Seize The Birthday 22/10 – Surprise Party Guest, AEIHeartU #29, SSS Wednesday 21/10, Muse #137

Hello again!  If you’re looking for my reminder for the latest Time Out challenge, it’s here … otherwise, welcome to my second Surprise Party Guest spot at Seize The Birthday!  Thanks once again to Nancy and the DT for the invitation and for your lovely warm welcome! Our theme this time around is Pocket Cards …

STB GD 22 OctSurprisePartyGuest GraphicI know, you’re asking yourself … where’s the pocket … where’s the all important sentiment?  Ha, it’s cunningly camoflaged … look … it’s secret is out of the bag!

STB GD 22 Oct DetailNever done a pocket card before … I did see Dawn McVey’s Make It Monday video on them over at Papertrey last month (definitely worth seeing!) and wanted to have a play … but the tub of life-stuff-to-do-in-the-time-available was already overflowing, and I didn’t get to it.  Enter this new theme for Seize the Birthday!  Here, my pocket is kind of basket-like with the chevron patterned DP … so I added a similar embossed patterned texture in the background to mimic it.  The insert is made up of Avery Elle blooms and leaves, stamped and/or die cut, arranged and adhered one over the other in a floral spray, and attached on foam dots just at the top of WPlus9 tag.  Adhering the arrangement just at the top allows it to cascade over the pocket basket when it’s slotted into place.  The sentiment on the tag is from Avery Elle … there’s a Happy Birthday one from Papertrey on the inside … and I added a twirl of black twine to the top of the tag to finish off.

If you’ve played along at Seize The Birthday before, you’ll know that the theme … or ‘Topping’ … is optional.  So for this challenge, you don’t have to make a Pocket Card … you can make any birthday card and join in with us … but we’d love to see you use the Topping if you get the chance!  Looking forward to seeing where your creativity takes you!

I’m linking up with the the fun at …

AEIHeartU – Think Pink (with a smidge of added green!)

SSS Wednesday – Wrap It Up (my twirl of twine!)

ETA – Thanks to a suggestion from the lovely Ardyth, I’m also linking this up at Muse, where the talented Anita B has given us a beautiful inspiration card … it’s below!

I’m not around in blogland (or emailonia) all that much at the moment … (it’s that tub-of-life-stuff getting in the way!) … and there’s even a bit of bouchon (traffic jam!) in my Feedly list … so I really appreciate you coming over to visit and leaving me your sweet comments … it’s always a joy to read them!  Anita 🙂

         

Challenge 29          Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

         

44 thoughts on “Seize The Birthday 22/10 – Surprise Party Guest, AEIHeartU #29, SSS Wednesday 21/10, Muse #137

  1. Michele

    Lovely, Anita!!! Oh my goodness what a sweet little treat this would be to have in one’s pocket!!! I’ve only made one pocket card … hope I can muster a second!
    =]

    Reply
  2. BarbGhig

    Congrats again on your well deserved Guest Designer spot, Anita! I really love your pocket and your beautiful choice of flowers for this card! Love the embossed background, too ~ Stunning card!

    Reply
  3. Sandie

    Gosh you are getting all techy on us!!! Very cool idea and very pretty. Love the chevron base and chevron black and white and then the burst of colourful blooms. A delight Anita x

    Reply
  4. cmayne

    Congratulations on a second card that has me in breath-taken-away awe! Your black-and-white pocket, which house a beautifully appointed floral tag, is incredibly beautiful! I hope this ‘first’ pocket is the debut of many more pocket-perfections to come…
    Hugs~c

    Reply
  5. quilterlin

    Such a pretty design, Anita! Love how crisp everything is! Thanks for joining us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

    Reply
  6. Geri G

    I was smitten the moment I spied the dainty, bold chevrons! The soft, bright colors – such a nice contrast with the black! REALLY COOL idea to have the message tucked inside!

    Life has been busy here too! FINALLY got the patio poured yesterday! Pouring rain today, so it is tarped but at least it’s finished! Do not know where the hours go (I really sound like my mom right about now!). I’m struggling to keep up too, so welcome to the club!

    Reply
  7. Colleen F

    Anita, this card is stunning!! I used Dawn’s video to make my card also. I gave this to my DAD for his 94th birthday last Sunday!! You are an awesome Guest Designer, thank you fro sharing more inspiration with our followers!

    Reply
  8. Bobby

    I’m so excited about this card, Anita. I saw Dawn’s video too but never made a card. You have inspired me to give it a try. Yours is so lovely with it’s black, white and pink color combo.

    Reply
  9. djkardkreations

    This is such a beautiful pocket card, Anita! I have yet to make one and this is one of the best I’ve seen. I think the idea is such a fun one, especially when you imagine the surprise and delight on the face of the recipient! I miss you, too! Mwah and Hugs, Darnell

    Reply
  10. chriss58

    Beautiful pocket ful of a Posie! And the sweet surprise sentiment…who would not love receiving this?!
    Love the details, the chevron texture and pattern paper…all so lovely!
    Hugs and bisous XOXOX

    Reply
  11. Joyce M.

    Congratulations on your GD spot. They were so smart when they picked you. Love your flowers and chevron together! And, the pocket and texture–all wonderful elements in this gorgeous card.

    Reply
  12. Mary H.

    So darling & cute. Love the chevron bold dp, and looks terrific paired with the embossing pattern. The brightness of the pretty flowers peeking out of the ‘bag’ is a good color combo woth the black/white of the other elements. A very clever way to do the hidden tag. Hope the remodeling efforts are proceeding on course. TFS & Have a wonderful weekend. Hugs

    Reply
  13. Nancy L.

    I already mentioned I loved your card, but had to stop by here and make it official! Well done my new found friend! Love having you with us at STB!

    Reply
  14. Claire A

    What a clever design Anita – I’d never have guessed there was a pocket! Your background reminds me of the background I’ve just done for my Time Out card, except you’ve used a folder to emboss!

    Reply
  15. Shona Chambers

    Hi Anita, so sorry I haven’t been for a visit for a while. I have been flat out with gardening jobs everyday and going to bed exhausted very early, so no time to get on computer at all. Feel so guilty, there just aren’t enough hours in the day at the moment! I think this fits perfectly with the Muse Challenge and love your clever pocket design. Love how the flowers hang over the pocket and that embossed background is fabulous. Hope all is well with you, sounds like your pretty busy as well. Look after yourself!!!

    Reply
  16. Petra

    Those flowers are simply stunning, Anita!!! Love the chevrons on the pocket and the embossed ones!!! This is such a great and clever idea – might just CASE it!!!

    Reply
  17. Anita

    What a fabulous creation, Anita. I love your little flower-clad tag and sweet little pocket. So glad you linked up at Muse with this beauty. Hugs from the other Anita xx

    Reply
  18. Jodene

    This is just beautiful Anita, and I love that pull out tag! I also love the embossed background, it really adds an element to the card without taking away from those vibrant flowers 🙂

    Reply
  19. Miriam Prantner

    How fun! Love the interactive nature of this, perfect cluster of those flower and I love the texture on the base too!

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

