Muse #151, MFT Sketch #266, 30 Day Colouring Challenge – February, SSS Work It Wednesday – January

Hello … bonjour!  Hope your weekend has been splendid!  For the first time in ages I took some time to make a card that wasn’t a DT or GD one … yay … I played!  Want to see …

Muse 151, MFT Sketch 266, 30 Day CC - Feb, SSSWIW - JanYep, a little more involved than usual … but it was so much fun letting this little guy evolve!  I die cut and stamped one of MFT‘s Birds of Paradise and got colouring with Promarkers, adding a smidge of detailing with a white gel pen on the leaves, flowers and feathers, a layer or two of Wink of Stella on the beak and plumage … and a touch of Glossy Accents to his eye.  The leaves (also MFT) were cut from green card and were sponged at the edges with Mowed Lawn Distress Ink … and I cut a PTI banner and stamped it with a sentiment from the same set as the bird.  A pierced panel (MFT I think, a Lake House goodie) was sponged with Distress Ink (Twisted Citron and Tumbled Glass) and I was ready to put everything together.  The leaves were attached at the spines to allow the edges to turn up, the banner was adhered flat, the bird was popped up on craft foam … and I mounted the panel on craft foam on the card base.

My card was inspired by …

Muse – We’re stepping out from the usual this time … it’s Michele’s 2016 song week, so we’ve to make a card that conveys a song title … how could I not join in?  See below for Michele’s awesome make … I’m probably the last to guess it … I’ve Got The Joy, Joy, Joy, Joy Down In My Heart perhaps?  Have you guessed mine yet?  If so, do let me know in a comment!  If not and you need a hint, you can go here and enjoy a lovely listen (it’ll be worth it)!

MFT Sketch – See below for the great layout

30 Day Colouring Challenge – I’ve followed all Kathy’s Challenges and this is the first time I’ve played along … it was a blast colouring that cutie!

SSS Work It Wednesday – Something New … that fabulous Bird of Paradise set

That’s it from me for now … got some catching up to do with everyone and I’ll be back Thursday with a mid challenge reminder for Time Out … have a great week!  Thanks so much for coming by, your visits and comments are always a joy!  Anita 🙂

                    

IMG_0795           workitwedbanner

40 thoughts on “Muse #151, MFT Sketch #266, 30 Day Colouring Challenge – February, SSS Work It Wednesday – January

  1. Cornelia (fun stamping)

    Hi Anita, that bird stole my heart! What a cutie! I am just listening to your song – I have been enjoying a lot of songs this weekend 🙂

    Reply
  2. djkardkreations

    I’m so tickled that you had some time to design for your own pleasure, Anita – and for ours, too, of course! You’ve managed to combine whimsy and elegance so harmoniously with your flawless coloring!! I went off to enjoy the {—} and now that charming song is stuck in my ear, but I don’t mind in the least! Somehow, I missed that delightful ditty back when it originally came out, so thank you the treat! I miss you and hope you are doing well!! Mwah! Hugs, Darnell

    Reply
  3. Michele F

    Oh my goodness, Anita!!! I am so very happy to see your card in the Muse gallery – gorgeous coloring, fabulous tropical bird – SO happy that you had time to play, my friend. And, YES I LOve that song, too! Now did the card inspire the song, or the song the card? Either way I am one happy bird to have you singing along with us at Muse … xxoo
    =]

    Reply
  4. kimheggins

    LOVE, LOVE, this card. Your bird is as sweet as can be. Maybe I can get a few coloring lessons from you???? Miss you like crazy.

    Reply
  5. poppaeacards

    This is so fun! Love the bird and the scene you have created. Kathy’s challenge has inspired me to make sure I take some time out for myself to craft, just for fun. Feels good doesn’t it! Cx

    Reply
  6. Claire A

    What a truly fabulous card Anita – your colouring is divine! Ive never seen that bird stamp before..so sweet. I’m afraid I had no idea what song it was…and I still didn’t when I followed the link lol!

    Reply
  7. Petra

    Oh, I just had to go and check out your song, Anita and how I enjoyed it!!!! We used to sing that song when I was still at school when we had singing class – that was always such fun!!!!
    And your yellow bird is so beautiful, against the softly sponged bg and the lovely leaves!!!!! Love the tiny bits of red and purple you added!!!! And your colouring is just brilliant!!! WOW, I really like this card, my friend!!!!
    Yeh, for playing in challenges!!!!!!
    Have a start to your week!!!
    Hugz

    Reply
  8. Bev

    Long story about your song… When Christian was a baby he had a wind-up Big Bird toy that played this. Its wings and feet moved, and its eyes opened and closed. He loved to listen and we’d sway back and forth to it. He often brought it to me while I was cooking dinner and we’d play it over and over. Fast forward 25 years, and that song (along with “Go Cubs Go”) was the first song I taught his little ones. I have it on my iPhone and the kids still ask for it. This holds very special memories for me. So you can imagine the delight I associate with your card! It’s bright and happy, and makes me smile deep in my heart! Your bird is perfect, and he is one I’ll ‘see’ every time I hear this song! Your coloring and winking are wonderful. And you’ve created a delectable background for him and his nest. Sweet card. It’s got my vote! Miss you & tons of bisous!!

    Reply
  9. susannev2014

    So glad you were able to find time to play and make this cheerful card for us to enjoy! Love all the bright colors and the tropical foliage the bird sits on! Another masterpiece from you and I am going to vote for it right now!

    Reply
  10. Geri G

    WOW-WEEEEEEEEE! This is so stinkin’ cute and SOOOOO amazing! Your coloring/shading is incredible! The background is beautiful – love the seam-free transition from green grass to blue sky! The bit of the shading/shadowing on the leaves is awesome! Adore your handsome little fella all glitzed and shimmered up!

    My new favorite “Anita card” !

    Reply
  11. serendipitydragonfly

    Such a cute & quirky bird Anita – beautifully coloured. The colours really pop on your card and how nice you managed to find time to make a card “just for you”.

    Hugs.

    Karen xxx

    Reply
  12. shirley-bee

    What a cute birdie, Anita! Fabulous colouring. I needed the clue, and even then, I’d never heard that version, but now I’m singing it and swaying (not easy when you’re typing!).

    Reply
  13. Maria Rodriguez

    Anita, I adore this beautifully colored bird, when I saw it first, for some reason Big Bird from Sesame Street came into my head, I guess it’s because of the bright and beautiful yellow color of your bird. I thought and thought and then, I gave up about what song inspired your card so I went to listen to it and I love it.
    Thank you for the link, I left the Utube track of the Miles Brothers playing while I’m writing this comment.
    Thank you for sharing your beautiful card on the Muse gallery.

    Reply
  14. BarbGhig

    How wonderful that you had some time to create just for fun! I really love this card, Anita! I love how you layered all the elements, and your coloring is just beautiful! A really fun tropical scene, too!

    Reply
  15. Brenda L.

    What a cute card Anita! Not at all what I expected from you, but so love it. The bird is to dang cute, I love the blue and green your sponged on for your sky and grass. You colored your bird up so cute too. Love it! Yay for having time to just play and do what you want! Hugs, Brenda

    Reply
  16. Rosemary D

    it is always lovely to be able to make something just because… so glad you got the time to do that!! your design is so bright and fun!!

    Reply
  17. catcraig

    Love your card, so reminiscent of summer / tropics – especially lovely today when we are having rain. I did not know your song, but am off to listen. Fabulous card design.

    Reply
  18. conil

    Okay, now I just want to be you…this is what happens when you play??? Good golly, it’s gorgeous. Love that coloring on the fun bird. And the layout of the card, perfect to showcase him (it’s got to be a male, just look at the colors). Give a tall cold one, a cabana boy and lay me on the hot, whie sand.

    Reply
  19. Barbara Roe

    Hi Anita, You know I would be drawn to this card as it is close to what I like to create. You did MFT proud. (Be careful they may want you on their design team). Anyhow I love the card and the bright colors and of course your wonderful British textured paper. Have a great week. 🙂 B

    Reply
  20. born57

    These are the best kind of cards to make just for fun ! Wow this is beautiful,love the light shading you did for the background ,the bird is gorgeous and so is your coloring! Hugs!

    Reply
  21. Bobby

    Congrats on your HM at Muse, Anita. I’m so far behind in commenting that I came here from the winner’s page. Your bird is wonderful. I’m still waiting for those MFT greens to come back in stock so I can use them with my birds. My song guess is “Yellow Bird”. I guess I’ll find out if I’m right when I click the link. 😉

    Reply
  22. hobbitnoll

    How pretty!! I really like the details on the leaves and the bird. I am going to have to try this sometime. Beautiful design!!

    Reply
  23. cmayne

    How wonderful that you enjoyed some play time, that has spilled into being for our entertainment as well! Your toucan is such fun, sporting his colourful feathers and his ‘hint’ of an “I’m up to something’ smile. You’ve created a fabulous leafy-and-floral scene to nestle him in! Your mastery with the markers…a WOW in every way!
    Hugs~c

    Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it!

