Papertrey Ink Make It Monday #235, TE Share Joy Challenge #16, SSSW – 30 December

Hello … bonjour!  Hope you had a magical new year celebration … and that 2016 has started wonderfully!  I have a little floral number to share with you this evening …

PTI MIM 235, Share Joy 16, SSSW 30-12Some cards are shy … they’re reluctant to be made … they need encouragement to come out of their shell … even when they’re CAS … this is one of those cards!  The first version hit the paper bin after my ‘invisible join’ in the stem (to make it a long one) turned out to be eyecatchingly not invisible.  The second version was finished and ready for it’s photo shoot when a fully loaded, wandering watercolour brush danced rather energetically across it … ooops (that wasn’t my exact word, but I’ll leave that to your imagination!).  So, here’s my third attempt … a Papertrey bloom stamped onto a white card panel, with colour detail on the flower head, leaves and stem added with Promarkers … and a little delicate Wink of Stella pollen-like splatter sprinkled over the top.  The sentiment is from SSS.  The panel was trimmed and popped up onto the card base over a slender strip of striped DP.   Phew … voilà … made it!

I’m playing along with …

Papertrey Ink Make It Monday – Adding Colour To Stamped Images (great video from Laurie)

TE Share Joy Challenge – Keep It CAS (sorry, no TE goodies … mine are Christmassy ones!)

SSS Wednesday – Party (a birthday’s a great excuse to party!)

Have a great weekend … thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

          TE Share Joy Challenge          Simon Wednesday Challenge Blog

 

42 thoughts on “Papertrey Ink Make It Monday #235, TE Share Joy Challenge #16, SSSW – 30 December

  1. Pam

    They say three’s the charm. Your 3rd attempt is perfection, my friend. Sorry about that naughty watercolor brush. Don’t you just hate it when they decide not to behave? Seriously, I love this card. It makes me happy.

    Reply
  2. Geri G

    Three tries is better than four, or five, or ten…right? The gorgeous bits of color and the shimmer that you added to the bloom adds the perfect amount of sparkle and shine to this stunning creation! Love the wee peep of striped paper at the bottom too. The splatter and the bold black sentiment rock!

    Hope you had fun ringing in the new year! We spent a nice quiet evening at home, watching hockey and playing crib! So nice and relaxing after the previous fun but busy Christmas celebrations.

    Reply
  3. kimheggins

    Just amazing Anita….so beautiful with that yellow flower. I love the wonderful look you created. And all that fabulous splatter too, so perfect!

    Reply
  4. Michele F

    There is not one thing shy about that bloom, Anita! In fact it shouting to be touched, it is so life-like! Gorgeous stamping, spritzing, winking, and the little strip of stripe cs at the bottom grounds it beautifully! What a premier for 2016!
    =]

    Reply
  5. Christine Smith

    Ooh it was worth the trouble it took to get to the finished card – it’s beautiful! I love the flower heard, it’s gorgeous, and the splatters finish it of wonderfully! I hope you had a fab New Years Eve and that 2016 will be awesome! xxx

    Reply
  6. Bobby

    I’m not sure ‘shy’ is the word I’d use when this happens to me. More like ‘stubborn’. The end result was worth the pain, Anita. That bloom is gorgeous with the added marker detail.

    Reply
  7. Lynn

    Happy new year Anita. Your card is beautiful. Love, love, love the yellow flowers. My card today took a couple of tries too…hate that, but the extra effort alway seems to pay off.

    Reply
  8. BarbGhig

    Oh, how beautiful, Anita! I love the bright yellow on your bloom, and how you added shading with your markers! Such a lovely sentiment, too!
    Sending you my best wishes for a Happy and Healthy 2016!

    Reply
  9. Sandie

    Like the idea of adding colour to the image with pro markers, mist watch the video. Adore the added gloss and you have patience to do the card 3 times, I would just give up!

    Reply
  10. Shona Chambers

    Its funny but I always love to hear about troubles people have with creating their cards. Makes me feel like I’m not the only one and sometimes its good to laugh about these battles than getting frustrated. Your card is beautiful and love the yellow splatters in the background. Really like the font for the ‘wishing’ stamp too, very swishy, if thats a word……

    Reply
  11. conil

    WOW! Am I glad this one came out of it’s shell. This is simply beautiful. Love the clean look with that black diecut. It doesn’t hurt that the flower’s my favorite color, either. Gorgeous.

    Reply
  12. quilterlin

    Well, I’m glad you persevered, Anita – this happy yellow flower sure did make me smile! It’s a breath of sunshine in these grey days! Thanks for sharing it with us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

    Reply
  13. lollthompson

    Glad you stuck it out, because you have a gorgeous card for all your hard work. LOVE the design with that little edging of pattern paper – very creative. But it’s your perfectly coloured, beautiful bloom that steals the show. Gorgeous Anita! xx

    Reply
  14. Nancy Penir

    Sounds like you had a time of it, but persevered. The result is exquisite! Beautiful shading on the bloom and leaves. Such depth. And the sweet droplets are just perfect! Love that sentiment script too!

    Reply
  15. Barbara Roe

    Anita sometimes works of art take a little more time to create and the third time is a masterpiece. I have to mass produce 15 cards and I hate mass producing. Three attempts at stamping with a real flower and I threw in the towel. (A Karen Dunbrook technique). Patience I do not have. Happy New Year Anita – Barb

    Reply
  16. hobbitnoll

    This is so lovely Anita!! I love the simple, crisp look, even though it was not simple to make!! I actually love when others admit this because it happens to me and I feel like an idiot. I have a card almost all finished, love it and then bam, a little ink goes where it is not supposed to and I have to chuck it. (I often drop ink pads when I am in a hurry. Guess I should be a little more careful!!) Anyway, this card came out stunning. Thank you so much for sharing!!

    Reply
  17. Bev

    *Sigh* Yellow. *Sigh* Flower. Well worth the previous tries to get to this beauty. That blossom has so much dimension; it almost warrants plucking! Gorgeous. And the splattering is perfect and was an inspiration for me on a card which will show up later this week. Mine had about five tries with the splattering…. But I love this one. Pretty darn fantastic. Miss you and sending hugs and bisous.

    Reply
  18. born57

    Haha on the word! Oh gosh this is just gorgeous! So nice to see some pretty yellow after all the Christmas etc. cards! You are a master !

    Reply
  19. Virginia L.

    Ah….we all have one of those. However, I don’t see the “struggle” behind the scene…all I can say is….it’s truly beautiful!!

    Reply
  20. TK

    Wow! This is beautiful, and I can’t see a seam!!! So soft and delicate, just ready to be plucked and enjoyed!! Sorry about your former card though, wandering tools can be disastrous…

    Reply
  21. maria f.

    So lovely. And you have the stuff of a pro (did you see Laura B.’s tip she shared with me over at CASEplorations?!?!?) Here’s wishing you all the best for 2016, mon ami!

    Reply
  22. chriss58

    She may have struck a shy pose, but she is ever so lovely! Another of your striking floral beauties!!! Just love this :)))

    Reply
  23. Claire A

    Lol – who would have known you had so much trouble making this card? I use ‘oops’ a lot too when I make a mistake…ahem. Love the big, bold sentiment across the stem!

    Reply
  24. Miriam Prantner

    This is just beautiful! I love how you colored the flower and the multiple takes were well worth the finished effect!

    Reply
  25. Cornelia (fun stamping)

    Gorgeous! Amazing what you can do with one flower! and a perfectly placed sentiment! The stark contrast of the sentiment is perfect! Doesn’t show here that you had so much trouble making this beauty!

    Reply
  26. Nancy L.

    Your card is beautiful and love the yellow splatters in the background. I so enjoyed reading of how this card came to be…to funny Anita! Great writing!

    Reply
  27. cmayne

    Time for an ‘exclusively Anita’ gallery walk to catch up on letting you know how enthralled I am with the nine cards I’ve fallen behind in commenting on! Yeesh! I’m thrilled you coaxed your pretty flower to stand on the stage, delighting us with her pretty yellow/orange petals and long, elegant stem! The splatters and swirly sentiment: perfect accompaniments! Dazzling!
    Hugs~c

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

