pumpkins with the graphic tree image. Perfect layout to highlight the trees and keep it CAS.

    Reply
  16. stampersuzz

    Beautiful. Love the way you alternated the color in the trees/branches. Lovely design! Thanks for joining us in the Watercolor challenge at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

    Reply
  17. cmayne

    One of the most lovely showcases of this set I’ve seen…and trust me, I’ve seen plenty because I’ve been dithering and dallying about whether or not to invite it into my collection! Looks like I should have! Your leaves/trees, sporting their pretty orange, are fabulous; the strips of stripe. add such impact…
    Hugs~c

    Reply
  18. Bobby

    I love those modernistic trees and the way you colored them, Anita. I never think to add a strip of DP to my panel and it makes such a difference on your card.

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

