Seize the Birthday Surprise Party Guest – 19/11, Lawnscaping Challenge #118, Pinterest Inspired Challenge – November, Just Us Girls #319

Bonjour encore!  This is my second post of the day … if you’re looking for my Time Out Mid Challenge Reminder, it’s here.  If not, I hope you’ll enjoy my final card as Surprise Party Guest over at Seize the Birthday … thanks so much to Nancy and the team for the invitation and for the wonderful warm welcome … it’s been such fun!   This fortnight, we have a vellum or acetate topping to tempt you … here’s my pretty little number …

STB GD 19 NovSurprisePartyGuest GraphicI used one of my first purchases (Blissful Botanicals from Lawn Fawn) to create a flower strewn panel … and coloured it with Zig Watercolour Markers. Yep, finally got a set … and can now understand why everyone’s been raving about them … they’re fabulous!  I wanted to create a halo of colour around each image, so used the markers direct to the stamped blooms and leaves and then went back over them with a waterbrush to push the colour outside of the lines.  Once it was all dry, the flowers were highlighted with white gel pen and I trimmed the panel down.  The vellum sentiment strip (Avery Elle, embossed in white) was wrapped round the panel and attached at the back, the panel was mounted flat on the card base, and I adhered a slender slice of black card to the edge.  It’s bling-free … all that vibrant colour and bright white can do the talking!

If you’ve played along at Seize The Birthday before, you’ll know that the theme, or ‘Toppings’, are optional … so you don’t have to use vellum or acetate … you can make any birthday card and join in with us … we’d be delighted if you did!  If you’d like some ideas, there are plenty over at the Seize The Birthday blog … hope to see you in the gallery!

The inspiration for my card came from three challenges …

Lawnscaping Challenge – In With The Old … a new discovery, just started following with Feedly!

Pinterest Inspired Challenge – Photo below … also a new discovery, also following with Feedly!

Just Us Girls – Use Watercolouring

Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

         

http://pinterestinspiredchallenge.blogspot.com/        

Eiffel Tower displays Tricoleur in display of defiance | World | News ...

40 thoughts on “Seize the Birthday Surprise Party Guest – 19/11, Lawnscaping Challenge #118, Pinterest Inspired Challenge – November, Just Us Girls #319

  1. Geri G

    AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME….both your card & the Eiffel tower pic! We are out the door in about 5 min (off to visit Brady in Calgary and have coffee with Carol in Canmore). Will catch u when we get back! Stay safe me dear, dear friend!

    Reply
  2. BarbGhig

    Congrats on your Guest Designer spot! This really is a “pretty little number”, Anita! I love the effect of your Ziggies with these sweet flowers, and your pastel blue sentiment panel is just perfect!

    Reply
  3. cmayne

    We’re under 14 inches of snow that fell from Tuesday afternoon through Wednesday morning, so I don’t even have words to express how fabulous your ‘botanical’ garden appears to me, awash in colour in contrast to the whiteness surrounding us. Your little images…pure delight!
    Hugs~c

    Reply
  4. Sharyn Polesel

    This is so pretty! I love to make my own backgrounds. The colors are lovely. Thanks so much for playing along with us for the last two months at Seize the Birthday. I am in awe of your wonderful talent. Thanks, also, for joining us this week at Just Us Girls!

    Reply
  5. thepaperbaker

    Ultra Fabulous Card Anita! Woo-hoo…love the bright vibrant colors, halo effect & vellum element….I guess I love EVERYTHING 😉

    Reply
  6. Barb

    love love LOVE how you did “outside” the lines, i kept looking at it wondering how you achieved that effect. I may have to try something like this too. Very vibrant and eye catching, what a great card.

    Reply
  7. Marisela Delgado

    What an absolutely lovely card, Anita! I LOVE that. So pretty. We here in the USA stand with France during this dark time. You are in my prayers.

    Reply
  8. Tracey McNeely

    Yay Anita you go some Zigs! Now I can learn from you what to do with mine. You back of flowers is beautiful! Now is it blue vellum or did you tint it? ~hugs!

    Reply
  9. Claire A

    What a perfect way to use those pretty, little blooms. I have so many stamps like this and I never seem to use them. Your colouring is just gorgeous – they totally pop against the white background!

    Reply
  10. Bobby

    I always love stamped cards like yours, Anita, and can never seem to manage a great one like you did. The halo effect is wonderful and I love your vellum topoping.

    Reply
  11. Maria Rodriguez.

    I don’t know if my other comment went trough so I will tell you again that your card is just beautiful, I love the shadow effect your created on each little bloom. I also been thinking of getting some Zigs markers, the colors are so vibrant and so intense and they look amazing on your beautiful card.
    Thank you for sharing.
    Hugs, Love and Peace to all the beautiful people of France in this sad and dark times, thank you so much for sharing the gorgeous picture of the Eifel Tower.

    Reply
  12. Petra

    Oh, I love all those cute and darling little flowers, Anita!!!! The bright colours are so lovely and the halo effect is super!!!!! The sentiment on the coloured vellum is just great!!!! Such a cheerful, happy card, my friend!!!!
    Have a wonderful Wednesday!!!
    Hugz

    Reply
  13. jmhave44

    Awesome first use of your Zigs, and no surprise that you love them. I liked the way you’ve handled doing the shadowing of the motifs – it looked so pretty. It’s a very happy background, and adding the pale colored vellum sentiment was a perfect way to allow the pretty background flowers to still shine through. TFS & Hugs.

    Reply
  14. Nancy L.

    Really love the images on this card Anita with the little shadow of color. As I already told you I was so thrilled you were with us the past two months at STB! HUGS to you!

    Reply
  15. Geri G

    We’re back from our quick visit to see Brady (and coffee with Carol) and I wanted to come back to this card and leave a proper comment because this beauty is out-of-this-world AMAZING! First off, you + Zig make an awesome pair! Seriously amazing coloring – especially love how you coaxed the ink outside the image borders – adds such a dreamy, soft look! The brilliant colors are fabulous! Is this one set of Zig pens or are they purchased individually? I’m thinking that the Zig markers produce a deeper/richer color than a Copic marker.

    Reply
  16. Joyce M.

    Love your background stamping, and brilliant way to color those flowers. I like how you have such concentrated colors in your centers and the overflow halo effect around the edges. I think I need to play around and try to accomplish this.

    Reply
  17. Shona Chambers

    I know I’m WAY behind with my commenting but wanted to make sure I told you how much I love this card!! I love those flowers and the way you created a halo around each one, such a pretty effect. And so glad you finally caved and purchased some Ziggies, they really are so wonderful to use. Its raining here today FINALLY so spending the afternoon catching up with lots of blog posts etc.

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

